We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #106 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Roma is so convenient to everything! Besides being within the wonderful Piazza Maria Di Novella, it is close to everything within the historical part of beautiful Florence. There is a laundry mat just around the corner. Just a short (walking) distance to the Santa Maria Novella train station. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We could walk to all the attractions, Uffizi, Accademia (the beautiful David), the Arno (walk down towards the Arno, cross over and find the best Gelato), and the beautiful Duomo! This was our first time in Florence so we were unfamiliar with where to eat, but found so many wonderful eateries within the Piazza. We took a must see day trip (walk to the station and there's the buses) to the hill towns. Our experience was so wonderful, we are going back next year in April.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    260
    101
    27
    16
See reviews for
150
226
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just returned from Italy and spent two nights at this hotel. It was very nice and we would highly recommend it. The room (we had a triple room) was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and quite good. The staff were helpful in terms of recommending restaurants, getting cabs and buying train tickets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMV3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Hotel Roma is only a few minutes walk from the main railway station and is situated on a lovely square. All the staff we met at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful. There was a particularly lovely man who we met both serving in the bar and also in the breakfast room. He couldn't have been nicer - and seemed genuinely to be interested in helping the guests. Our room, like a lot of the rooms, overlooked the square which was a super view however even on the 3rd floor there was quite a lot of noise overnight from people in the square and then the inevitable cleaning up that goes on. If you're sensitive to noise you might like to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. The room and the bathroom were both a reasonable size and both were very clean and pleasant. The breakfast was what you typically find in an Italian hotel and there was lots of choice. If you choose not to include breakfast there are plenty of places around for a lovely coffee and pastry before you begin your day's exploring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter but would lack a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-at-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Splendidly located albergo - Piazza Santa Maria di Novella,this explains everything.I did stay at this hotel three times and I do consider it as acceptable place to spend couple of nights,remembering,that the main reason to be in Florence is to be OUT of hotel.Hotel room is a place to sleep,change and get ready for the next adventure.However,if you want highly sophisticated place,with SPA,swimming pool and all that jazz,this is not THE place.Staff is very friendly,helpful and professional,location ( as said above),second to none.The ambiance of old oppulence still persist and is very pleasant.Be aware,that the bus load of tourist can block reception area for an hour,but this does not happen all the time,only morning (departure ) and evening (arrival).
Rooms are adequate (see purpose of staying),clean and well appointed,batrooms as well.
For guests arriving by car - valet parking available and garage will arrange all formalities related to entering traffic restricted zone.
Breakfast typical for hotel fare,quite forgetable.
Good value for money,great location and professional staff

Room Tip: As for all hotels located at the Piazza Santa Maria di Novella - if you are noise sensitive,avoid pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boguslaw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I was in Florence for a study abroad trip for grad school. Myself and 23 others were staying at Hotel Roma. Some of the rooms are very nice, clean, and well-updated. Mine was not. It looked like the furnishings and bed linens were about 20 years old. There was nearly no space in the bathroom. The edge of the toilet seat was literally 6 inches from the edge of the sink. You can imagine the logistical problems there. I could have dealt with all of that though.

The last night my fellow students and I were to be in Florence, we all went out for dinner around 7. We were all back by 8:30. While we were gone, at least 4 of our rooms had been "broken into", meaning that someone had used a key to get into them. My iPad, my roommate's iPhone and my professor's laptop and iPad were all stolen. Two other rooms were left with their doors wide open. The front desk clerk swore that the keys never left her sight and that she never left her post, but frankly, it was just all too coincidental for it not to have been an inside job. To top it all off, the police in Florence apparently don't go to crime scenes. You have to go to them, and since we were all leaving either that night or the next morning, there was really nothing we could do.

Hotel Roma has definitely lost my business, and I'm sure they have lost my University's business as well. I hope that anyone who reads this review will be wise and steer clear of this corrupt business establishment.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying at Hotel Roma, then be sure to insist that you stay in a recently updated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

So my wife and I used Hotel Roma as our base for a 3 night stay in Florence. As we were flying into Pisa and getting the train across to Florence, I decided that I would book us into a hotel that is close to the railway station.

Hotel Roma was a great choice as it is only a few minutes walk from the station and on the way there are a few coffee shops and restaurants - we needed to kill an hour before the 2pm check-in, so this was perfect. Staff were very friendly and the ambience of the place is very peaceful. The room was clean and, in our view, well appointed. We were at the front of the hotel, so it was a little noisy with the ambulance station opposite and lots of people walking by having fun, but this didn't bother us enough to use the earplugs we had brought with us having read other reviews. I guess we were so tired every night after the many activities we packed in during the days that it wasn't a problem.

All in all, a great choice and a good base as the sightseeing buses all go from the train station and take you all round the city - almost all of the main sights are within ten minutes of their nearest bus stop. It is well worth getting a sightseeing bus ticket - we got one for 48 hours and used it loads.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The biggest plus is the staff! Very friendly and helpful. I was in Florence with my family over the day and we were all too tired and wet to drive back to Lucca. In the search for a room in the city many hotels were either full or overpriced. Almost giving up when we entered Roma and got both hospitality and a very good room at a very good price! Totally exhausted but happy we stretched out on the beds.
Very good breakfast must be added. If I must come up with a slight negative aspect, it is that it was rather noisy at times. But a couple of earplugs are cheap and is something one always should have in the packing.
Again, lovely staff! And, too bad I missed the bar that looked great...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jonas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#188 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Rivoli
Hotel Rivoli
#69 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,476 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#112 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing