We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service.”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #112 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the hotel with 2 friends. I was my first visit to Firenze and the location was great. We could walk to all the locations we wanted to visit. My room at the hotel was very fine and clean and the bathroom seemed to be new. The staff was a kind and a very professional team.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haakon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 787 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent there 4 nights with my family (3 kids) . Got 2 rooms.
Excellent rooms, clean and very nice bathrooms.
Kind and professional team.
Very good places around for dinner.

The only improvement needed is the breakfast, good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvcjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in the piazza where Santa Maria Novella church is...within walking distance of most everything in Florence. 1-2 blocks from the train station and not far from the center of Florence.
Great restaurant within 1-2 blocks called Buca Mario...food and service was outstanding! Rooms at hotel not too small and bathroom a decent size. Showers a little small. Breakfast was nothing extraordinary, but good. People at the front desk very helpful and always pleasant. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different. We had a corner room that was quiet, but you had a few steps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel location is great! A short walk (3 blocks) from the train station, and to other main attractions as well. The rooms were decent, but the staff was fantastic. In fact, we left the hotel we were at to come to Hotel Roma, specifically because of the kindness of the staff. Specifically, we were stranded by the bus system unexpectedly on New Years Eve, and after walking for about an hour, came across this hotel. It was so dark outside, and freezing cold. We must have looked like lost puppies, and we asked if someone could help us call a taxi. The man working the counter did, even though we were not guests. We were incredibly grateful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went with another couple for new year. We had asked for a quiet room at the back and were both given these. The rooms were comfortable. We did hear the church bells at 7am every morning but this is not a problem. It is true it is opposite an ambulance station but I am not sure how busy this is. We were not disturbed at all on new Year night when we went to bed aboujt 12.30. Yes we had lots of helpful advice about restaurants from the staff at reception.
The breakfast is good and apart from an excellent buffet you can also order scrambled eggs if you want a change. We took advantage of the continental breakfast in our room on the last day as we had an early start. It came a few minutes before we had ordered it and was really good.
We would definitely recommend this hotel as it is very convenient for walking everywhere in the old city.
It was a lovely place to spend new year and all the restaurants we went to both for lunch and dinner were super.

Room Tip: Go to a room at the back if you want a quiet room. On the other hand if you want a view over the sqa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonny600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in a quad room with our two adult children. Very nice experience and a great location. Lizbeth at the front desk made it a wonderful extra special stay helping us with many concierge services and recommendations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnitaS928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on business.
Great location - at the Piazza Santa Maria Novella and just 5 minutes from main old town attractions.
The staff was very friendly, pleasant and helpful (for example - in finding a place for very late night dinner). The amenities are rather basic, the toilette seat in my room was positioned in an such a way that made almost impossible to use (See attached picture).
Breakfast is reasonable.
The price, off season (beginning of December) was very good!

Room Tip: Ask for back side room but not at the corner (toilette seat problem....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilTidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 410 in Florence
2,060 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#64 of 410 in Florence
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,710 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#32 of 410 in Florence
1,726 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#111 of 410 in Florence
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $141 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing