We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #109 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Beautiful old style hotel in a magnificent location. The hotel Roma is a 5 minute walk from the train station, and has easy access to everywhere in Florence. The hotel has a variety of rooms in different shapes, sizes, and colors. All of them are very nice.
The breakfast area is not the largest but adequate enough, and the selections are good, and plentiful.
The staff are very welcoming and do their best to help should you have any questions.
The one minor issue with the hotel is that some rooms overlook the piazza, and sometimes noise can be an issue. However, I would not let that deter you from staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room away from the piazza if you want to sleep all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank no818528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 746 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second hotel in our 3-city tour of Italy for our honeymoon. The room was small, but sufficient for the two of us. Our overall stay was great! Breakfast left a lot to be desired in comparison to Rome. Our location was great. It was in walking distance to everything from the train station to the Duomo and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Hotel Roma in Firenze gives you the feel of stepping back into a 1940's movie set and not in a bad out of date way but in a very classy way. It is a beautifully appointed hotel. In all respects a Hotel worth the money with one exception and one that the hotel has no control over. It is located on a very noisy piazza.
We had been staying at a hotel that was a third of the price for most of our time in Firenze but decided to splurge on our final night.
The constant whine of sirens, (there were 4 ambulances parked near the piazza all night) dogs barking, and motor bikes kept us up all night.
If you stay here do not stay on the piazza side of the hotel.
Otherwise everything else was great. The breakfast provided was one of the best that we had while in Italy. For the 160 euros that it cost it was worth it with the single exception of noise.

Room Tip: Do not take a room overlooking the piazza. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D_Bell59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel was generally good. The room was nicely decorated, modern and extremely clean and I would say quite comfortable for a family of 4 persons. The only thing was that the windows were looking in an open space so the view was actually a wall! We didn't really care as we were practically returning to the hotel only for sleeping. Also the breakfast was not of the standards of a 4 star hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel ask for a room looking at Santa Maria Novella square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Mid way in our trip, very frustrated by all the snags along the way I finally landed in a NICE hotel. The staff here worked hard to make my stay better. My travel agent was, let's say, not good...at all... and I was left with an open day/night and the staff here got on the phone and called all over signing me up for things, getting directions, etc. They just made the stay LOVELY! I enjoyed the room, it was very large and the bathroom was well cleaned. Should certainly be more than a 4 star. I think back to my cockroach 3 star in Paris and Rome and there is NO WAY this is just one star better... this hotel was VERY NICE.

It was not very loud, so you were able to relax. Breakfast was actually pretty good!!!!

Room Tip: Try not to face the square...then you will be perfectly set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPLSMINN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Roma in early September, 2012. For us it was well located near the train station, across the piazza from Santa Maria Novella. It was moderate in size, had very clean, quiet rooms, offered a very good included breakfast. What's not to like? Three things: (1) The website described the rooms as all including a number of amenities such as shower or bath, hair dryer, etc. and internet connection. That last one was not exactly free as implied but incurred a daily charge of 7.5 euros. The hotel comped it finally but should be more explicit on its website. (2) An extra tax not explained when we reserved was added to our bill. It was dropped after discussion. (3) The recommendation of a small restaurant around the corner was a disaster, as we learned after trying it (without checking Trip Advisor first, which panned it heartily). All in all, however, a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel staff is rude... first words out of the person at reception was "you don't get breakfast", instead of welcome. Hotel staff would pass in the lobby - no smile, no hello. Not a welcoming feeling at all. Our room was at the front of the hotel and quite noisy because there is an ambulance dispatch across the way. Rooms were ok - clean and comfortable, but at the end of the day, people make the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not at the front of the hotel to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#49 of 410 in Florence
1,317 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 410 in Florence
1,681 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 410 in Florence
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#94 of 410 in Florence
863 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#69 of 410 in Florence
802 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#112 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $144 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing