We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, fantastic location”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in a 4th floor room. We arrived late on Sunday night after a long hard days journey (5 hour flight delay) so we went straight to bed as we were so tired. The room was fantastic, very clean and comfortable with a street view. We did not notice the constant noise from above which seemed to be some sort of motor running spasmodically throughout the night as we went to straight to sleep because we were exhausted after travelling all day.
The breakfast buffet was very good with hot and cold choices and the staff were very nice and friendly.
It was not until our second night that we noticed the noise from above which we became aware of when trying to get to sleep. As the room was so good we did not ask for a move and solved the problem with ear plugs which did the trick.
I would recommend this hotel for its great central location, lovely clean rooms and very friendly staff but if we go again I would ask for a lower floor away from the motor/pump noise above room 411

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    531
    109
    33
    31
See reviews for
521
1,529
83
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genf
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

WOW - the hotel is freshly refurbished and whilst being in an ancient building has very nice and modern rooms still keeping an ancient touch. The bathrom was amazing with a rain shower in a shower cabin 3x as big as normal. Also the satellite channel choice is amazing. Stepping out of the hotel you are straight in the center. No need for a car during your stay all you need is one of the free maps ;-). The breakfast is very good with a huge choice. I have really nothing to complain about at all!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weltenbummler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Very nice , just refurbished hotel. In the heart of Florence, was extremely easy to walk around and see the city. The staff helped to find good restaurants and outlets outside the city. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardinaliclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We arrived at 2pm Friday morning to be greeted at the reception by our upgraded room being available immediately. The checking in process was very swift and smooth due to myself being able to type all the relevant info needed directly into a tablet. We were then shown to our room by a very friendly member of staff. Our room was lovely and clean and it was great to be able to open the shutters and look down on the pedestrian shops below. The location is absolutely spot on to get the most out of a long weekend in Florence. The staff couldn't do enough for us, the hotel was exceedingly clean and the beds are the comfiest I have ever slept in.

The only things that were missing was some bathrobes to compliment the lovely bathrooms, free wi-fi and also re-fill of the tea, coffee & milk. But please don't let my need for petty luxuries put you off. I will be recommending this hotel to anyone who is going to be staying in Florence

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanrahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear Sirs,

thank You so much for Your comment which helps us in our commitment to meet our Guests’ expectations.
We are very happy to learn about Your recent stay and how much You enjoyed our rooms and our staff attitude.

Your high recommendations mean much to us; I do really trust to welcoming You and Your family back soon and invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news.
Best regards,
Claudio Catani - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Brunelleschi Hotel is located in the central part of Florence, just some steps from every interesting point of the city... and the room is amazing, clean, very well equipped and with the most comfortable bed I have had in my life...

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

The hotel is really near Duomo and is close to a number of eateries that are also really good (that's not so difficult in Florence). The staff of the hotel was very helpful with everything that we needed while we where there, including making reservations for us at local restaurants. The hotel itself it's beautiful and well preserved, they were even doing some renovations while we were there. We could not have been more satisfied with the choice we made for our stay in Florence, we spent a lovely time and would certainly stay there again without thinking twice!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilabernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Florence is a walking city, and Hotel Brunelleschi is well positioned for tourists to walk to the major sites. Located on a shopping street, just two blocks from the Duomo and four blocks from the Uffizi, with the Ponte Vecchio a short stroll beyond that, the location cannot be beat. But that's not the only reason to stay here...

We reserved a large room with a queen sized bed for ourselvs and a twin bed for our son. The room was extremely spacious, with lots of room for our son to play, a desk in the corner, and a refridgerator. Our room was on a corner, overlooking a shopping street (just a tad bit noisy, but we enjoyed the city bustle). On our first morning, we observed a festive parade (see photos). The bathroom was also spacious with a glass enclosed shower, toilet, and large sink. The entranceway had a large closet for our suitcases. The ceilings throughout were lofty, adding to the sense of space. And the keypad entry was electronic, and just required a touch of the key card. As the room was recently renovated, electric plugs for charging our many devices were readily available.

Our rate included breakfast, which was served as a buffet. The food was fresh, plentiful, and excellent quality. The scrambled eggs were the tastiest, fluffiest we've had in years. And the proscuitto, mozzarella, and tomatos were top quality. For any organic eaters, they had a special cereal and nuts section of organic food. The the croissants were wonderful. One cautionary note -- although breakfast was excellent, the hotel didn't seem to have a lunch/dinner business. Tables were available and parties seem to be hosted, but we did not observe guests partaking of anything more than a few drinks at the bar.

The staff at the hotel front desk were extremely friendly. They helped us with dinner reservations and ensured that the restaurants were comfortable with a young child. And when we required a taxi, it materialized almost immediately. We also needed a doctor to tend to our son's ear infection, and again, he came to our room within 30 minutes of placing the call (for a cash fee, but reasonable given the situation). Very friendly, English speaking, and gave us instructions for the pharmacy,

We enjoyed the overall experience at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again!!!

One thing to be mindful of is that the hotel is a collection of buildings connected by stairs. There are elevators, but they only take you part of the way to the room. Our room required a trip up the elevator and then walked up a series of 3-4 steps x 3 spots. Not a problem for us, but if you have difficulties with stairs, you should consult the front desk before reserving.

Also, to note, it's about a 15-20 minute walk to the main train station. Very doable if you are walking over to take a day trip somewhere (we went to Siena, which was lovely), but would be very tiring with lots of luggage. Take a taxi in that case.

Enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 422 in Florence
1,187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,202 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing