We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book it!”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #22 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Book it!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Fantastic hotel, very friendly & welcoming . Right in the centre. Beautifully decorated & modern. Bed extremely comfortable.
Can be noisy at night though if you back onto the Main Street, especially if you arrive before April because the air con isn't on in the rooms so you need the window open as it is so hot. Breakfast served everything from fruit, meats, cereals, pastries & English breakfast ( Italy's take on an English breakfast lol). Please be careful using the toaster as it is rather dangerous & takes forever.
Don't let these things put you off though as it is a great hotel and these are trivial comments. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and the management put a lovely bottle of prosecco in our room which was a lovely surprise. Wished all hotels are like this one. If travelling into Pisa airport take the coach outside to the right of the terminal , only costs 6 euros each and takes you into the centre of Florence . Trip takes approx 1hr 15 mins.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souterCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

We want to thank You for sharing Your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. All information and details that You have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service.

We are very happy to learn that You enjoyed the Hotel Brunelleschi, that You appreciated our central location, the room and the Breakfast.

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest Regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,000
    527
    108
    32
    31
See reviews for
514
1,511
82
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel Brunelleschi is right in the centre of Florence but tucked away in a quiet courtyard.
The hotel is luxurious with wonderful bathrooms. The bedrooms vary enormously as the building
is made up of various old buildings linked together. We thought our bedroom was too small and
had no problem with being moved to a larger room, thinking back the original room would have
sufficed.
The staff from receptionists through catering to housekeeping were wanting to please us and did.
Our three nights were an absolute treasure and we seriously mean to return to the Brunelleschi.
We can only speak as we find and that is as above.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mendelbenavigdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your desire to share with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services .

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you did like the hotel and that you appreciated our staff

We would be honored to have you as our Guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future. We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.
Kindest regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel in January 2014. We were on a 4 week European Holiday for our 25th wedding anniversary. I must say my first impressions was not good. Two things....one when we arrived to check in there was a disagreement going onto between the staff and a guest about their bill. That was fine but the person that was attending to us got involved and completely ignored our needs as in talking to them while serving us! NOT GOOD. Also we were shown to our room which was at the back of the hotel (which actually backs onto a very busy street of Florence) on the ground floor. Lets just say we got no sleep that night. I had been all around Europe at this stage and had not complained once but I cound not go another night without sleep. But in saying this the Hotel bent over backwards for us and then not only put us in a quiter room but upgraded us to a suite. VERY NICE! The positives are lovely buffet breakfast, georgous refurbished hotel and very central....you can walk anywhere. WI-FI is hopeless (and that was in both rooms). Was more expensive than alot of the hotels we stayed in but after the upgrade could not complain. One other thing we were greeted in our room with a beautiful bottle of chamange. Well done Brunelleschi for listening to your guests and rectifing problems.

Room Tip: If you want a quiter room make sure you request this and get the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColletteP_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
We appreciate your desire to share with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services .

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you did like the hotel location and that you appreciated the Buffet Breakfast.

We are really sorry if you had the impression that at your arrival the Staff ignored your needs . The rigidity, at that time, came from the fact that our staff was involved to please our Guests. Thank you anyway for your report, we’ll analyze your valuable comments to improve the attitude.

We would be honored to have you as our Guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future. We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Kindest regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Florence is my favourite City in Italy, so this was our third visit to the Hotel Brunelleschi and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

The hotel has recently been refurbished and it is absolutely beautiful. Our room was sumptuous, clean and very comfortable. The staff were welcoming, courteous and helpful - what more could you want!

Room Tip: We had a Classic Executive room and it was perfect for us. My one and only gripe, would be that pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment; we are very pleased to learn how great you found our hotel, our room and our staff.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. EVERYTHING. However the maid service in my daughters' room was very sketchy and not consistently well cleaned. Toiletries replaced, bathroom thoroughly cleaned sometimes. Vies from my room was a wall. This is not a budget type lodging. Very elegant and the museum under the old tower is fascinating. It was revealed during restoration. There are artifacts and remnants of Roman hot baths. Staff was exceedingly charming and helpful and funny.
The breakfast selection was huge and quite varied. Shopping, galleries, historic highlights quite close. It rained every day which added a quiet element. The tourist groups were not too evident. YIPPEE. We traveled in January and early February. Perfect times for us. I would do off season everywhere. Wish I was there right now.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamansrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank You for sharing Your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us.. All information and details that You have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service.

We are very happy to learn that You enjoyed the Hotel Brunelleschi, that You appreciated our central location,and the breakfast.

We apologize you had the impression that the room was not well cleaned. Usually our staff is very careful and pay attention to our Guests' comfort and satisfaction. The comment you left is very important to us. This will help us to improve our service that, unfortunately, failed in this case.

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest Regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great loaction to explore Florence but very noisy. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the view from the window was of a very busy shopping street-noise was very loud until way into the early hours with the window open. It was unseasnobly warm when we stayed and the air con wasn't switched on in any rooms, so by 1am-2am we both woke up boiling and opened the window-not for long though as it was still very busy outside.I hate to think what the noise is like in high season! It wasn't just our room, i heard other guests moaning of waking up boiling hot.Neither of us slept well any of the 5 nights.
My husband had e-mailed the hotel and arranged private transfers with them (these were excellent but pricy!) he told the hotel twice we were staying to celebrate my very "big" birthday. Sadly no mention of this ever by anyone at the hotel.They coulld have checked from my passport that they took on arrival that we weren't trying it on. Sad as we have read since of other guests being left bubbly etc in their room for birthdays!!
When we returned to the UK my husband had also mentioned it to the hotel in London where we stopped for 1 night to see a show before returning home, What a difference, they upgradeded us and put a card and chocolates in our room. It made such a difference and really a box of chocolates costs very little to a hotel chain. Real shame that no one at The Hotel Brunelleschi could even bother to say a word to us, as i said it was a very "big" special birthday.
The welocme to the hotel wasn't overaly friendly and i had to ask many questions. I asked about the Hotel's museam but i wasn't even pointed in the right direction as to how to find it, we went and found it on our own before we went home in the end.
Some reception staff greet you, some don't even look up which can be uncomfortable when coming back at night.
We didn't have an evening meal there as it seemed a bit pricy. Breakfast was nice but not like the pictures on the website! Small mass produced (looked out of freezer) pastries which really i expected a little more.
Matheous a very nice waiter at breakfast- he was the only one who made an effort, he noticed my cappuchino was left on the table and offered me another, i informed him not to worry as they always arrived stone cold- he assured me he would make sure i got a hot cup- and he did- and every breakfast after he made a real effort. This hotel needs more staff like Matheous to make me want to stay again, he offered that personal friendly smily touch that the hotel lacks.
The website i found generally to lull me into a false sense of grandeur, i think if you can afford their big posh rooms and suites you will have a different expereince to the one we had. Our room was always well cleaned and the bathroom a decent size.
The hotel is much bigger that you probably imagine and many many rooms stretch all along down and around the very very busy shopping streets. It is the reception and dining room that are in the quiet area shown on the website.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can away from the noise on the streets!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58HelenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your desire to share with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services .

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you did like the hotel location and that you appreciated the cleaning of your room.

We do apologize if your stay with us did not meet completely your expectations and we can grant you that the Brunelleschi is the same hotel with the good reviews on Tripadvisor and the same hotel which has been rewarded from “T+L 500 the world’s best hotels”.
Our commitment to exceed Guest’s expectations is very challenging and we do try hard every day to comply with it. We all consider as a privilege being at Customer’s service and have pleasure in engaging our Guests during the stay.

We do apologize if our Staff did not get the information you were travelling to celebrate your Birthday. We are used to provide special amenities for our Guests, when celebrating the Birthday while staying at the Hotel, and your Birthday date was not included in the period of your stay with us.

It has been a shame that you did not share your disappointment with us in terms of noise as a room change could have been proposed. Our windows, as many Guests have reported on Tripadvisor, are all soundproofed. Also the Hotel Brunelleschi is located right in the heart of the pedestrian area within the historical center of Florence, and overlooking the Via Calzaiuoli.

Also, we do apologize if the room was too warm: our Receptionists would have been more than happy to lower the heating temperature in your room, always ready to meet our Guests’ desire.

We are really sorry if you had the impression that the Staff wasn’t friendly and smiley. Possibly the rigidity, at that time, came from the fact that our staff was managing a very busy moment trying to meet the greater number of requests together and to please our Guests. Thank you anyway for your repor, we’ll analyze your valuable comments to improve the attitude.

We would be honored to have you as our Guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future. We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.
Kindest regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The staff were spot on from arranging day trips, dinner reservations and telling us all the beauty hot spots. The room had the most breath taking view, was clean and very well presented. Would definitely recommend this hidden gem in the heart of Florence. A trip me and partner will never forget.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank puddingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest

We want to thank You for sharing Your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us.. All information and details that You have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service.

We are very happy to learn that You enjoyed the Hotel Brunelleschi, that You appreciated our central location, the room and the staff.

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest Regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing