We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words...”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed here twice and it gets better every time. Location, food, accommodations, did I say location? In the middle of Firenze's historic center it is within walking distance from all the touristic sites in the city. The hotel staff is great, and please ask for the Brunello wine tour, you won't regret it!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sigifredo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,958 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel Brunelleschi is a fantastic hotel, the position within Firenza, its proximity to the Cathedral and railway stations make it a perfect choice. We found it to be very clean and very well run, we had Italian lessons thrown in by the gentleman on reception, fantastic guy, just the man I want to meet at a hotel reception desk. It is a first class hotel and "was" a little pricey on drinks and food but hey you get what you pay for. We stayed BnB and tend to eat away from our base we try and fin the most remote gastrodomes possible. It can be a little noisy in the rooms as you are within 200m or so of the part of Florence everyone wants to see, but if you didn't guess that when you booked, hey, own goal pal. Stay here stay here stay here if you go to Florence

Room Tip: It is in the city centre, you will hear a little of life from the street, if you don't want that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is surely one of the best, if not THE best, hotel in Florence. Perfectly situated, it sits in a small, quiet square a short distance from both the Duomo and Piazza Della Signoria. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and the suites in the tower – Florence’s oldest standing building, have amazing views of the Duomo’s roof and dome. The hotel’s first floor restaurant definitely deserves a place among the thousands of incredible restaurants in Florence. What truly stands the Hotel Brunelleschi apart from all others is the impeccable service. All staff were friendly, very responsive to customer questions and problems, attentive yet unobtrusive, and extremely knowledgeable, especially about where to eat. Their restaurant recommendations were bang on target. We’d particularly like to commend the Front Desk staff, including Paulus, Aline, and Antonella, who truly catapulted this visit from wonderful to memorable. I don’t usually speak in superlatives, but there are no other words to use for this hotel.

Room Tip: If the Tower Suite is available I highly recommend it. The views are stupendous and the room is ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tnderfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were given a room on the south side of the hotel, it was very noisy as the street is pedestrian. With a big smile the hotel upgraded us to a huge room with a view of the Duomo on the north side. The bathroom was the size of a bedroom with a huge walk-in wet room.
The location is smack in the middle of everything. We came by car, and could not find out how to get to the hotel, which is in a pedestrian area. So we called them, they sent out a doorman, who guided us and then they valet parked the car!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This will be the hotel I will stay in whenever I am lucky enough to return to Florence. It was an enjoyable experience from our entry to our departure. The staff is attentive attractive and friendly. The rooms are clean and beautiful. The breakfast is delicious. All this and the location couldn't be better. It is a short walk to the main piazza and Duomo yet the hotel is completely sheltered from the noise and crowds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Brunelleschi is fantastically positioned, you really can't get much better. The staff were friendly and helpful. Housekeeping were particularly good, our room was always immaculate within about 15 mins of us leaving. Breakfast was fine, it had everything you need. The hotel was clean and decor modern. We really liked the bicycle service they offer, you can rent a bike from the hotel for ?15 which you have use of for 24 hours. My only comment would be if your thinking of upgrading it may be worth it as the standard room was smaller than I expected. Overall if your looking for a well kept hotel with a central position this one is great.

Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The history of the hotel as a women's prison should have put me off, but I found some irony in it as I was staying at the hotel with my new husband on our honeymoon! Our taxi driver told us it was the best hotel in Florence and as we emerged out of what seemed like an alleyway into Piazza Santa Elizabthea we were awestruck at the sympathetic way a perfectly equipped modern hotel had been built around a Bezentine tower. The greeting at reception was exceptional and the room luxurious (for a city-centre room). The location in the heart of everything Florence has to offer cannot be rivalled, not with the quality on offer. The restaurants offer something for every budget from traditional Tuscan menus and the ice-cream is a must! We returned for our first honeymoon this year and were pleased to see nothing had changed. The staff (many of whom were recognisable from the year previous) continued to deliver high levels of customer service and the quality of accommodation had not changed. We will return for our second anniversary for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shivelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#3 of 410 in Florence
656 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,547 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 410 in Florence
1,363 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $191 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing