We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Of This Hotel”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family and I drove for 6 hours to reach Florence. I made this reservation back in January, 2012. When we got to Hotel Brunelleschi we were told that the hotel had flooding problems in the area that our rooms were. I would have appreciated at least an email letting us know that there was a problem before we arrived in Florence. They transferred us to another hotel which we did not even book. We made the best of our stay. When we asked to see the area of the flood the manager told us that he was not able to show us. I don't believe that this was true. I believe the hotel was over booked as previous guest . If you read some of the reviews another family after a week was told the same thing, flooding. This doesn't sound to kosher and bad business . If you keep having flooding problems than fix it so it doesn't keep happening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NJ2012Florence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 2,884 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful, imposing building. Our room was a shade on the small side, so I would perhaps have given a 4.5 out of 5 but everything else was so good we didn't really care. The bed was blissfully comfortable, the bathroom great and very clean, and even though our room overlooked the main Corso the windows blocked out all noise. The breakfast buffet was opulent to say the least, piles of parma ham, pastries, fruits, and even prosecco. The staff were very helpful, if slightly 'stiff'.

The location was perfect - 2 minutes from the Duomo and hundreds of restaurants and bars on the doorstep. We popped back several times a day to drop shopping, refresh or have a 10-minute rest in the air conditioning, just because we could.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smurrell1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Beware of the scams this hotel pulls and do not stay here!! My husband and I arrived and were informed there was a plumbing problem and they had moved us to another hotel. The hotel they moved us to was $400 cheaper per night (funny that they were still advertising room avaliablity on kayak). The taxi driver said this is not the first time he is hearing this and this is something they always do=OVER BOOK!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 172TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Sirs,

It would have been very nice to have your name in order to check your review especially because you have written that our Hotel is “pulling scams”; this is not very polite.

Our hotel is open since 1988 and has 95% of satisfied clients enjoying our service and the attitude of our staff.

Please consider myself at your disposal for any further information you may have in order to better understand the story of the taxi driver, kayak, difference of 400 dollars, etc.


Best regards,

Claudio Catani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have recently returned from a September short break in Florence. In previous years we have visited Rome and Venice, so this trip was to complete the trio. We stayed at the Hotel Brunelleschi for its historical importance. The hotel has all the external character of such an old building, but internally it has all the modern amenities and furnishings to make a wonderful stay. It is also really well placed for walking to all the wonderful sights in Florence. Needless to say we visited the Uffizzi museum. A tip here for other visitors. Do NOT queue ( as we did initially) for the reduced price tickets, it can be HOURS before you even move, let alone get in. Instead go to the ticket office in the foyer where you can buy an advance ticket for a mere 4 euros extra, and it's well worth it. Lots to see, although you do tend to get religious paintings overload! We also visited the Academia museum ( do the same for entrance although this ticket office is across the road) and gaze in wonder at the fantastic sculptures, especially David. Photos are NOT allowed and there are museum staff watching out vigilantly for offenders. It's not such a large museum and not as tiring as the Uffizi. There are loads of free things to see in Florence, around each corner. We also took the local train - a mere 14.20 euros each return journey to Pisa, which we really loved. The walk from the station is easy, and the view of the Leaning tower as it reveals itself is stunning. It's free to walk around the exterior of the tower \and its grounds. We chose not to climb up but there is obviously a charge for this. I think the views must be amazing. Lots of street cafes for refreshments here. Back in Florence, make sure you go to the Santa Maria Novella church near the station, as it houses some fantastic paintings. Dress is an issue as vest tops and teensie shorts may mean you have to cover up a bit, but scarves are provided for a small charge. I went into the church ina tshirt but it did have cap sleeves and that was acceptable. A real must is the vcovered market- a sea of fresh fruits, meats, hams, oils fish and so on. The cafe here is a must to try, but no English spoken. Just be daring and follow the locals! We bought some fab Limoncello and balsamic here, also dried porcini for rissotto, no problem as it's vaccuum packed for you. Shopping is fantastic, especially the designer labels, but not cheap. There's always the outdoor market, down the streets off the square for cheaper good. I bought a beautiful bag for 90 euros, after a bit of negotiation. For evening meals, there are loads of street side eateries which all servwe fab food. our favourite wastheGiannina in S. Lorenzo. We ate here several times, and really enjoyed it. Average 2 course meal with drinks here for 2 came to 50 euros. The icecream is amazing. We loved the GROM icecream place very near our hotel. Finally, visit the Ponti Vecchio, but take some money because there is some fab jewellery there to buy!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic room, which i would class as standard. It was spacious, beautifully decorated...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MelDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.
All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.
We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.
Claudio Catani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our final hotel in a three week tour of Italy. And what a way to finish our trip. Perfect location. Fantastic Room! Lovely Bathroom! Great Service! Wonderful breakfast buffet! Great Concierge Service! Everything you would expect of a 5 star Hotel. Enjoy your stay. My husband and I did. The perfect way to end our trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.
All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.
We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.
Claudio Catani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Truly a find in Florence. A very nice hotel in a quiet area, close to the Duomo and within walking distance of everything. Rooms were well-appointed; staff helpful and fluent in English. Did everything via email and also requested they secure tickets to view David at the Accedemia so that we could have them when we arrived. Would highly recommend. Was the most expensive room of our trip, but well worth it.

Room Tip: We could see the Duomo from our bathroom! Room was on the 4th floor. Great bathrooms and beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.
All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.
We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.
Claudio Catani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The entrance for this hotel is in a quaint courtyard in the centre of Florence and it has loads of style. The staff are very friendly and professional. The room was small but well appointed however the bed was awful and we barely slept. Maybe it was the fact that it was small or that they were two single beds pushed together but whatever the reason it unfortunately means we won't be inclined to stay again. Which is a shame because it ticked many boxes but not the most important one.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank IrelandVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.
All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We do apologize that you did not feel comfortable with our bed which is the top line of Simmons and for which we also have pillow top at Guests' disposal to enhance the comfort.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.

Claudio Catani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#7 of 410 in Florence
642 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,705 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $127 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Brunelleschi, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing