We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Brunelleschi in March for 2 nights. My experience was great. The hotel itself is beautiful, the building is very old but the inside has a nice modern decoration. The room where I stayed in (room 109) was very comfortable, with a big bed, a desk with chair, enough closet space and a spacious bathroom.
The breakfast is served in one of the oldest remaining rooms in the hotel, that, at itself, is great. The buffet has a lot to offer, from cereals to bread, to fruit, to fish. More than enough to choose from. I have had lunch once in the hotel and it was so tasty! I would recommend it to anyone. Also the wine tasted very good.
The hotel is situation right in the city center, almost next to the Domo. It is very easy to find since you can always set the Domo as your referencepoint. Hotel Brunelleschi is situated in a tiny little street where almost no cars come, so it's nice and quiet.
One, tiny negative point, is that I slept in a room where there was a busy street outside. With the windows closed you almost don't hear the noices but when you like to open up a window (like me) the sound is pretty loud. I'm a good sleeper so it didn't bother me that much but I can imagine that people might not like it. One other point is that the airconditioning did not work. I was told that hotels in Florence put the airconditiong in function in May and not earlier. So, the only option for me was to open the window.

Overall, I had a great stay, the hotel is wonderful, the staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel is suitable for tourists and also business travellers as it is close to everything and the hotel offers facilities that make it possible to work in your hotelroom (such as WIFI internet). I absolutely loved my stay in Hotel Brunelleschi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazouV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    531
    109
    33
    31
See reviews for
521
1,527
83
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The location is perfect - right in the center of town. The hotel itself was amazing! Beautifully decorated rooms, wonderful breakfast and helpful staff. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger rooms and really enjoyed the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

During our excursion to Italy, we chose Florence as our last destination before returning to the United States. We had the pleasure of staying in the finest hotel in Florence. Its recent renovations coupled to one of the oldest landmarks, its tower, mentioned in Dan Brown's book, "The Divinci Code", complete with the utmost in modern conveniences. State of the art technology combined with superior accommodations and friendly staff made for a wonderful addition to our trip. The hotel is tucked away inside beautiful cobble stone streets and yet centrally located to all the shopping and restaurants one could imagine and within easy reach by walking. The bells of the church tower rang out everyday adding to an already delightful and charming atmosphere. Our room provided a view of the dome of the cathedral with a terrace overlooking tiled rooftops of the adjacent buildings with the sound of people preparing for their day rising up from the side streets. The hotel restaurant boasts fine dining but has few tables and requires advanced reservations, but there are many great restaurants within short walking distance eliminating this slight inconvenience. An American style great buffet breakfast with good coffee started every day with enthusiasm. If you plan to stay in Florence on your next journey to Italy, you must add this hotel to your accommodations request.

Room Tip: We had chosen a junior suite in this hotel which was fantastic in all regards and made for beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel is a historic building with an ultra-modern interior. Once inside you lose all charm.

The quality of the room was disappointing. There were several broken items and the overall construction was poor. Both sides of the hotel border noisy alley ways. (friends that stayed at the other end of the hotel also complained about noise.) The bed was hard as wood and the room was very small, even for Europe's standards. Also the breakfast was absolutely horrible and their hotel bar/restaurant was very pricey, even for a hotel. I feel this really hurt the value. For what is supposed to be a 4-5 star hotel, I was very unimpressed. I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your feed back which could give us the opportunity to investigate about the broken items and overall construction which has been totally refurbished and update to the luxury segment. It would be useful and helpful to understand in which room you have been accommodated.
Look forward to hearing from you soon.
Best regards,
Claudio Catani – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just back from our stay at this hotel. Almost only positive: perfect situation, nice and helpfull staff (thank you Antonella to help us find that 1 particular store), really comfortable rooms, nice spacious bathroom, nice breakfast,.... A BIG BIG BIG thank you to make our stay perfect at your hotel.
The only less positive is the price of the internet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in February.

The building itself is stunning inside and out.

If you eat in the restaurant try the hazlenut and pistachio ice cream flavours from the 'award winning' chef. They are seriously good. Be aware that the prices in the Tower Bar/restaurant are high (even higher than we had anticipated - for example 11 euros for a beer if I remember correctly)

I agree that the classic rooms are extremely compact, however if you're not planning on spending much time in your room it's not an issue.

We had a problem with the room temp but a quick conversation with reception mean that it was adjusted via their computer instantly.

All staff really were superb.

There's a Sardinian/Tuscan restaurant round the corner from the hotel which serves amazing food, and the staff are great.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again. I hope we do one day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I have stayed here two times. This hotel is fantastic! The rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds and nice amenities. The staff is what makes this hotel among my favorites. They are attentive and knowledgable. I highly recommend Hotel Brunelleschi!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellosaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,187 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,463 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 422 in Florence
1,621 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing