We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Centrally-Located, but Slightly Pricey Hotel”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #24 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. Upon walking into the door of our beautifully appointed room my wife said, "Now this feels like a honeymoon."

There were many things to love about the Brunelleschi: The location was perfect, the beds were comfortable, the front desk staff was incredibly helpful and gracious, and the bathroom was amazing. There were also a couple things that kept it from receiving a fifth star, namely the price of some of the extras. For example, the 20 Euro fee for one days' worth of internet seemed a bit excessive.

Overall though, we were extremely satisfied with our stay and would recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,804 - 1,810 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent more than a week in this hotel - we were travelling around visiting Siena, Lucca, Pisa, Pistoia and always returned to Firenze in the evening. The hotel is only a 15-minute walk from the train station, so this was quite comfortable.
In general, most reviews here that were made recently are correct - the location is perfect, the renovated standard rooms are nice (but small), the building itself is beautiful, the breakfast is good average.
So staying at this hotel is definitely a good choice, nevertheless we wanted to point put some things that weren't that good:
1. Service is kind of strange - some people at reception or in the breakfast room are always smiling, others look as if they were forced into this job and hate it.
2. Room service obviously doesn't have enough time to clean the rooms properly. Mirrors etc were always dusty, and when we entered the room for the first time we found hairs in the shower, a lot of dust in the small wardrobe and even some garbage from the people that lived in this room before. I wouldn't say that the rooms were dirty, but for a hotel of this standard this was a little disappointing. Also some minor details were strange - sometimes towels were taken away but not replaced with new ones until the next day.
3. Some other details that bugged me: It's nice to have a tea/coffe making facility in the room - but it's useless if coffee or tea is not replaced after you drank a cup. Within our 9 nights stay, coffee was only refilled two times (meaning two additional cups each time)
And: When we checked out, the concierge said that we drank some stuff from the mini bar - what we never did. After a short discussion we didn't have to pay for that, but for me it's hard to understand how they can claim something like this when we didn't even open the mini bar once.
As I said, in general the hotel is a good choice and I didn't want to repeat the nice things that a lot of people here already pointed out, but it's not as perfect as some people here said.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel is right in the heart of the city walking distance to everything.
Just around the corner from the Central Cathedral and Tower 500 meters from the ponte vecchio bridge and all services close.Just 1 disappointing aspect of this hotel is they charge
for wifi as we stayed at 11 hotels on our journey and only 2 charged for wifi.
But this hotel charged for 24hrs wifi at expensive prices and it ran non stop so if you use 1 hr and then dont use again you lose lot as you cant disconnect and use later which was the case at the only other hotel we got charged at.i would not return for that reason as i like free wifi as we do all our onging hotels and tours on the net

Room Tip: We had superior room and it was fantastic,with dual wash basins large lcd tv,and very soft comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garryaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Brunelleschi is a great hotel, centrally located (2 mins walk to the Duomo) yet tucked away in a quiet, peaceful street. The rooms were well appointed and quite spacious by European standards. The interior decoration was modern & tasteful and the beds were very comfortable (great for people who suffer from back pain, like me!). Breakfast was of good quality, with a wide choice to suit all tastes. My only concern was perhaps one elevator which felt a bit wobbly but it did the job. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Brunelleschi Hotel and we'd definitely go back there again without hesitation. It's a safe choice, and again, a really fantastic location (everything is within walking distance), which is for me a critical criterion when travelling with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

A beautiful hotel and definitely the best location we could have hoped for.
We had a lovely room (229) - beautifully designed with a large bathroom and powerful shower. The service was very good and the staff were very efficient and happy to help with any questions or requests. I’d highly recommend this hotel and hope I’ll be able to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mythologies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

A wonderfully central hotel, great to get back to when you are exhausted from all the walking you will do in Florence. Service was very good and they had a good selection for breakfast, room service is also available. They were very kind to let us do on-line check in for our departure home and it was most appreciated. Beautiful interiors and though our bathroom was compact, the space was well thought out and we had everything that we needed.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lift to avoid noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danda1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for four nights. we couldn't have asked for a better location, so accessible to everything, yet hidden in a small quiet lane away from the crowds.
Our room was great, modern and clean.
The breakfast included in our room rate was an added bonus, great variety, very fresh and abundant.
The staff were extremely helpful and charming..
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#55 of 409 in Florence
1,445 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#6 of 409 in Florence
634 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#34 of 409 in Florence
1,554 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 409 in Florence
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $157 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Brunelleschi, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing