We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incongruous hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #20 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incongruous hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

A strange hotel this one with rooms small but very modern and of good quality, comfortable beds, helpful reception staff and great location. What let's it down is the rest of the hotel which doesn't match up and gives a very different feel to the place , i. e. the reception, hallways, the breakfast rooms with chairs that looked like they'd had better days. What also let it down was the noise - we were opposite housekeeping who let the door just slam every time and we were also not informed of the work being carried out outside our rooms which started at 7 am. In all fairness the second morning all was quiet after we said something but this didn't stop them from removing the scaffolding at 7am on our last morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,976
    519
    106
    32
    30
See reviews for
504
1,494
80
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is in the middle of Florence, so to get there you have to travel through endless very tight streets passing between a lot of people walking in this tight streets. We have to ask the hotel if they could sent us someone, which they did, to take us to the entrance of the hotel. Very expensive, but in the center of the city, clean beautiful rooms and good service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafaelmosquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Last time we stayed here we were more green about touring Florence than this time. The room we had been fully refurbished - the Giotto Tower room with a view of the Brunelleschi's great archtecture in the Duomo. Our room was fabulous.

Great water pressure,comfortable beds, good plumbing and spacious. Sure the real bells from the tower rang at 7.00am but that is part of it all. We walked everywhere, found great wine bars, little restaurants and a magic wine bar near the duomo.
Very special. The "event" we most enjoyed was arranging lunch at Antica Macelleria Checchini in Panzano in Chianti.If you love meat and want to share a lunch with about 50 other interest sharing people from everywhere make a booking through the concierge and go. We got a cab out and arranged for them to come and take us back later. The idea was to make them know we were done by SMS. Only problem was there was no mobile service. The restaurant made the call and we shivered in the wind till the cab returned. The food, rustic, generous, bred and fed, killed and grilled by Dario Checchini - butcher and chef . What an experience and the journey out through Tuscany to Panzano was beautiful. If you have the time - its a must.
We love this hotel - the former concierge has been promoted and whilst the new(to us) concierge was also good the old concierge remains a wonderful warm and genial host. Breakfast was excellent. The restaurant was still being remodelled when we were in Florence. From here we travelled to Perugia.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel for three nights at the close of our two week honeymoon and it was a fantastic place to wrap up our stay in Italy. The location is central - steps to the Duomo, and short walks to all of the major museums and the Arno. Our room was very well appointed with a spacious bath as well as a couch and sitting room. Our room was on a corner, with windows which opened out on one of the main streets, but it was very quiet when the room windows were closed (we opened them and watched a street performance at one point).

In the reviews, several people complained about the construction that was taking place at the hotel. While there was work going on while we were there, it didn't really impact us. One issue is that you need two elevators to reach rooms on the 3rd floor or above. This requires an elevator to the second floor, taking your bags through what becomes the breakfast rooms, up two sets of 5 stairs each, and finally up another stair to get to the second elevator. It is a pain, especially when carrying bags, but is ultimately only a minor inconvenience. One other potential drawback, is that the location, while central, is nearly inaccessible to cars. I don't know that you're even allowed to drive into the city center with a rental car, but there is nowhere to park at or near the hotel. The front desk can call you a car if you need one to the train station or airport. We used the concierge to make dinner reservations, and they were helpful. We didn't ask them to do anything extraordinary and they didn't really distinguish themselves beyond your typical hotel of this caliber.

For us, it was a great hotel. One of the largest rooms we had in our entire stay in Italy and one of the best appointed. Everything was clean and was kept clean by the staff daily. The breakfast was good (though nothing outstanding). The setup caused some inconvenience, but nothing major. As their work draws to completion, I expect that it will be an even better experience for anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishdevil04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a 12 day trip with 95 individuals. The hotel was appointed beautifully with excellent finishings, luxurious bedding, and wonderful staff. The hotel staff was able to handle our large group while providing an exceptional individual experience for me. The concierge was knowledgable and caring. This hotel is in an excellent location, especially as it is only 4 blocks from Florence's best gelateria, GROM. This wonderful hotel was a welcome respite in a busy city. Could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hotel was immaculate. The rooms were nice. Anything you wanted was available with a simple request at the front desk. The concierge was most helpful with reservations. The location was perfect for walking around Florence. The bartender, Alessandro, was one of the highlights of our entire trip! He was attentive and funny while serving water, appetizers and dinner. The food was very good too..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daybee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Room was beautiful, breakfast was wonderful. Location..terrific. But hotel is very much under construction therefore the public areas are not attractive and the beautiful view of the Duomo from my room was marred by the construction debris below. Antonella at reception is cold and cares nothing about exchanging pleasantries with guests and looked genuinely annoyed when I needed some help shipping a package. Housekeeping did not dust at all..with all the mirrors and glass in the new rooms, they need to do a better job.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing