We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Restyled rooms excelent.
Bar is old fashioned
No lounge and the possibility to order a coffee and a scnack.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakkerjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,913 - 1,919 of 2,917 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

Hotal Brunelleschi is situated in the center of Florence, near Florence Duomo Cathedral Santa Maria del Fiore. Above mentioned hotel is named after one of the foremost architects and engineers of the Italian Renaissance. Rooms are very comfortable, modern and made with taste, food is very tasty. We had a great time in Brunelleschi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsereteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Brunelleschi for two nights in February 2011 during a trip through Italy. The hotel is exactly as pictured on the website, and it definitely lives up to the excellent reviews. The location is perfect - about midway between the Duomo and the Uffizi, tucked in to a quiet courtyard. The reception was very friendly and they even allowed us to check in early. The room was very nicely appointed. Comfy bed linens and pillows, a new good-quality mattress, good storage space for the luggage (but we travel lightly), large flat screen TV, and a very nice bathroom. We booked the cheapest, lowest-level room. The room was a tad small by American standards, but it was plenty big enough for what we needed. The decor was very chic and tasteful. The bathroom had a nice rain shower with a handheld shower head. The sinks were beautiful silver glass bowls. Mirrors everywhere and plenty of light. There was even a separate second sink area that I used to put my makeup on while the hubby was showering. The room was quiet and had nice blackout shutters. When you opened the windows, though, you could hear the sounds of the city - buzzing vespas, church bells, and laughing tourists along the Via De Calzaioli. The toiletries were very nice, as well - the VRAI line from Fragonard in France (smells wonderful!!). The hotel breakfast (included in the rate I booked on hotels.com) was splendid. Cold cuts with cheese, plenty of cereals to choose from, hot eggs and bacon, fresh and dried fruits, prosecco and juices, and lots of different pastries. All buffet style. They bring you hot drinks as well - cappuccino, tea, coffee, etc. There is a hotel bar and restaurant, but we didn't try those. They did look nice, though.

You really can't go wrong with this hotel! I loved it and would definitely return here. Only criticism is that the WiFi is too expensive - but this was the case in all the other hotels we stayed in as well (in Rome and Venice).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensminger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Dear Madame,
thank You so much for Your so positive review and high recommendations.
Your enthusiastic and detailed comments helps us in our commitment to meet our Guests’ expectations.... All this means very much to us!
We do really trust to welcoming You back soon.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Although this hotel is billed as being a converted tower, the main part of the hotel is sleek and ultra-modern. We booked online, so breakfast was not included. The room that we had was large and well-equipt, with a large hi-def flatscreen TV with channels from all over the world, and a very modern bathroom with every convenience. The room included coffee and a refridgerator. We found the room quiet--everything one would want--including the Herald tribune.

The hotel is located in the heart of the old city, but it can be hard to find..It is located on Piazza Elizabeth, which is so small that we couldn't find it on any map. In any event, it is very close to the Duomo, so you'll find it. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the major sites and the train station.

We had a very good internet rate, and found the hotel to be a good value. Without the substantial discount, we might look elsewhere. All told, a very enjoyable stay. The staff was professional, if not overly friendly, and the modernism was a nice change.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennsylvaniab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

cannot ask for more in terms of location. it is right by the duomo, with great shops and food all around us. walked everywhere from here. rooms were renovated so it's nice visually. however as with previous reviewers, some function lacking. no free wifi is a huge pain. also our safe didn't work asked them to fix but didn't seem to have been fixed but no big deal.

there was construction going on and started around 8am everyday. it was ok as we woke up early to go out anyway but be warned for those who want to sleep in. construction is supposed to last until sept. also some people might be put off by all the changes of lifts and steps of stairs to get to your room. and the twin beds in our classic room were too narrow, almost fell of it several times, both just sitting chatting and sleeping. if you put the 2 twins together it makes a full size, not even a queen. but they were very comfortable and we slept really well (except for construction).

service was polite and good. always helpful. would stay here again if the rates are as good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments, they are greatly appreciated in ensuring that we do all that we can to in making your experience here at the Hotel Brunelleschi as enjoyable as possible.
With regards to the constuction that is going on at the Hotel, we are pleased to inform our Customers that all work will be finished by the 31st March, and not September.
In terms of the beds in the Classic Executive rooms, as stated on the website, the beds are 79 inches (200cm) long and 32 inches (80cm) wide, which when joined together are slightly bigger than a standard queensize bed, at 79 inches (200cm) long and 64 inches (160cm) wide.
We do really trust to welcoming You back soon in Florence.

Hotel Brunelleschi
Claudio Catani - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in a 4th floor room. We arrived late on Sunday night after a long hard days journey (5 hour flight delay) so we went straight to bed as we were so tired. The room was fantastic, very clean and comfortable with a street view. We did not notice the constant noise from above which seemed to be some sort of motor running spasmodically throughout the night as we went to straight to sleep because we were exhausted after travelling all day.
The breakfast buffet was very good with hot and cold choices and the staff were very nice and friendly.
It was not until our second night that we noticed the noise from above which we became aware of when trying to get to sleep. As the room was so good we did not ask for a move and solved the problem with ear plugs which did the trick.
I would recommend this hotel for its great central location, lovely clean rooms and very friendly staff but if we go again I would ask for a lower floor away from the motor/pump noise above room 411

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

WOW - the hotel is freshly refurbished and whilst being in an ancient building has very nice and modern rooms still keeping an ancient touch. The bathrom was amazing with a rain shower in a shower cabin 3x as big as normal. Also the satellite channel choice is amazing. Stepping out of the hotel you are straight in the center. No need for a car during your stay all you need is one of the free maps ;-). The breakfast is very good with a huge choice. I have really nothing to complain about at all!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weltenbummler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#4 of 411 in Florence
647 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,648 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#34 of 411 in Florence
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $169 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Brunelleschi, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing