We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Ranked #107 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

From my point of view this hotel can not be rated. It has a better quality comparing with Excellent rating. The lobby was huge and luxury and the staff from the front desk was really helpful. The breakfast was really good, more food than you can actually eat and the waiters very nice. The room was big enough, really clean and with new furniture. I had an excellent sleep here.
In a word it was EXTRAORDINARY.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Istrate_Cristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Many thanks for the nice and complete review which is really important for us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our hotel and all our services. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico, please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is right by the train station and about 10 minutes walk to all the major piazzas and sites of Florence. Would strongly recommend it if you want something reasonably priced, comfortable and fancy walking around the city and visiting the sites and restaurants.

The breakfast was great - being from the UK it was nice to have some eggs and (proper) bacon rather than prosciutto (which in most places in Italy is the replacement for bacon at breakfast it seems). On offer was fruit juices, yoghurts, cured meats, cheeses, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, frankfurters, fresh fruit and salad, coissants, deserts, different types of bread and the capuccinos were very tasty!

The rooms are decently sized and the service is very good from the reception staff. The only major downside was the stifling temperatures in the room - it seemed to be on the whole time regardless of what was done to the thermostat. Reception acknowledged the problem but said there was nothing they could do about it as the system was off...?

Also never found the garden or jacuzzi although I'm sure they exist as they were closed whenever we were at the hotel although we were assured they were open at times when we weren't there.

Room Tip: Like all other reviews, try to get a room facing into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h00dedvillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Many thanks for the time spent for your complete review and many thanks also for the nice words about your stay. The only think is that we don't have a garden with the Jacuzzi, the hotel Rivoli which is our sister hotel has one and nay be you found this information on their website.
Best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We chose this hotel because it offered facilities for people with disabilities and it has an on-site car park. Well, the car park was as promised but the accessible bathroom fell far short of expectations and consequently made our stay quite challenging. The ladies at reception were sympathetic to our problems but no solution was offered.
The hotel is situated outside the main historical centre, but is within walking distance of all the must-see attractions of the city. Our bedroom was comfortable and clean, and complimentary tea & coffee making facilities were provided on request.
Breakfast was okay, and was served in a pleasant and airy room with an outside terrace. The restaurant seemed to have very few diners; we ate there twice (the second time because we lacked the energy to look for an alternative after a full day's sightseeing). They offer a fixed price menu, three courses with water & glass of wine for less than 30 euros. The trattoria opposite the hotel serves good traditional Italian food, and is probably a better option.

Room Tip: If you require specific facilities, I would suggest you request a photo before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 383elizabethp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Located steps a way from the sant Maria train station and the bus station where everything is available this four stars nice hotel is a good choice for one who is visiting Florence for both business or leisure and shopping. It is reasonable in price, clean, big rooms and good staff.
Good in service,cleanness,sleep quality.
Reasonable in price and breakfast.
Excellent location.
Generally it is a good hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Hexa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Many thanks for your kind and nice review which is really important for us. We love to read the comments from our customers and we are proud when we are able to meet their needs, as in your case. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico please accept our warms regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great location within walking distance of everything - just out of restricted driving zone so is easy to approach from river side - secure parking 20 euro per night - room was large and very clean and very quiet at night - staff very helpful with tips on places to see - brand new conad supermarket just around corner - breakfast was plentiful with huge choice - just get there early before the tour groups descend on breakfast - would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Many thanks for the nice and complete review which is really important for us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our hotel and all our services. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico, please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Adriatico is dated but good value for the location. It's not too far to walk to the center and all the sites. It serves as an okay place to sleep while taking in the Florence experience. With all the good food in Florence and market, do not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

...but too warm for sleeping if you are there before the tourist season starts. They won't turn on the air until then. Opening the windows is fine, but the noise from the outside will keep you awake, especially when the movie theater lets out. Free wi-fi, nice bar/lounge area. Beware of the safe - there's an extra step to activating it. If you can't get back into it, you'll have to wait until the next morning for the head housekeeper to come and open it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classicalmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Many thanks for this review which is really important for us and many thanks for your nice words. Concerning the problem you had with your safe in the room, when it remain locked, for your safety we prefer to send to open it or our manager on duty or our housekeeper. If our Guests need to open it urgently in the evening the receptionist on duty are allowed to open the safe. For the problem of excessive heat was due to a failure in our heating system that we still proceeded to repair immediately. Best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#92 of 410 in Florence
864 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#79 of 410 in Florence
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,004 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#197 of 410 in Florence
1,300 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#93 of 410 in Florence
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatico

Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 9 | Alerghiera Adriatica Ala, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#124 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $106 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatico 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard international hotel, elegant and functional, managed by the historical hotelier family Caridi from Florence, this Hotel in Florence is a modern 4 star hotel in the historical centre of Florence that combines the great tradition of Florentine warm hospitality and personalized welcoming with efficiency and comfort of the best international hotels. Grand Hotel Adriatico is a 4 star hotel in an unique position, at only 200 metres from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and within a 10 minute walk from Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo della Signoria, Galleria degli Uffizi and from all major Florence's touristic scene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing