We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Ranked #106 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a comfortable hotel and a good base for exploring Florence. Our room on the 1st floor was large and very clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfasts were good and service was excellent. The decor is slightly dated and tired but that shouldn't put you off going. My only negative comment is that it is quite a long walk into the centre and back if you have a late night!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

At first many thanks for the time spent for this review and many thanks also for the positive words about our hotel. It's important for us to read that our Guest had a great time at the Grand Hotel Adriatico as we work really hard for this. We are located at 3 minutes walking from Santa Maria Novella and 10 minutes from the Ponte Vecchio and the Duomo, a short and nice Promenade through Florence. Hoping to welocme you again,in Florence and at the Grand Hotel Adriatico, please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Nice enough hotel in a good location and only a 10-15 minute walk from the Duomo. At first it seems a bit dated but it has a certain charm that grows on you. We had a room on the 7th floor which was comfortable and quiet, had good views and was kept spotlessly clean.
Wi-Fi in room was fast but intermittent as they’ve only just installed it in all rooms so I imagine they were having a few teething problems.
Breakfast is reasonable with a fairly good selection but nothing special.
Staff very helpful and pleasant including a charming elderly barman but prices in the bar a bit steep at 9 euros for a G&T. They do a Happy Hour between 5-7pm when drinks are half price.
Some decent restaurants and the river within a few minutes’ walk.
In a city like Florence you're not going to spend much time in your hotel room during a weekend break so taking all into account not a bad choice and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms on the 7th floor. Room 702 is a double, quiet, spacious and has fairly good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Many thanks for time spent for this review and many thanks also for the nice words you wrote about our hotel and our services; we are really happy when our Clients enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico. Warm regards.
Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here in September 2013 when I was in Italy for business. The hotel was recommended by some of the Italians that I was working with. It was also a very short walk from the train station.

Positives
• For Florence the hotel was reasonably priced
• The room I had was pretty large
• The breakfast at the hotel was reasonable

Negatives
• The hotel is a little bit outside the main tourist areas (10 to 15 minute walk from Palazzo Vecchio.
• Certain areas/furniture of the hotel looked a little old fashioned and could do with updating
• Wi-Fi is an additional cost. This was advertised on as free on the website I booked it through. The hotel eventually gave it to me for free

Would I stay here again?
Possibly. The first two negatives are very minor. However, the wi-fi is something that put me off and I would only come here if I got free wi-fi within the room.
This is a good option for Florence. It is a little bit out of the main tourist areas, but this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PQ971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Many thanks for this review which is really important for us and many thanks also for your detailed analysis. Concerning the wifi, starting from the 1st of January 2014 it's available and free of charge in all our hotel, also in the rooms, asking the password at the front desk; we are located in the center of Florence, less than 10 minutes walking from the Duomo and from the Ponte Vecchio, in an elegant area of Florence at only five minutes walking from the mail railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico, please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in January 2014. The hotel is centrally located, close to the train station and nothing is really more than a 15min walk away. The room was very modern but like other hotels in Italy without a view and smallish.

Bathroom: His and hers towels, two in one body wash and shampoo, vanity box, body lotion, shoe sponge, soap and shower cap. Nice touch, when you have the TV on there's a speaker in the bathroom and you can listen to the TV. The shower is in the bath. Hair dryer included.

Room: small TV set and one extra chair. Safe as well. We stayed on the 5th floor. We found the room temperature to be almost unbearably hot! Free and fast wifi was great!

Breakfast: standard per what we experienced when we stayed at another hotel in Rome. Canned fruit and scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries, yoghurt, ham and cheese. Nothing out of the ordinary. Coffee was good!

Service: staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

At first many thanks for your nice and detailed review and thanks also for sharing it with this nice website. It's a good thing for us to know our Guest's impressions and we are proud when they are satisfied. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Near and walking distance from the train and bus station
Brekafast do not have plenty of selections
Great bathroom and items inside the room
Very little elevator -our luggage can hardly fit
Free wifi at the lobby only
You can pay either by your local currency or by euro ( when using credit card)
The bus going the mall is near this hotel

Stayed: April 2013
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Many thanks for your review which is really important for us and many thanks also for your nice words about our hotel and our staff. Just to inform our hotel has 3 elevators in total, 2 for a maximum of 6 persons and one bigger that can take a maximum of 14 persons which is located on the small corridor on the left facing the reception. From the 1st of January 2014 there is free wi fi in all our hotel (also in the rooms) and it works very fast and very well. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico please accept our best regards.
Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

checking in quickly and room was available at 11;30am! very close to the bus &train station by the river. The free Wi-Fi is fast even in the room. This is not a traditional Italian hotel, it lacks the character as it is a chain but we moved here for the night as the "rustic" hotel we were staying in was shocking-no sound proofing and outdated.

We were no disappointed as this was a very quiet hotel and well furnished. The room was very clean. You can choose your type of pillow and there are "his and hers towels" which is a nice touch.

There is hot food for breakfast which was a first on this trip! Also there is a gym at this hotel and a cocktail bar (which was dead being January 4th!)

This hotel isn't spectacular but it does everything right and is quiet so you can get a decent nights sleep. it was to also a very good price compared to other 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks a lot for the time spent for your review that we consider very important to know the opinion of our customers. It helps us to see how we could improve all our services to make the stay of our customers unforgettable. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico. With best rergards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Well clean and cozy rooms. Clean bathroom but a little old..
The breakfast is very good, with outside garden to drink your coffee and you can smoke.
Generally good prices per night. The internet is charged expensive ...!
( This should be finished sometime at all BW hotels .... )
Good location for getting around the city and just 150 m from the central
railway station "Santa Maria Novella" .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kostas X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Many thanks for this nice review and I'm glad to confirm that starting from the 1st of January 2014 wi fi will be working, free of charge, in all our hotel. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#94 of 410 in Florence
863 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#83 of 410 in Florence
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 410 in Florence
2,002 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#199 of 410 in Florence
1,297 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#95 of 410 in Florence
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatico

Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 9 | Alerghiera Adriatica Ala, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#124 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $105 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatico 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard international hotel, elegant and functional, managed by the historical hotelier family Caridi from Florence, this Hotel in Florence is a modern 4 star hotel in the historical centre of Florence that combines the great tradition of Florentine warm hospitality and personalized welcoming with efficiency and comfort of the best international hotels. Grand Hotel Adriatico is a 4 star hotel in an unique position, at only 200 metres from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and within a 10 minute walk from Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo della Signoria, Galleria degli Uffizi and from all major Florence's touristic scene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing