We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Ranked #108 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for one night in November. Was told the room wasn't ready until 2pm..(we arrived at 12). No dramas, we went off exploring. The hotel is in a decent location, whatever you do, don't get a Taxi to the hotel from the station, walk it's like 5 minutes and will save you 10 Euros. The rooms are large, decent bathroom. No movies on the TV. What really annoyed me and is the reason for the low rating is that they have wifi, BUT it's only available in the lobby AND it's not free! What a joke. If they are going to make you pay for the wifi they should at least make it available in the rooms. Breakfast was thoroughly basic, watery scrambled eggs, fatty bacon and out of date cake. There are other places to say in Florence!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for your review which is really important for us but there are some points that I would like to clarify: our check in time is 2,00pm and is indicated and reported in all the websites, so if you arrive earlier there is the possibility that the room will be not ready. Concerning the wifi, starting from the 1st of January 2014 it will be free in all our hotel. Best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    835
    204
    42
    24
See reviews for
281
778
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Location, location, location. This hotel is near the train station within walking distance to all the major attractions. Rooms are huge for Europe, fantastic breakfast buffet. The hotel is located next to a convenience store and a LAUNDROMAT.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, it's nice to see that you had a really good impression about our hotel. Your review is important for us to try to improve all our services. Hoping to see you again at our hotel please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Got a triple room recently. Check-in was good, staff were helpful, Parking was tight, but seemed ample enough. The room was dusty, bed spread had some dirt on it. Additionally, the sofa bed had a lot of dirt on the mattress. Room size was decent with no view. Bathroom was large with shower/tub combo. Bar was good at happy hour (all drinks 50% off), but expensive otherwise. Location was close to the train station (~7 min walk) and many restaurants. Duomo and Uffizi were approx 20 min walk times. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sirs, thanks for the time you spent for your review and thanks also for the kind words about our hotel and our staff.; your opinion it's always important for us and in this case it confirm that our Guests appreciate our efforts. Hoping to see you again at our Hotel.
Best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for those who would like to visit Florence. It is situated near the SMN train station with 5 minutes walk. Many good restaurant near the hotel. You can walk to almost all the attractions in Florence - Duomo, Piazza Signoria, Uffizzi etc.

Hotel room is clean and modern. Exceeding my expectation as it's even better compared to the photos. Breakfast is good.

The only bad point is the reception is very very busy and u need to wait a while for ur turn be it check in or any information needed. Something that could be improved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
At first many thanks for your nice review which is really important for us; thanks also for your note about our reception but normally, in high season there are 3 or 4 persons on duty for check in, check out and concierge. Hoping to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico, please accept all our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is well-maintained, clean, and in a decent location. The room was a good size for Italy. There are many nice places to eat right in the area. The breakfast buffet was good, but the room was full two days in a row. If you're in a hurry, you might want to go down early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sperantei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thanks a lot for the time spent for this review and also for the kind words; it's important for us to know our Client's opinions and we appreciate when they liked our hotel and our services. Hoping to see you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico, please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 days at this hotel in Oct 2013. I am a BW Platinum member so used reward points to book.

The room as exactly as shown in the picture. We stayed in 702 room which are bigger and with a better view. Really nice sized room with a walk in closet. Rooms were very clean.

Service was excellent and everything we asked for was given in quick time. Breakfast spread is nice and cakes are fresh :)

I enjoyed the stay and would stay again given the service I got and close proximity to central Florence.

Room Tip: Higher floor 702 with a view and really big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeet_junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Many thanks for the nice review which is really important for us and many thanks also to share it with all the users of this website. It's a good thing for us to know the opinion of our Guests as we because it helps us to monitor and improve if necessary our services. Hoping to see you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico, please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I really liked Hotel Adriatico. The rooms were nicely furnished, beds were comfortable. I was taken aback at first by the elevators, but quickly got used to the small size. The hotel bar was nice as well and Sergio, the bartender, has a perfect personality for tending bar. He took very good care of us. The breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit and the cappachino was yummy. A lot of people in our group were complaining that WiFi is only in the lobby (5 Euros for 40 minutes). That was not an issue for me since I do not check emails, etc on vacation. But I could see where it would be an issue if I was there on business. The location is very convenient to a lot of the major attractions, but definitely had to take a taxi to the Academia. There is a self serve laundry 2 doors over and after a week it was nice to do a load of basics. There is a very small quaint garden off the breakfast dining room that is very quiet if you want to get away from the city noise. We grabbed sandwiches and water one day at a store around the corner from the hotel and had lunch in the garden. Our last night there we had dinner at the restaurant connected to the hotel. The service was excellent and the food very fresh and good. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I ever get to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDavisTucson_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks a lot for this wonderful review, we really appreciate it and It's important for us to now the our Client's impressions. I hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico.
Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 412 in Florence
1,613 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 412 in Florence
838 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#121 of 412 in Florence
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 412 in Florence
1,040 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#83 of 412 in Florence
228 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#203 of 412 in Florence
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatico

Property: Grand Hotel Adriatico
Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 9 | Alerghiera Adriatica Ala, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#124 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatico 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard international hotel, elegant and functional, managed by the historical hotelier family Caridi from Florence, this Hotel in Florence is a modern 4 star hotel in the historical centre of Florence that combines the great tradition of Florentine warm hospitality and personalized welcoming with efficiency and comfort of the best international hotels. Grand Hotel Adriatico is a 4 star hotel in an unique position, at only 200 metres from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and within a 10 minute walk from Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo della Signoria, Galleria degli Uffizi and from all major Florence's touristic scene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing