We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the middle of Old Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Ranked #105 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Country, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good location in the middle of Old Florence”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location good. Room was large by European standards.Hardwood floors free Wi-Fi for 40 minutes. There was a safe in the room which was a nice touch. Staff was nice and helpfull. Room was well furnished. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sirs, Thanks a lot for your nice review which is really important for us. I hope to welcome you again at our hotel. With best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    828
    204
    42
    23
See reviews for
274
772
55
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is located just a few blocks away from the main train/bus station. The CAF tour that we booked met at this location, as well as other tour groups. The hotel was nice. We did not have much of a view, but we did not care as we were hardly in our room. Florence is amazing and has so much to explore! The hotel is 3 blocks away from the river. From there, you can walk up to Ponte Vecchio and the main parts of town. We walked everywhere from our hotel. It is several blocks away from all the main attractions, but worth the walk. The hotel breakfast was the best we had in Italy. Eggs, meat, cheeses, bread and fruit were all on the buffet. Service was friendly and prompt. The only downside were the tiny elevators we had to squeeze into with our backpacks. We will absolutely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sirs, many thanks for your review which is very important for us, and it's importamt also to read that all was great here at our hotel; concerning the elevator we inform you that we have 3 elevators in our hotel, 2 for 6 persons and 1 for 14 persons. With best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Grand Hotel Adriatico is located in the heart of the old town of Florence, just 5 minutes walk to Santa Maria Novella Cathedral and 10 minutes from the Duomo. It is a superior class tourist hotel that caters to many tour groups. The room that I had was big by European standards, and equipped with minibar and cable TV. The restaurant serves delicious Italian dishes and the service was friendly and prompt.

The only drawback is that the hotel has only one small elevator that can accomodate only 2 - 3 persons with suitcases at a time. If you are checking in as part of a large tour group, it could take you a while to get to your room with your luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aukahkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks for your review which is really important for us and many thanks also for your nice words about our hotel and our staff. Just to inform our hotel has 3 elevators in total, 2 for a maximum of 6 persons and one bigger that can take a maximum of 14 persons. With best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Right away we were told that our double room booking was only good for one guest and not two and we will have to pay extra for second guest. Also the charge for second guest was highly inflated and only after talking to best western central we found the right charge and the hotel reception was trying to rip us off. One thing the receptionist in this hotel have to understand is the values of customer service, because being rude to the guests does not only ruin their hotel stay but also their whole tour.
While we were deciding if to stay in this hotel, the receptionist took a copy of our passports (as an assurance) even though we didn't even check in yet.
Only one thing comes to mind, THIS HOTEL CAN'T BE TRUSTED.

Room Tip: Confirm the details of your booking before hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 143travel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir,
the Italian law requests that every person staying in an hotel room must be declared to the local police. This is the 1st reason why we have to ask all our clients their passports or ID card. When we sell one double single use the price is made for 1 person only using the room. If the persons are 2 this is the 2nd reason for we asked you the difference of 30 € which covers a second buffet breakfast plus all the differences in servicing including all the major expenses that a second person brings about. Furthermore when you called us the day before your arrival mentionin that you will be 2 instead of one all these informations were given to you. In the end you received a special 50% off our normal rate for the 2nd person.
Best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Its never a good start when you walk into a hotel and the recepionist looks as if the last thing she wants to see is another tourist. Within twenty seconds or so it was obvious that we weren't expected and there was much jabbering about our booking going on behind the screen in reception. We were told there was a problem with the booking (through Voyage Prive), that it was the hotels fault not ours or the agents, and they were trying to sort it out. A few minutes later they found a room for us and we were given the key and a key card with the room number on it and our check out date five days hence.
As soon as we got to the room I realised it was a basic room and not the superior room we had booked and paid for over three months before. I returned to reception and asked them to confirm what sort of room it was. Only then did they admit that it was a standard room which was all they had at that time but we would be able to move in the morning. When we were given the key it wasnt mentioned that this was a lower category than the room booked and that we would be able to move the next day. They obviously hoped that we wouldnt realise we had been downgraded and would just check out without question at the end of our stay.
The following morning after breakfast I again visited reception and was told we would be able to move to a superior room in half an hour. 45 minutes later the room was ready and we moved. The second room was satisfactory and more or less what I had expected in the first place.
By the time we had unpacked again it was nearly noon and we belatedly set off to explore Florence. On the way out I stopped off at reception to say that the room was fine and to ask about compensation. The man in charge told us there could be no compensation as we were now in a suite (first mention of this and it certainly didnt look like one). I told him that because of the hotels mistake we had spent our first night in a very basic room and wasted our first morning in Florence changing rooms so maybe as a goodwill gesture he would like to offer us dinner in the restaurant that night "on the house"
He said the best he could offer was a drink at the bar. After a heated exchange I told him to forget it.
This whole episode got our stay in Florence off to a lousy start.
This was our second poor experience at a Best Western hotel. We will never stay at one of their properties again.

Room Tip: If paying up front make sure you get the room you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnCSMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thanks for the time you spent for this review which is really important for us; I don’t agree with the description you wrote as it’s true that you were an inaspected Client (as we told you somehow our booking office made a mistake with your booking) but immediatly we assured you that we were able to find a solution. In a couple of minutes we found a standard room and I personally explaned to you that this was only for one night, the first one of your stay with us (there were no superiors or better rooms available at your arrival being the hotel fully booked) and that we were able to change it the day after upgrading you in a “junior suite”.
The day after I explaned to you that you could leave your luggage ready in the old room as we were able to move it in the new accomodation but you preffered to stay there and wait till the other room was ready. Due to our previous mistake we assigned you without any extra charge , a “junior suite” instead of the superior room as reserved. In only 45 minutes our made finished to prepare the new “junior suite” and you moved there with your satisfaction. When you came down you thank me for the assistance and you asked for a compensation “demanding” 2 meals at our restaurant. I tried to explain you that in order to compansate our mistake we had given you a “junior suite” instead of a superior and offering you an “aperitif” at our bar. At this time you became angry telling me to forget it.
I can assure you that when, very seldom, we make a mistake we are already ready to give compensation to our Guests but it must be a “fair compensation” which is two nights in a junior suite against staying in a standard room instead of a superior room for one night plus an aperitif for two.

With best regards.
Daniele Benelli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent one might here because it was a few doors down from our car rental. Wished we had knowned about it when we first started planning our trip to Florence. We walked in and got a rate of 80 euros. The location is close to the train station and a short walk to the center of Florence. Our room was beautiful, cool, and comfortable. I loved the pink and blue towels in the bathroom. The service was great. The reception people were extremely helpful to us and other guests. The breakfast had a large variety of very tasty food. The breakfast room was very elegant compared to other places we stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks a lot for the description you gave about our hotel, for us is fantastic to see that you liked our rooms, aour breakfast and all our services. I hope to welcome you again in florence at our hotel. Warm regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The American standards of service were very welcome in this hotel after a drive from Venice. The bedroom & bathroom were very nicely fitted out & clean and the buffet breakfast made it easy to eat on a gluten free diet.
Their standards of service really shone after we had left when I discovered my iPad wasn't with me. I was unable to use it in the room as wifi is only available in the lobby (my only complaint) so we used my husband's laptop with the ethernet cable. I put my iPad away so safely I didn't notice it when we were packing and couldn't remember where I had put it when we contacted them from our next hotel.
It wasn't found by the staff or subsequent guests so I had given up hope of seeing it again. But Daniele Benelli, the Assistant Manager, didn't give up and must have gone through the room with a fine-tooth comb as he located my iPad and then found a way to send it back to me in England.
He is a credit to his hotel and I hope his bosses are aware of his attention to detail and diligence.
I can't thank him enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review, it's a good thing for us to read that you appreciate your experience at our hotel and thanks again also for the compliments you made to our staff and to me personally. I hope to welcome you again at our hotel. Warm regards.
Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#69 of 411 in Florence
1,600 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 411 in Florence
827 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#114 of 411 in Florence
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,928 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#94 of 411 in Florence
216 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#181 of 411 in Florence
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatico

Property: Grand Hotel Adriatico
Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 9 | Alerghiera Adriatica Ala, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#124 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatico 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard international hotel, elegant and functional, managed by the historical hotelier family Caridi from Florence, this Hotel in Florence is a modern 4 star hotel in the historical centre of Florence that combines the great tradition of Florentine warm hospitality and personalized welcoming with efficiency and comfort of the best international hotels. Grand Hotel Adriatico is a 4 star hotel in an unique position, at only 200 metres from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and within a 10 minute walk from Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo della Signoria, Galleria degli Uffizi and from all major Florence's touristic scene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing