We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Ranked #110 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is very close to the train station and we walked with our suitcases. It is also walking distance to shops, restaurants, the Ponte Vecchio and other attaractions. Staff were helpful and polite. The room was beautifully clean and well appointed with a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was really nice with a bath tub and shower and plenty of towels. The attached restaurant is very nice with great food reasonably priced. We were very happy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

First thing thank you for your review which is really important for us and thaks also for the nice words you spent. I hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Adriatico. Best regards.
Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel via a short walk from the coach station, the Hotel exterior is not the best view, but as you enter the sliding doors its get better, warm welcome from the reception, very nice room on the third floor, not expecting a view, very clean, very bright,slept well, very good sized bathroom, only a small amount of drawer space.
we spent over a week in Florence, we found the staff very helpful and our room always ready when we arrived from our days out.
We used the bar and found a charming barman Sergio, he has been at the hotel for 50 years he's a real gem.
Breakfast was good, lot of staff on hand to help, no moans about food.
From the hotel the best street to use is Borgo Ognissanti, it get you everywhere, advoid Via Palazzuolo at night.

Room Tip: Room 330, looked over the car park, no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockleyroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sirs, thanks for the time you spent for your review and thanks also for the kind words about our hotel and our staff.; your opinion it's always important for us and in this case it confirm that our Guests appreciate our efforts. Hoping to see you again at our Hotel.
Best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Adriatico for 2 nights in mid July. We arrived at the train station in Florence and walked a short distance to the hotel. The hotel was very nice and clean. The rooms were very modern. The hotel is within walking distance to all the main Florence attractions. We found two of the front desk staff members to be very helpful. Both Mohammad and Alessia went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. We would stay here again when we visit Florence!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JLD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words, it's nice to see that you had a really good impression about our hotel. Your review is important for us to try to improve all our services. Hoping to see you again at our hotel please accept our best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in mid August. Very nice hotel, clean and tidy with helpful, friendly reception staff. Breakfast was good with a choice of cereals, egg & bacon, cold meats and fruit (or a bit of every thing if you're like me! BUT no full English breakfast. The hotel has a small bar with happy hour half price drinks (for 2 hours 5 - 7pm). A nice place to wind down after a hot day walking round Florence, which is lovely. Drinks always served with a bowl of peanuts and crisps. An older gentleman runs this bar and we found him always polite and courteous. We used the hotel restaurant once but thought the meal choice limited. We both had Salmon which was very good. No problem with the food quality.
The hotel is off a side street so no views, but a good location. Most of the places of interest within 20 minute walk. Piazza Michealangelo is about half an hours walk with a long set of steps at the end. However the views across Florence are well worth the effort. If you wish to climb the Leaning Tower of Pisa book through the hotel reception (half day tour).

Room Tip: If you fly to Pisa Airport you can take either the train or coach to Florence. We went to Florence b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, it's very important for us to see that you liked our hotel, all our staff and also all our services. We hope to welcome you again at our hotel. Best regards.
Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for three nights on the 1st floor room 108 with balcony. Terrible view but we didn't mind. The room was clean and had a good sized bed. The bathroom was very impressive with a good shower and plenty of towels and gels etc. Sheets were changed every day. Overall the hotel is a bit tired but is typical Itallian and what we expected. We slept really well despite the thin walls but we were lucky as our neighbours were quiet. The biggest letdown is the breakfast. There is nothing for British guests. Tinned fruit in syrup is unacceptable when the market 5 minutes away sells lovely fresh fruit. The fruit juice is terrible, mainly water. No cooked to order food was offered just some over cooked scrambled eggs and bacon, score two out of ten. Staff were friendly enough. Fantastic location for pretty much everything, trains, restaurants, tourist stuff all within an easy walk. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eeeeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

No wifi in the room only 40 minutes free
And
The conexion had to be in the lobby.
Location excellent, near to every important place in florence
The service was good and
The room siize was good and was clean.
My only complaint would be the wifi needed if you will stay more than
3 days

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilagrosAguilar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I arrived after 9pm by train in early August. Reading the map of Florence, with suitcases in tow and finding other couples on the nearby streets trying to find there hotels; we found Hotel Adriatico! I reserved a larger room and was surprised with a balcony on the first floor. Our room had the kingsize bed, all the tuscan touches and our room was very clean. The arm chair was worn. The tall cupboads had plenty of storage. Yes, our tub shower had the silly half glass door which leaked water onto the floor. Another towel to mop up the water. We stayed 3 nights with hopes of enjoying breakfast in the courtyard. But no, all seats were taken every morning. We ate inside with an adaquate breakfast of protein, fruits, and sweet breads. Every morning it was a challenge for the Italian waitstaff to acknowledge us for coffee. I almost felt completely ignored for simple coffee! Was the restaurant understaffed for breakfast? I personally found the coffee VERY bitter. And I enjoy my coffee black. I therefore, resorted to breakfast tea. The front desk was efficient with limited english; more business than friendly. My next visit to Florence, I will stay at another Best Western.

Room Tip: Do not choose the smallest room, opt for the next biggest. It is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadiesMantle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caporicevimento, Direttore at Grand Hotel Adriatico, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for spending time writing your review about your stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to read that for your next visit in Florence you will choose another Best Western hotel as normally our Clients recomend our hotel. I saw you had problem with your shower but did you inform our reception ?? They could send someone to fix the problem or they could change your room. You could inform us at the reception also for the problem you had in our breakfast hall as you could not be ignored by our staff and we could see what happened.
Best regards. Daniele Benelli Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#72 of 411 in Florence
1,699 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
C-Hotels Ambasciatori
C-Hotels Ambasciatori
#253 of 411 in Florence
174 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#92 of 411 in Florence
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#153 of 411 in Florence
2,086 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#89 of 411 in Florence
1,153 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#63 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatico

Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 9 | Alerghiera Adriatica Ala, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Florence
#70 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#84 Family Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $84 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatico 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard international hotel, elegant and functional, managed by the historical hotelier family Caridi from Florence, this Hotel in Florence is a modern 4 star hotel in the historical centre of Florence that combines the great tradition of Florentine warm hospitality and personalized welcoming with efficiency and comfort of the best international hotels. Grand Hotel Adriatico is a 4 star hotel in an unique position, at only 200 metres from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and within a 10 minute walk from Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo della Signoria, Galleria degli Uffizi and from all major Florence's touristic scene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing