We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - North American style with Tuscan accents”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Ranked #103 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel - North American style with Tuscan accents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. Friendly staff, good room with a clean bathroom.The hotel is very well situated - about a 7min. walk to Ponte Vecchio and about 10min walk to the Duomo along with good restaurants. The room had a small fridge that could accomodate a bottle or 2 for yourself. (stocked with hotel condiments), laminate flooring and comfortable bed. Staff happily arranged a taxi to the airport and packed a boxed breakfast for our early departure. The only downside was paying for internet access - $5 half hour - there was a 24 rate but don't recall the cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_Bionda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    808
    196
    41
    22
See reviews for
261
752
51
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

this is a Best Western hotel and was the most American of the hotels we stayed at in our recent trip to Paris and Italy. It was also the most expensive but had many amenities. Rooms were spacious, clean, and very well-decorated in a Tuscan theme. Laminate hardwood floors looked lovely but the downside was that one could hear chairs scraping on the floor of the room above which in our case was relatively early in the morning. Lovely breakfast and happy hour in the bar from 5 - 7 pm. 20 minute walk to the Duomo and the Uffizi gallery so very central. 5 to 10 minute walk to the train station, and 2 blocks to the Arno river.

Service was sometimes very good, sometimes less so dependent on who one asked for assistance at the reception desk. Service was very attentive and friendly in the restaurant during breakfast, less so in the bar. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Nice hotel with great position. All the the attractions in walking distance.
Good choice for breakfast, nice clean rooms and very friendly staff.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bura74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights. Has all that you would be expect from a 4 star hotel, neat and clean, standard services.
On the day of arrival, had an issue with dripping heating rods but was happy to see it fixed in 10 mins of being reported. Decently sized bathroom but average size room.
Dinner at the hotel resturant was ok. Standard compliementary breafast.
Only shortcoming was that this hotel lacked the Florentine touch in its furniture and decor and was a standard 4-star hotel...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We were in Florence for a night and we needed a place near the train station to catch an early trip to Venice. We booked grand hotel adriatico for this reason and we were not wrong in our choice.

The hotel is only about five minutes walking from the station. The direction given by the hotel when we booked is accurate. I love the modern decor of the room which seemed like newly renovated. Although the room is not big compared to American standards, it was spacious enough for two people. I would have loved if they provided a dental kit as we expect from a chain like best western, there was none. It seems that this is now the trend in almost all hotels in Europe in the 3 to 4 * categories. In our almost three week travel in Europe staying in seven hotels, only one hotel in Izmir turkey, a boutique hotel, provided this traveller's necessity.

Breakfast was ample and the selection varied. Yes I would stay in this hotel again

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank b0h0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wife and I stayed here second week in April,2012. Weather was iffy at times, but certainly no fault of the hotel.

Room was decent sized, but a little expensive for all the bigger it was. But then, that's Europe. It was very clean, as was the bathroom. Service was conducted daily, no complaints there.

Breakfast was very good. Nice setting, very goor wait staff that were very attentive and polite.

We used the desk staff to help us in getting Uffizi and Accademia tickets. Convenient, but you pay a huge premium for this service. if you have the time, get your own tickets.

Like a previous reviewer said, this is kind of an unsavory neighborhood. There are lots of, well, "funny folks" hanging around at night outside. Some foreign types, some I think were local gangsta wannabe's. This was the only place in Europe that my wife would not go out by herself, and she's pretty adventurous. I wouldnot discourage you from staying here, as the facility is very nice, just be aware of your surroundings, keep your valuables close, and you should be fine.

Room Tip: If it'sabsolutely necessary, there'sa laundromat just next door. But, being a laundromat ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottrz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 4/9/12-4/13/12. The room was very clean, comfortable, and well decorated though not very spacious, as expected. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a good start with a choice of cafe Americano, Espressos, or cappuccinos. It's a full breakfast in a nice dinning room setting to get your day started. The hotel is located 2 long blocks from the termini so taxi is not required, and it's about 15 minutes walk to Ponte Vecchio. A liitle away from the main scenes but can be a bonus at times. The neighborhood at night is a different story. There seems to be quite a bite of squanderers in the area after 8 but we didn't feel threaten by them though it might not feel comforting strolling around after dinner. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who don't mind doing a bit of walking. And if you decide to stay here, you can eat at Ristorante Cento Poveri along via Spada, less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel. They have the best food hands down. I'm still dreaming about their food now that we're back in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvLampredotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#203 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#171 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#107 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Adriatico

Property: Grand Hotel Adriatico
Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 9 | Alerghiera Adriatica Ala, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Florence
#63 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#117 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#124 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Adriatico 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard international hotel, elegant and functional, managed by the historical hotelier family Caridi from Florence, this Hotel in Florence is a modern 4 star hotel in the historical centre of Florence that combines the great tradition of Florentine warm hospitality and personalized welcoming with efficiency and comfort of the best international hotels. Grand Hotel Adriatico is a 4 star hotel in an unique position, at only 200 metres from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and within a 10 minute walk from Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo della Signoria, Galleria degli Uffizi and from all major Florence's touristic scene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Adriatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing