We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Room was wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #65 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Garden Room was wonderful”
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We thought this hotel was good value for the location. We were given the Garden Room (#505) which is a two-story, very private and quiet room overlooking the garden. The breakfast was good - wide selection of pastries, cereals, cheeses, meats. The location is very central - we had a car (which you really don't want in Florence) and had trouble getting to the hotel because the one-way street changes direction at some point and we always managed to be at the wrong point. Apparently GPS systems don't work in Florence!

Room was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff were very helpful. Walking distance to Ponte Vecchio, the Duomo, restaurants and shopping. When we were there they were building a restaurant on-site, but I'm not sure when it is opening.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigate440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    599
    146
    39
    20
See reviews for
346
716
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We enjoyed this hotel very much. It was right around the corner from the train station and a short walk from all the major sites. The room was spacious and even had a private porch with table and chairs. The hotel staff also reserved tickets for us to a couple of the museums. The restaurant within the hotel was pretty good and served a good breakfast in the morning. There is also a bar located in the hotel where we ended each day with a cocktail or cappuccino.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank TimandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We were booked into the B&H Club hotel. When we arrived at the B&H it was dirty and very unpleasant. We walked around the neighbourhood and found the Rivoli. The staff were helpfull and welcoming. As tired travellers we needed a lsanctuary. They provided it. They showed us a room in advance of us booking in. The room was outstanding. We stayed at the Rivoli for three nights. The room was excellent, very clean. The breakfast was very good every day. Most of all, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We were on a business trip to Florence and had been booked into, and stayed the night at another hotel but had to move as our first hotel had a bed bug infestation!!

We managed to find rooms in the Rivoli and were welcomed there with open arms by the incredible reception staff.

The hotel is clean, nicely decorated, has good amenities and is centrally located. It is a fantastic situation for the train station, conference centre as well as all the great sights in Florence . All the staff were extremely polite, friendly and very very helpful.
The breakfast was lovely with a terrific selection of bread, pastries, cooked breakfast items, fruit and beverages.

There is also a nice bar area where drinks are served quite late into the night.

We didn't get to try the pool as our original hotel didn't have one and we hadn't brought our swim wear.
It wouldn't have mattered if we had because our luggage (care of Air France!!) was missing during our entire stay , only finally turning up 3 hours before we departed!!
This was where the reception staff came into their own. They all worked incredibly hard making phone call after phone call to Air France and Pisa luggage handling to try to track down our cases. They could not have been more helpful or understanding, even though we took up a huge amount of their time. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

I would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — liked everything!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItaliophileAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Booked the Rivoli for a spur of the moment trip to Italy with 2 nights in Florence. With kids in tow we needed two rooms. Sadly, I did not recall I stayed at the Rivoli in 1997. Little has changed since then. The decor tired in '97, is exhusted in 2008. More importantly, the filthy carpet throughout and the moldy bathrooms need a good cleaning.

The train station location was central, if a little seedy.

The boys, 14 and 11, were happy with the whirlpool and the included breakfast was a savings.

Try to book someplace else. I popped in at the Alba Palace across the street to check availability and price, they were fully booked. If the rooms are as nice as the lobby I'd give the place a chance.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravelitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This was a really small but cute hotel that looked like a converted pensione ( which it was). Even though the bedroom was small and we got two twin beds, when we specified queen, the balcony was really quaint and the shower was awesome. It had it's own quirks but over all, for the price and location, we agreed we would definitely stay here again. By the way, the staff was really nice too.

  • Liked — location, shower, balcony
  • Disliked — the two twin beds pushed together
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank costafragola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Very nice hotel nicely situated next to all the sites and the train station.The staff were very friendly and we got a free welcome drink on arrival. The room was spotless and spacious and the a/c worked perfectly. Breakast wasn't great but no worse than any other we ate in Italy. Nice little bar as well. Would reccomend a stay here no prob

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoochisonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 421 in Florence
1,431 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
1,853 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#68 of 421 in Florence
1,575 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#103 of 421 in Florence
1,503 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing