We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #70 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel room was our least favorite during our Italy trip. Our room was downstairs and smelled musty like a basement. The room was on the smaller size and didn't feel overly clean. The best part was a private walk out terrace. Staff was nice as well and made great restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

After staying at this hotel three years ago and writing a review for Trip Advisor that we would return to Florence just for this hotel, we did just that! We requested and received our same room (405), and our stay here was as enjoyable as the first. The location near the train station was perfect for facilitating easy day trips. Staff is helpful, the breakfast buffet is delicious with a good array of choices, and the breakfast room staff always cheerful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and large, with a large bath and large closet. Entry to this particular room does involve stairs, which we didn't really mind, even though we're in our 70's. The room was worth the minor inconvenience. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 405 in the "annex" above the hot tub is excellent and quiet - with a "private&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in September. Our lovely room had a small balcony overlooking a charming courtyard. Staff were very helpful and managed to secure tickets to local galleries and attractions. Breakfast was extensive and of high quality. Coffee excellent.

Location was perfect and only a few minutes walk to the Duomo and other attractions. An easy walk to the station. Thankful for the laundry across the street. There are two good bottle shops / mini mart in the same street for small purchases. Many good restaurants at good prices close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJP223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location is Excellent: walking distance from the train station and major attractions; self service laundry is just across the road; excellent restaurant in-house.

Room is clean and comfortable. Ground level public area has good atmosphere and reflects that history of the location. The room is normal business hotel kind of style. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towkaylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Not much to look at from the outside, on a typically busy street, but very nice once through the door. The hotel opens up into a couple of quiet courtyards and a small garden. Our room (street facing) was noisy at night with the window open, and the aircon wasn't cool enough to have the windows closed, even in September. A few minute's walk from the National photography museum, which was a welcome break from the churches and sites of historic interest. An easy 10 minute walk to The Duomo and other sights. Nice room, bathroom, and a lovely breakfast. Recommended!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank cumbrian1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The only good thing we can say about this hotel is the location. Very close to bus station and easy walk to the rest of the city. We did not get the free wi-fi that was advertised we had to pay 5 euro a day for very poor quality. The hotel is old and not vintage but circa 1980's shabby calico. The beds felt like worn out hard doors. The bath was shabby. The hotel is very very noisy you can hear every one in every room, hall and court yard. The air conditioner has a lock on it and won't get very cool then shuts off and you have to reset every 3 minutes to maintain temp or open windows to smoky noisy courtyard. The free breakfast had a lot to choose but was just ok on taste. The " American coffee" is really Sanka so be warned. Thats like saying Tang is orange juice. The staff was pleasant but not overly helpful. The room did have a lot of space but bath was tiny damp and cramped. Will no stay here again. Wanted to use the hot tub/pool and the temperature was cold for a hot tub and warm for pool not sure what it was supposed to be.

Room Tip: Walk down the street and pick something else there were plenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
I'm really sorry that you didn't like our room # 222, it's a room that many other cleints like and appeciate for the quietness seen that this room is facing the garden, in this case you could ask us to change the room as we have 80 rooms and they are all different one to the other .
Probably for this inconvenient, we have not been able to let you appreciate all our services, and I'm hoping you will give us a second chance and the possibility of letting you appreciate our house and services as many other guests do.
Sorry again for noth matching your expectations,
Best regards and Arrivederci !
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved our stay here. Very close to Railway Station and Bus Station. We enjoyed walking to all the places of interest in Florence from our hotel, thanks to its central location. Very good bath room, spacious compared to other hotels in Italy we stayed. The breakfast was sumptuous.
Only problem we had was that the Wifi not available in the room.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#107 of 410 in Florence
1,629 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#93 of 410 in Florence
875 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 410 in Florence
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,706 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 410 in Florence
2,027 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#60 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $94 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing