We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional hotel with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #66 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Functional hotel with a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days this past week. Not in a touristy area but short walking distance to sites and restaurants. Staff is friendly and conversant in English. On first night my wife woke up with bites on her hands. The second night I too woke up with bites on hands ans shoulders. They did not itch built were small red welts. Hotel front desk were concerned but said they were Mosquitos. I'm not to sure of that since they did not itch. The breakfast buffet was decent and hand any choices. Most of the folks staying there seemed to be part of tour groups.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments, I'm Daniele, the person you spoke with that morning and I'm glad to confirm you that; after speaking with you, I went up to your room with the Housekeeper and completely undress the room. The main suspect in those cases is that room is "occupied" by other insects, but in your room there was no other than mosquitos. Infact room has been sprayed and in the second morning you didn't report anymore the problem.
Our hotel follows a disinfection program to prevent (as much as possible), bedbugs and other insects but unfortyunately in this period, when temperature in the house is higher than outside mosquitos comes inside and we can spray the room just as we are shure that clients are note allergic.
Hoping to welcome you again at Rivoli, best regards.
Daniele Torrini - Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    599
    147
    39
    20
See reviews for
348
717
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location is very good, walking distance of the main attractions, and in a fairly quiet street.
Reception is efficient and welcoming, as are all the staff. But a couple of big areas detract from this hotel .Firstly it is just shabby... Carpets on stairs are old and grubby, bedrooms (we had classic rooms) are dark, small and dull (though beds are comfortable) Secondly breakfast...barely acceptable for a 3star ..and just not even close for a 4star.We did not even venture into the hot tub as it looked so uninviting.This hotel has excellent staff...just needs to invest some of those dollars on bringing the decor up to acceptable three star...and maybe even 4 if they really go for it.

Room Tip: Corner rooms looked larger and some superior rooms(extra) have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHS551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very nice room. Helpful staff and good breakfast. They also offer different types of pillows! I liked that a lot! Good location. I won't say extraordinary but really can't find any real faults unless you consider the bed was hard but all of the beds were in Italy. We are just spoiled americanswe would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latina, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Location is very good, since it's no more than 10 min walking distance to the city center. The rooms are nice and well furnished, cleaned and quiet...at least mine! (Some members of my group told me that the rooms facing to the Main Street, via Della Scala, were a bit loud. But not only the common rooms were super beautiful but also the jacuzzi was a plus!! Last but not least, the staff is kind and gentle, especially the waiters of the excellent restaurant Benedicta, who were always smiling and helpful!! I loved them all! Thank you Eljona! You made me start the days in the best possible way!!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalla1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for the really nice comment you shared with us.
We try always to do our best to give our clients a nice stay with us. Service is something that make the difference in the thousand's Hotels you may find and I'm proud of all my staff.
I printed out you comment and passed to Eli and the rstaurant staff that thanks you so much.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Rivoli, Arrivederi at the Rivoli.
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed one night at the Rivoli.

Overall, the room as well as the bathroom (#125) was surprisingly spacious, but the decor and the furniture were very dated.

As noted, on the positive side, the room was really large with a very spacious 'living room' that included a safe, flat-screen TV, pants-presser and large clothes closet; the bathroom was similarly large and well equipped with a bidet, bath tub and separate shower stall with multiple water-jets. The bedroom was generally fine with a clean and comfortable bed and flat-screen TV (although with limited channel selection).

On the negative side, the decor and furniture are dated late 70s - early 80s. While, as noted above, the bathroom was overall excellent - tiles are a very dated grey color. Also on the negative side, the room which faced a small alle- like street was extremely noisy and I was awoken several times during the night. Better sound-proofing would have been very much appreciated. Finally, it was very difficult to find electrical outlets to use in the room to recharge electronics; I had to search high and low for a working outlet, and finally had to unplug a lamp.

Because we had an early flight, we skipped breakfast, but one is offered.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel generally, but it seemed clean and tidy, but again the decor could use some updating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidOttawa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that our hotel didn't match with your expectations, but since the hotel is a fourteen century building, we decided for a classical understated design for the rooms.
Concerning the noise, the side street where the room faces is usually very quiet but that specific evening there where groups of people doing some noise and the police has been called to try and keep the situation calm (with not that much results).
Hoping to welcome you again at the Rivoli (where we also have rooms on the garden which is for shure quiter) I apologise and send you all my best regards.
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Almost everything about this hotel was delightful: our room (a twin, junior suite), the lounge, the bar, the HUGE jacuzzi (which we had all to ourself in the afternoons) and, of course, the location. Easy to find when you stumble out of the train station in a foreign city, and easy to find your way back to after a day's sightseeing. A couple of OK restaurant nearby, but for the good ones you have to walk a few more blocks. But the mosquitos! We had a room on the third floor, and if we had the window open, the room was soon filled with tiny, aggressive, bloodthirsty mosquitos. When we closed the window and had the aircondition on, we got the sneezes, so it was a question of choosing which was worse. This was at the end of September. On the negative side: the charge of 5 euros per day for a very weak (sometimes non-existent) internet signal. Breakfast was of the ultra-sweet variety, it was difficult to find healthy choices. And the coffee for breakfast was the worst we had in all Italy. Even so, we are happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice comments on our hotel ! Unfortunately the very hot summer and the warm autumn we are having, gives mosquitos very good chances!!
Concerning the coffee you said it was the worst, I inform you that I already informed th F&B Manager in order to check and provide. I hope to welcome you again at the Rivoli and offer you a "good cup of coffee".
Thank you for giving us your opinion and Arrivederci at the Rivoli.
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel very near train and bus station. Nice street, plenty of restaurants and good places to eat nearby. Very close to everything. Room was quite modern and very clean. I accidentally dropped a coin below the TV stall, and when moved it to get my coin, found lots of hidden dust. Not a big deal, but just because i saw it, i have to report it. Lovely breakfast, abundance of cakes, croissants and pastries, as well as cold meats, scrumbled eggs, bacon and sausages. Fresh fruit salad as well as fresh fruit available for breakfast and throughout the day. Staff very polite and helpfull, service at par with some 5 star hotels i have been in italy. The outdoor jacuzzi was a plus, water always warm.
Now the 2 issues that brought the stars down my total review stars to 3:
- in the middle of the day, the hot water turned brown, making it impossible for me to get a hot shower. When i reported it, it was fixed in approximately 30 minutes, but i was in a rush to go to a meeting, so ended up getting a cold shower, which i didnt like. And no apologies offered by the staff, although when i reported i was told 'thank you', which i really liked.
- my room, 104, had 1 window on a small courtyard, with a very bad smell of sewer (fogna, or toilet pipes smell) coming from the courtyard, every time i tried to open the window. Not so pleasant.

All in all, i would reccommend this hotel, but would rather avoid rooms with windows on a small backgarden.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104 or similar rooms with windows on small backgarden, as they get sewer smell when openi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31gs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#68 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#104 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing