We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room, but dated and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #69 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious Room, but dated and noisy”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed one night at the Rivoli.

Overall, the room as well as the bathroom (#125) was surprisingly spacious, but the decor and the furniture were very dated.

As noted, on the positive side, the room was really large with a very spacious 'living room' that included a safe, flat-screen TV, pants-presser and large clothes closet; the bathroom was similarly large and well equipped with a bidet, bath tub and separate shower stall with multiple water-jets. The bedroom was generally fine with a clean and comfortable bed and flat-screen TV (although with limited channel selection).

On the negative side, the decor and furniture are dated late 70s - early 80s. While, as noted above, the bathroom was overall excellent - tiles are a very dated grey color. Also on the negative side, the room which faced a small alle- like street was extremely noisy and I was awoken several times during the night. Better sound-proofing would have been very much appreciated. Finally, it was very difficult to find electrical outlets to use in the room to recharge electronics; I had to search high and low for a working outlet, and finally had to unplug a lamp.

Because we had an early flight, we skipped breakfast, but one is offered.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel generally, but it seemed clean and tidy, but again the decor could use some updating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidOttawa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments, I'm sorry that our hotel didn't match with your expectations, but since the hotel is a fourteen century building, we decided for a classical understated design for the rooms.
Concerning the noise, the side street where the room faces is usually very quiet but that specific evening there where groups of people doing some noise and the police has been called to try and keep the situation calm (with not that much results).
Hoping to welcome you again at the Rivoli (where we also have rooms on the garden which is for shure quiter) I apologise and send you all my best regards.
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    614
    149
    40
    23
See reviews for
363
741
53
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Almost everything about this hotel was delightful: our room (a twin, junior suite), the lounge, the bar, the HUGE jacuzzi (which we had all to ourself in the afternoons) and, of course, the location. Easy to find when you stumble out of the train station in a foreign city, and easy to find your way back to after a day's sightseeing. A couple of OK restaurant nearby, but for the good ones you have to walk a few more blocks. But the mosquitos! We had a room on the third floor, and if we had the window open, the room was soon filled with tiny, aggressive, bloodthirsty mosquitos. When we closed the window and had the aircondition on, we got the sneezes, so it was a question of choosing which was worse. This was at the end of September. On the negative side: the charge of 5 euros per day for a very weak (sometimes non-existent) internet signal. Breakfast was of the ultra-sweet variety, it was difficult to find healthy choices. And the coffee for breakfast was the worst we had in all Italy. Even so, we are happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice comments on our hotel ! Unfortunately the very hot summer and the warm autumn we are having, gives mosquitos very good chances!!
Concerning the coffee you said it was the worst, I inform you that I already informed th F&B Manager in order to check and provide. I hope to welcome you again at the Rivoli and offer you a "good cup of coffee".
Thank you for giving us your opinion and Arrivederci at the Rivoli.
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel very near train and bus station. Nice street, plenty of restaurants and good places to eat nearby. Very close to everything. Room was quite modern and very clean. I accidentally dropped a coin below the TV stall, and when moved it to get my coin, found lots of hidden dust. Not a big deal, but just because i saw it, i have to report it. Lovely breakfast, abundance of cakes, croissants and pastries, as well as cold meats, scrumbled eggs, bacon and sausages. Fresh fruit salad as well as fresh fruit available for breakfast and throughout the day. Staff very polite and helpfull, service at par with some 5 star hotels i have been in italy. The outdoor jacuzzi was a plus, water always warm.
Now the 2 issues that brought the stars down my total review stars to 3:
- in the middle of the day, the hot water turned brown, making it impossible for me to get a hot shower. When i reported it, it was fixed in approximately 30 minutes, but i was in a rush to go to a meeting, so ended up getting a cold shower, which i didnt like. And no apologies offered by the staff, although when i reported i was told 'thank you', which i really liked.
- my room, 104, had 1 window on a small courtyard, with a very bad smell of sewer (fogna, or toilet pipes smell) coming from the courtyard, every time i tried to open the window. Not so pleasant.

All in all, i would reccommend this hotel, but would rather avoid rooms with windows on a small backgarden.

Room Tip: Avoid room 104 or similar rooms with windows on small backgarden, as they get sewer smell when openi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31gs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent four nights there and were delighted. The rooms are large and clean. The staff was helpful and seemed to care. It is close to the train station and a very short walk to most of the places of interest. It is not far from the river or the museums. The breakfasts were excellent and the servers very good. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maconthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Florence for a weekend away from Rome. We were hesitant to stay in a "chain" hotel, afraid that it would lack the European ambiance we were seeking. We were thrilled with the hotel and our room. The hotel was formerly a monestary and had many unique and beautiful architectural elements. We had a spacious "Superior Room". It had a separate sitting area, a king sized bed, ample closet space, a stand up shower and tub and a lovely outdoor private terrace. The hotel also had a bar onsight where drinks and ice were readily available.
The hotel was well located, just a short walk from the train station and San Lorenzo market area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. English was spoken by all staff we encountered.
The only negative comment that I could make would be that the bed was two singles put together to make a king. This results in a split in the middle of the bed but the bedding was soft and there was a pillow menu to assure personalized, comfortable rest.
There is a lovely restaurant onsight where we enjoyed a hot, breakfast buffet. The hotel also had an outdoor hot tub and a garden terrace where you could dine or have drinks.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the outdoor patio/garden, rather than a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good location, less than 10 minutes by cab to train station and many local tourist attractions within a 30 minute walk. Laundromat, bank and convenience store close by. Room was beautifully decorated and included a couch. Very nice bathroom. Beautiful breakfast area with a good selection of items. Very pleasant staff. Room had a safe and internet access could be purchased at a reasonable cost. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shutterbug_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to Europe and part of that was 6 night in September 2012 at the Rivoli we had an inside room with balconay overlooking the court yard a great spot. We arrived by train and found the place easy to find and close. The staff were very helpfull in every way with recommendations for eating, places to go (we had a long list beforehand though) and how to get there. We found the room to be just right very clean and everytghing you would want. The breakfast was very good and to be able to sit outside in the courtyard added that little bit extra. We dined at the restraunt at the hotel a number of times with a great front of house man and very good food. We loved our stay hera ane would recommend it to anyone and we would definatly stay here agaain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srlisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#50 of 411 in Florence
1,928 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 411 in Florence
1,626 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 411 in Florence
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 411 in Florence
1,615 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#41 of 411 in Florence
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing