We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cheapest, but a great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Croce di Malta Hotel
Ranked #171 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay. The room was huge and the bathroom was much larger than I would have expected for something in town. Location is great-close to the main train station -Santa Maria Novella. You can practically see Santa Maria Novella church from this hotel. Also breakfast was nice. Assistance was great. I accidentally left my pants and shirt hanging in the wardrobe and came back and the helpful assistant at the desk had already retrieved them for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 778 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

we were a little worried after some of the reviews but very happy when we arrived
courteous perfect english spoken a gentleman to take our bags to the room
lovely room 315 balcony over looking the back courtyard
Two very comfy beds extra pillows no problem
good sized bathroom all in all very comfortable

the two lifts are always there it seemed when we came in

the rooms were cleaned spotlessly and the day i was ill in bed the young lady came and did the bathroom for us at my husbands request without disturbing me

the dining rooms are fine as too, as you are not there at the same time as the large groups of young ladies from several lands

the main coach tours seem to breakfast at 8 so we avoided that time

I asked for fruit and a fresh fruit salad was served
i also asked for some bacon and got a little plate freshly cooked
the coffee was fine just use an expresso one then add the hot water pour if not lots of teas and hot chocolate

the staff worked hard and would always go and get things if they had not had time to stock up
not as big a choice as many 4 stars

we didn't eat in as there were many restaurants around, we loved the Grotto of Leo
out the door turn left down the main street about 6 mins walk

we used taxis to and from the station as we had big cases and it was pouring with rain
about 7 or 8 for the trip

10 mins walk to the railway station and the buses too

the round trips are still running 12 one way and 13 the other
we bought 18 euro passes for all buses for the week

the position is so good for strolling around

its always easy to get back to the hotel and there are buses which can take you further away to start the day out

we took trains to sienna and a local town too

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicia71lunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel was very close to the train station, and to the city center. We had a very good experience here. The staff seemed to be the nicest we encountered in Italy. Our room was quaint, of average size, very comfortable. It was facing the back of the hotel, which is a wonderful view. Well, all of Florence seems to have a wonderful view. The breakfast in the morning was average.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassiegail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is a 3-5 minute walk with luggage from the train station, which is also the pick-up and drop-off spot for the airport bus shuttle. Very close to the major sites as well. The street is a small side street, but can get noisy I imagine especially during the high season if you have a room street-side. All of our rooms varied in size and bathroom types, but all were clean, tidy, simply but nicely furnished. The staff was friendly and very helpful with all of our business needs, including meetings held in the hotel. The breakfast was good, with a variety of foods. Two minuses were,1) given the original fixtures of the hotel, the doors and windows are rather sound-porous; fortunately the we and the other guests in the hotel were considerate of that; 2) our dinner the first night in the hotel was pricey for the small portions and medoicre quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InUrlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Convenient location close to the railway station - the hotel's tired decor and mediocre meals are saved by the provision of a swimming pool which is just what you need after doing Florence in the August heat! I'm with a previous reviewer....request a room which overlooks the pool - ours did and also had a balcony which was a lovely place to sit in the evening.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at Croce di Malta with a Trafalgar tour group on 25 and 26 December 2012. I loved the hotel - the decor is authentic and classy, and the location cannot be better!

But the real compliment goes to the front desk staff and Sig. Francesco Brogi (General Manager) who went to the trouble of forwarding a Christmas card to me that arrived at the hotel long after our departure. They even included a very kind letter and wishes for the new year, which I thought was very nice. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: All rooms are different sizes and shapes, some can be quite small, but the hotel has ambience and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is easy walking distance from the train station, on the far side of Santa Maria Novella. The buffet breakfast was average, and room, tired, with trim in the bathroom in need of a paint job. Request a room on the back which overlooks a pool. Ours was on the front with much carousing in the street, and it seemed to be an echo chamber. Closing the shutters made no difference. However most sites of note in Florence were fairly close, once we figured out the way the streets ran. The staff was also very helpful, and as noted by others, there were lots of good places to eat in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not front on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#83 of 409 in Florence
530 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#49 of 409 in Florence
2,020 reviews
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#21 of 409 in Florence
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Palace Hotel
#158 of 409 in Florence
334 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#69 of 409 in Florence
1,671 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#109 of 409 in Florence
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croce di Malta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croce di Malta Hotel

Address: Via della Scala 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $111 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Croce di Malta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Croce di Malta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croce Di Malta Florence
Hotel Croce Di Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing