We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de La Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de La Ville
Ranked #61 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
santa fe
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Perfect hotel in perfect location. Spacious room and bath that was well appointed. Staff was helpful (great restaurant recommendation around the corner for our first day, Trattoria al Trebbio). Amazing breakfast buffet of high quality products.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tansy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your perferct comment and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence. Your review exactly got our strong point; a perfect location, spacious rooms, bathroom well appointed, helpful staff and an "...amazing breakfast buffet of high quality products".

Looking forward to welcoming you back as our special guest,

Best regards from Florence

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    215
    47
    16
    13
See reviews for
169
353
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent 9 nights in this fantastic hotel, and we loved it. The hotel itself is very comfortable - the room was spacious, the bed was large and the bathroom was lovely.
The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb, with a lot of choices available, and the bar has happy hour every evening with a complimentary buffet.
The hotel is situated in the centre of town, with the Duomo only 5 minutes walk away. It is also within walking distance of all the major museums and galleries, and the river.
We even caught the train to Pisa for the day and saw the cathedral complex, including the leaning tower.
Overall, we would highly recommend the Hotel de la Ville if you are considering a holiday in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miche S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen our property for your long stay in Florence and we have really appreciated your very nice review.
Your experience shared on this website is the best advertising we could have. Thanks again and we hope you will come back to Florence in the future and visit us again.

Our best regards

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
248 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked by my agent as the nearby Beacci Tornabuoni got my bookings mixed up. Very professional reception but room was small but comfortable. Well appointed furnishings & great location in the swanky Via di Tornabuoni. Excellent buffet breakfast for those wanting to get fortified before a day of shopping & sightseeing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for having stayed with us and for sharing your experience on the Tripadvisor community.
We are glad that you have appreciated the competence and the willingness of our staff as well as the breakfast buffet and the perfect location of the hotel.
We eagerly look forward to your return and in case don't hesitate to contact us direcltly in order to offer you the special treatment we normally reserve to our loyal guests.

Best regards from Florence

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a few days in a junior suite on the second floor facing Via Tornabuoni. The room was large, lovely and in very good condition. It had high ceilings probably 14 feet) and double windows which were fairly effective in keeping out the street noise. However, if you are a light sleeper, traveling with ear plugs is always a good idea.

The hotel is very well located close to the duomo, but fortunately there are not hordes of people in this spot as there are in many other parts of the historic district.

The buffet breakfast is vey nicely done with a good selection of fresh fruit, some vegetables, sliced meats, breads, scrambled eggs, sausage, and fruit juices. They even had caffeinated coffee which was delicious. The female and male Italian servers are a little surly, but not a real problem if you keep your sense of humor.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Some
previous reviews had some complaints here, but I found no problems at all. Quite the contrary.

The newly installed wifi was working just fine. Good reception in our room, fast, and no problems.

There were a couple of problems which some previous reviewers complained a lot about but in my opinion were actually pretty minor. I think that the hotel's management would be wise to spend a small amount of money to make two changes. The glass partitions at the side of the shower could be replaced with larger ones to keep water from splashing out of the shower. But guests can easily deal with this issue by putting their used towel on the floor next to the shower. At least in our room there were no opaque curtains or shades on the windows. I think those could be easily added so that the room could be darker at night and in the morning.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is high quality (certainly a 4+ stars), and I would definitely stay there again.



Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank InsideScooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

we have just read your review and we thank you very much for your nice words.
We are very glad to know that you got so impressed about the beauty and comfort of the Junior Suite Michelangelo and its view on Piazza Antinori and the facade of the baroque church of San Michele and Gaetano.
Also we wish to thank you for the positive comment regarding our staff and this, believe me, is the best compliment an Hotel Manager can receive and I will be happy to share it with the entire team.
At the same time we will take your little advice to heart to improve even more our hotel, its services and its staff, where necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel De La Ville as our precious guests.

Our nicest regards

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. Excellent location, excellent breakfast, nice wine and treats in the afternoon. Staff was terrific. Room was HUGE and nice! Lovely. Walked to everything. Boboli Gardens are absolutely not worth seeing. Nothing there and it's pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honored to read your great review about Hotel De La Ville. We are proud to have comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and bar service and a “terrific” staff.
Thanks for your time sharing your experience with us and with the community of Tripadvisor.
We hope you'll have a second chance to enjoy again a perfect stay at our hotel and to discover even more the beauty of Florence.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With our kindest regards,

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We couldn't have been any happier than we were staying here! We loved the location, the staff was helpful, informative, pleasant, tolerant and attentive to anything we needed from the concierge to Jimmy/James our waiter at breakfast who would personalize our cappuccinos at breakfast in the morning!!! During our holiday, we stayed at 3 JBD hotels and this was the finest! It had the best breakfast buffet, rooms were spacious with great beds, big closets, and room enough to change your mind! Tickets were easily acquired for the museums and our driver very experienced when taking us to Sienna and San Giaminanno- his english was so good we were glad not to have a guide!!! Definitely stay at Hotel de La Ville- you won't be disappointed. We wished all our hotels were on this level and look forward to going back!!! Gratzie, ciao!!

Room Tip: For a family of four, our room combination had two levels, four beds, and two baths! Spacious close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann415625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

"Best Hotel" - Such a wonderful prize ! We greatly thank you for wrinting such a nice review about your stay at Hotel De La Ville.
Indeed we are centrally located and we are glad you have appreciated so much all our facilities and servicies; the best breakfast buffet you had during your trip, the spacious room with great beds. Also I will extend your appreciation of the staff to all the employees; they are the ones who daily make possible that the guests have an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet hotel.

Our kindest regards

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We chose Hotel de la Ville based on Trip Adviser comments and its location. It is perfect for easy access to attractions, shopping and restaurants. We flew into Pisa and caught the bus to Florence (6 euros although it was less because we booked on line) with a journey time of about an hour. We were dropped off at the station and walked to the hotel where we had a warm welcome. First impressions of the hotel were good and everything was so clean, including our double room. The condition of the décor suggested that there has been a recent refurbishment. The room was small but adequate and slippers were provided (in the drawer adjacent to the bed.) Noting that this is a four star hotel, toiletries were provided, but ladies, there is no body lotion. The wiring for the mirror lighting was well visible and the aircon was impossible to control so we slept with the window open. That was fine as it was so quiet. Breakfast choices were good and fresh every day, and the plates were refreshed as they emptied. The evening Happy Hour was fun with free canapés. Ahmed, the barman introduced us to Aperol spritzers – I think we left a little for you! We retraced our homeward journey without incident. We would be happy to recommend Hotel de la Ville to anyone, and we would also be pleased to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugwashahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#69 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de La Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Ville

Property: Hotel de La Ville
Address: Piazza Antinori 1 (Via Tornabuoni), 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#46 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de La Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de La Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Ville Hotel
De La Ville Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing