We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel”
Review of Hotel de La Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de La Ville
Ranked #69 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We couldn't have been any happier than we were staying here! We loved the location, the staff was helpful, informative, pleasant, tolerant and attentive to anything we needed from the concierge to Jimmy/James our waiter at breakfast who would personalize our cappuccinos at breakfast in the morning!!! During our holiday, we stayed at 3 JBD hotels and this was the finest! It had the best breakfast buffet, rooms were spacious with great beds, big closets, and room enough to change your mind! Tickets were easily acquired for the museums and our driver very experienced when taking us to Sienna and San Giaminanno- his english was so good we were glad not to have a guide!!! Definitely stay at Hotel de La Ville- you won't be disappointed. We wished all our hotels were on this level and look forward to going back!!! Gratzie, ciao!!

Room Tip: For a family of four, our room combination had two levels, four beds, and two baths! Spacious close...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann415625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guests,

"Best Hotel" - Such a wonderful prize ! We greatly thank you for wrinting such a nice review about your stay at Hotel De La Ville.
Indeed we are centrally located and we are glad you have appreciated so much all our facilities and servicies; the best breakfast buffet you had during your trip, the spacious room with great beds. Also I will extend your appreciation of the staff to all the employees; they are the ones who daily make possible that the guests have an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet hotel.

Our kindest regards

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de La Ville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 791 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We chose Hotel de la Ville based on Trip Adviser comments and its location. It is perfect for easy access to attractions, shopping and restaurants. We flew into Pisa and caught the bus to Florence (6 euros although it was less because we booked on line) with a journey time of about an hour. We were dropped off at the station and walked to the hotel where we had a warm welcome. First impressions of the hotel were good and everything was so clean, including our double room. The condition of the décor suggested that there has been a recent refurbishment. The room was small but adequate and slippers were provided (in the drawer adjacent to the bed.) Noting that this is a four star hotel, toiletries were provided, but ladies, there is no body lotion. The wiring for the mirror lighting was well visible and the aircon was impossible to control so we slept with the window open. That was fine as it was so quiet. Breakfast choices were good and fresh every day, and the plates were refreshed as they emptied. The evening Happy Hour was fun with free canapés. Ahmed, the barman introduced us to Aperol spritzers – I think we left a little for you! We retraced our homeward journey without incident. We would be happy to recommend Hotel de la Ville to anyone, and we would also be pleased to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugwashahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Family of 4 - 2 rooms stayed at the De La Ville for 2 nights in March 2014. The Hotel is very well located and is walking distance to most of the major sites.
Rooms are contemporary, wi fi and breakfast are included.
Service was good and we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back it is quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have recently returned from a short break at the Hotel de La Ville, Florence. The hotel was perfect in every way: location (7 minutes walk from train and bus station), extremely comfortable bed, friendly professional staff and best breakfasts ever. We especially enjoyed the 'happy hour' with complimentary finger buffet. Well done Hotel de La Ville, you truly deserve your 4 star rating. Highly recommended - don't miss this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guests,

thanks a lot for your really nice review; we are honoured to read such a wonderful sentence "The hotel was perfect in every way...".
We are glad you liked your comfortable room enjoying also the breakfast and our special "happy hour" at the bar.

We thank you for posting your opinion on Tripadvisor, the best word of mouth we could enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you back as our special guest,

Best regards from Florence

Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location just a few minutes walk from the Duomo and the river. Staff were very friendly helpful and attentive. The Happy Hour (in fact two hours) in the early evening in the bar was great, and included complimentary hors d'oeuvres which were delicious and Ahmed, the Barman, gave superb service. The rooms were large and spacious and extremely clean. We spent a four night break here and would certainly recommend the hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guests,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your precious feedback following your stay at our property.
Thanks for appreciating our excellent location and the cleanness and the spaciousness of our rooms. I ensure you I will extend your compliments for the bar service to our bar tender Ahmed for his "superb service".

It would be my distinct pleasure to personally welcome you back for your future holidays.

Our kindest regards


Hotel Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel was great, period.
Great service, great rooms, great buffet breakfast! Can't say enough about our experience here. To top it all off they upgraded our room to a beautiful two story suite. The upgrade was a result of nothing more than a gracious gesture on their part. We enjoyed many evenings in the hotel lounge where we were served by Ahmed Alaziz who was a great guy and who provided us with nothing but top notch service.
The hotel is located in the center of Florence within walking distance to all the sites as well as the train station.
Other hotels should take note of their great attention to service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

dear Guest

thank you for your comments on our hotel. we are happy you have appreciated the standard
of the rooms and also the good service of our staff.
we really hope we can welcome you again in Florence at the hotel de La Ville

Carlo Borghigiani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at Hotel De La Ville for 4 nights. The hotel is located in say the 5th Avenue or Beverly Hills of Florence. It is surrounded by very high end stores and a beautiful church across. The breakfast is great made fresh daily and there are a variety of choices to choose from. The rooms are large and elegant, as well as the lobby and bar area are comfortable and beautiful enough to just sit near the grand piano or fireplace while having a drink. The hotel offers a happy hour daily for guest with a variety of appetizers. The train station is just a few blocks away, within walking distance. The hotel is within walking distance to the Duomo and other museums including restaurants. The staff is great. Everyone working at Hotel De Ville from the front desk, to the bell guy, to the maid and bar tenders are very professional and pleasant at all times. I would definitely
recommend others to Hotel De La Ville and I myself will return back to this hotel in the future.

Note: Wi-fi is only available in the lobby. Must have a cable to your computer device if you wish to get it in your room as well as be computer literate to access it .

Room Tip: Book directly through hotel site to get better deals and incentives.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starrnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Direttore at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

dear Guest

thank for choosing the hotel de La Ville for your stay in Florence and for posting this excellent review.

we are particulary happy you have enjoyed the standard of the hotel and the service. the happy hour in the bar is again a great success and the atmsphere is really attractive.

since two weeks we have implemented the wi-fi system and therefore the signal is available
throughout the hotel, rooms included

we really hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again on you next visit .

Carlo Borghigiani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#78 of 411 in Florence
1,639 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#44 of 411 in Florence
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#63 of 411 in Florence
1,411 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,551 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 411 in Florence
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de La Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Ville

Address: Piazza Antinori 1 (Via Tornabuoni), 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#45 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#46 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $115 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de La Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de La Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Ville Hotel
De La Ville Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing