We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Michelangelo
Ranked #128 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff were the real highlight during our stay here. Throughout our stay they were nothing but professional, considerate and courteous. I also had the best welcome I've had in a long time, as they took time to talk us through all the sites the city had to offer.

The rooms themselves were neat and modern, and the bathroom was compact but very clean and well fitted. Similarly the breakfast didn't have a huge variety, but the range of breads and fruit on offer were of good quality.

The only thing I would change was that we had to pay for wifi in the rooms rather than it being free, but it didn't spoil our holiday. It's also a 15min walk from town for those that are looking for something more central, but it was good value and I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jak_Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 819 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my first TripAdvisor review, and I just had to write one for this hotel. My two friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and had the most amazing experience. The room was impeccable and comfortably fitted the 3 of us (3 single beds). The bathroom was nice and modern, and we got free internet in our rooms simply by checking in on Foursquare. The free breakfast was very nice (eggs, oatmeal, delicious nutella croissants, etc.), but what topped it all off was when I called to get a wake up call at 4am for my flight, the front desk took the initiative to ask if I wanted a to-go breakfast. I didn't even know that was possible, and I just really appreciate it when staff really think about your needs - Sure enough I got a to-go bag of fruit, yogurt, and crackers that helped make my early flight back home to the US less painful.

The location is a 15-20 minute stroll away from the heart of Florence, but we actually really enjoyed the walk along the river into the city center every day. HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is very good, well designed and with a good breakfast. The room was what we need with a great bathroom. Te location is also nice, not in the center (but public transportation works well in Firenze) but close to everywhere.
We really appreciate staying 3 nights there and enjoyinig the many attractions of Firenze.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Facirelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

They say they offer free internet but it is only in the lobby.
They say they offer cribs, but only in certain rooms. My daughter had to sleep between us on the double bed, they could provide us a crib on the second day.
They say there is no need to reserve a parking place but the hotel has only 10 parking lots, so we couldn't get one. They work with an external garage where they can keep the cars with the same rate (23 euro per night) but they charged us extra to bring cars back and forth.

Room Tip: contact them in advance if you need parking lot, crib or anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zama z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Slightly on the edge of the central action - and thank goodness for that - Florence in July/August really is wall-to-wall tourists (armies of large tour groups being your biggest inconvenience) so after a full day of exploring the unmissable historical centre and all its attractions whilst enduring the queues all in very hot conditions, your reward comes even as you make your way back to the hotel with quieter, wider streets.
The hotel was modern and our room (a quadruple) was very well laid out. The air conditioning was so effiecent and the beds so clean and comfortable. Robes and slippers and a spotless bathroom just added to the luxurious, efficient feel.
We loved breakfast. Bacon and eggs being the hot staple but there's an enormous range of meats, cheese, cake, fruit, yoghurt and fruits. Good coffee.
We stayed two nights and ate very well each morning. Plenty of agreeable choice for our two young teens to help themselves to as well. They also enjoyed hanging out in the arty lobby area browsing the design books and using the free wi-fi.
Walking into Florence using the path edging The Arno was an absolute delight.
I'd reccommend to others and also stay here again. Staff helped me when I realised I'd forgotten to print out a ticket confirmation and I also heard them helping numerous others with things like dinner reservations, taxi services etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrisArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is around 20 mins by foot away from Firenze SMN train station. It is quite far from major tourist attractions. The hotel is around 400 metres away from the river. The room interior is in modern style. Room size is adequate. In-room Lighting is very good. Careful about the free wi fi claim upon your reservation . It means you can connect to the internet only in hotel public area such as lounge where you are supposed to pay for at least a drink for seating. Else u can stand at the lobby. The max free wifi you can get ,though is only 30 mins with very limited download MB. If you want more minutes you are required to pay extra. Poor breakfast on choices and non welcoming restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We got upgraded on arrival so our review may be a bit biased. Room was clean, modern and had a comfortable bed. All staff were friendly even though at times they were clearly stressed. Wifi is free in lobby but not always working. Massage chair is free and highly recommended just don't overdo it!
Location is about 15 min walk to the city centre and 10 min walk to the train station. We got tram to and from station due to luggage which is 1.40 euros. It's only one stop and hotel is just across road.
Breakfast is good. Bacon, scrammbled eggs, fruit, pastries, yoghurt, juices, cereals.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugARplUm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 409 in Florence
1,122 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze Anglo American
NH Firenze Anglo American
#118 of 409 in Florence
1,369 reviews
AC Hotel Firenze
#162 of 409 in Florence
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Ambasciatori
c-hotels Ambasciatori
#302 of 409 in Florence
109 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#106 of 409 in Florence
774 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#101 of 409 in Florence
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Michelangelo

Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Florence
#77 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#113 Family Hotel in Florence
#124 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $97 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelangelo puts you at the heart of historical Florence.Our 119 hotel rooms have been recently refurbished in a chic, elegant, contemporary style. Conveniently located near to Florence's central train station, you're also a short walk from the famous Ponte Vecchio, with its glittering goldsmiths shops. All provide a relaxing base for your weekend or long-stay in Florence. Inside, we're set up to combine business with pleasure, with 7 conference rooms for up to 230 people and a stunning restaurant and bar, Assaggi, where you can savour your destination in true Tuscan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Michelangelo Florence
Starhotels Michelangelo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing