We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Michelangelo
Ranked #122 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Contemporary Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The room we had in this hotel was "picture worthy" though my daughter has the pictures. Beautiful room with hardwood floors, flat screen tv, bathroom with bidet, coffee pot in room, hair dyer. Everything very clean and modern. Breakfast buffet was very good and we had dinner at hotel and was also very good. Would return and would try other Star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    382
    112
    25
    10
See reviews for
192
234
19
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had the perfect experience in Florence. The hotel lobby is very beautiful and the renewed rooms are great. If you are riding by car there is a public parking lot right in front at the hotel and on the weekends it's free.

The room was very clean and really nice. The breakfast was ok, not the best I ever had, but it was ok. Would certainly stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a nice contemporary hotel, but we were booked into a handicap room when we didn't need one. The problem is that the shower has no curtain or shower wall. You have a shower head on the bathroom wall and if you take a shower the total floor of the bathroom will be very wet. They were at capacity at check-in so we couldn't be switched to non-handicap room. To accomodate us, they brought up 4-5 extra towels that we could wipe the floor down after a shower. This would be a 5 star hotel if it wasn't for our handicap room experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jweaver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigeria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on 14th of October with my other 2 friends / 3 rooms. Generally good and spacious room, please note we are in the suite.
Bar- special thanks to the bar attendant, (forgot the name) who made us feeling so comfortable with his smiley face and energetic service
Restaurant- there was nobody in the dining hall except us, but the same bar attendant make our dinner so lively and he is very active.
Opening the room little different than other hotels. the card reader is in the wall left side to the door, and once yuou insert the card, you hear a sound of 'kkrkrkrk' and you need top push the door inside by hand to open, I was inserting the card waiting for the sound and turn the knob, nothing happen, at last asked for hotel assistence.
Breakfast buffet was very decent. And we were very helpful from the reception for various guidelines.
Pick up the access code at the front desk

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The rooms at this hotel was a nice surprise compared to the exterior. It was very spacious inside and looked newly renovated. The bathroom was spacious, but could use more counterspace. Location wasn't the closests to shopping and attractions. Breakfast buffet was decent. Wifi available in the lobby area - pick up the access code at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
430 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

When we first rode the train to the hotel, we were concerned about location. The area itself seemed a bit sketchy at first but it ended up being a great location near the river and Central Park just across the street. For those of you who are runners like we are, this is a perfect place to get in daily runs with the locals while escaping the overly crowded city. The room itself was a nice size by European standards and it was nice that they provided a electric kettle for coffee and teas. The hotel had a nice bar in the lobby area which was a nice place to hang out after a long day and to enjoy a beer or cocktail. Breakfast was included which was a nice amenity to have and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenixroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is the typical hotel that posts amazing pictures and when you get there, from looking at the building, you start praying....
The lobby is great, they do provide free wi-fi in "executive" rooms and the breakfast is very decent, front office staff are great, available umbrellas for rainy days.....
Now, once you get out of the elevator, to go to your room, you start to fear the inevitable... A nasty looking room. The carpet that used to be bright green is brown. How do I know that it was green? Well the carpet that decorates the wall seems to be of the sme color. We did not take our shoes off. The bathroom smelled old. No electric plugs to charge all the electronics that are now used in this modern times. My son woke up in the morning with bed bug bites (about 3), big bites.
The sad part is that they seem to be capable of having a great hotel but are not willing to put some money out. This is what you get when traveling in Europe with a family of 5; the hotel options are very limited, still, no excuse for such low standards. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank APT2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion about your stay in our hotel and we are really sorry to understand that your experience with us was not so good as you expected. Any suggestion or opinions related to our service is highly appreciated and taken into consideration in order to improve our quality of hospitality.

We like to inform you that most rooms of the Starhotels Michelangelo (around 70%) and common areas like lobby, bar, restaurant, etc. had been recently renovated, 2010/2011. The posted pictures in Trip Advisor, Expedia, Booking.com, etc, as you can see present the renovated rooms and old rooms too.
Executive rooms are big enough to accommodate with comfort familes, for a maximum occupancy of 4, but are located in the non-renovated areas (1st and second floor), even if they will be object of a complete refurbishment (new materials, parquet on the carpet, new bathroom) early 2013. Our hotel chain invests for refurbishment a large amount of money every year to update the product.
About the bed bug you wrote in your comment, we want you the be sure that we never had such a problem in our property as you can easily see from the many reviews present in Trip Advisor, Expedia, etc., and we completely checked all the rooms of the 1st and 2nd floor after we received your comment and fortunately we didn't find any bed bug.

We apologize once again for your unpleasant experience, we trust in the positive comments we receive by our guests, even on this website, hoping you might reconsider your opinion to our Hotel and let us welcoming you again in one of our Starhotels.

Best regards,

Gaetano Gatti - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#96 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze Anglo American
NH Firenze Anglo American
#105 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Firenze
#166 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#103 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Michelangelo

Property: Starhotels Michelangelo
Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Florence
#75 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#113 Family Hotel in Florence
#124 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelangelo puts you at the heart of historical Florence.Our 119 hotel rooms have been recently refurbished in a chic, elegant, contemporary style. Conveniently located near to Florence's central train station, you're also a short walk from the famous Ponte Vecchio, with its glittering goldsmiths shops. All provide a relaxing base for your weekend or long-stay in Florence. Inside, we're set up to combine business with pleasure, with 7 conference rooms for up to 230 people and a stunning restaurant and bar, Assaggi, where you can savour your destination in true Tuscan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Michelangelo Florence
Starhotels Michelangelo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing