We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hosts we ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Castelli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Castelli
Ranked #96 of 632 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hosts we ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were in Italy for 2 weeks and Residenza Castelli was the B&B that provided us with the best and memorable experience.

The location of the property was absolutely central. The shopping alleys, museums, major landmarks and restaurants are literally just below the B&B.

The room was spacious for two and the shower facility was great. There was also cleaning provided daily.

The hosts Lorenzo and Gio are absolutely hospitable. Not only did they help to iron out our travel issues (we had to cancel our B&B at Cinque Terre due to a train strike) so we don't incur cancellation costs, they were also very helpful with recommendations on where to eat, shop and what to see.

If you are looking for somewhere convenient and safe, and would like to have a friendly and helpful host who is always willing to lend a hand or give a suggestion, then Residenza Castelli in Firenza / Florence is the only B&B you should go for.

Thanks for such an amazing time Lorenzo and Gio!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19JoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    59
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
133
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riva, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a hidden little gem located right in the heart of activity in Firenze. There's only five rooms, and they're located on one floor of a mixed use office and apartment building about fifty yards from the River Arno and the Ponte Vecchio Bridge. You access it by walking through a little piazza shared by a church and some other buildings. Architecture throughout the city is awesome.

Our room faced the main street, and we were about five floors up. Looking down, you see all the foot traffic going by, and the setting could not be more ideal to access everything in the Center by walking. We were right next door to the Uffizi Gallery. Rooms are pretty basic, but the beds are comfortable, the place is kept clean, and you can see that a lot of effort has been put into improving it and keeping up. Bathrooms are small but modernized.

The Residenza is run by two very nice young men, Lorenzo and Joe (sp?). Lorenzo was our primary contact and he went out of his way to be helpful in every aspect. Nice guy with an excellent command of English.

We would definitely book this place again.

Stephen and Veronica

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Gio and the guys did a nice reno on an old property... The rooms are spacious (under EU standards), well decorated with those Star Trek shower stalls with 6 different shower programs and higher end toilettries... I like the fact that the waters, candy bars, chis and such are free as most hotels try to ding you on that stuff big time - a nice touch... Great location steps from the Ponte Vecchio which puts you in the center of all sites - equidistant to Duomo, Santa Croce, Oltarno 'hood... They are helpful in getting resos, but note that it is not a hotel type / 24/7 reception format... No complaints... We would stay here again... Street facing rooms can be noisy, but the steel window shield really helps cut that down...

Room Tip: You could ask for a room that faces the Piazza vs the street for a very quiet room... Take a look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I agree totally with other recent guest comments. This is an oasis. Great location, Lorenzo and Gio are simply outstanding. They couldn't have been helpful. Anything from arranging day trips to recommending restaurants which we attended because of how good they were.
Rooms were of a good size and clean. Location to everything is superb and we will definitely stay here again when visiting Florence. They are making some subtle changes to the apartments to improve the experience and this will only make the place better.
Loved our stay and thank you to Lorenzo and Gio for making our stay in Floremce so enjoyable.
Rod and Josie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod13x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpino, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Really great location, less than 1 minute from Ponte vecchio. Room was very clean and nicely decorated, bed was also very comfortable. Owner Lorenzo was very helpful and freindly, telling us best places to see and where to eat. Nice complementary tea and chocolates. Also had the option to have our room cleaned every morning. Big flatscreen Tv with sky which was really great. We were more than happy to come back to our room everynight. The room and service was really perfect, I would reccomend this place to anyone. Overall, excellent value, one of the best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vittoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

While waiting for the guy (Gio) to come and show us our room we didnt know what to expect.when we got into the room we were very surprised.amazing decoration,very clean room and fantastic bathroom.just a few meters from ponte vecchio and the historic center we believe that it was the best value for money hotel we have ever stayed in.the owners, Gio and Lorenzo were very friendly and helpful. we will definitely go back to florence and the only place we are going to stay is this hotel.
Greetings from Greece and keep up the good work guys.
Christoforos and Maria

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milionislift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked this b&b after reading other reviews on trip advisor, glad I did as it is a little gem. Nestled right in the heart of Florence 30 seconds from the old bridge it is a great location. E-mailed them to let them know what time we were arriving and they were there waiting. Nice complementary tea and water in the room. Very cheap mini bar and had some great advice on where to visit and where to have dinner. The only thing that could have been improved is a bit quieter air conditioning unit, I sleep like a log but the boyfriend woke in the night, don't let this put you off, its a fantastic little place. Excellent value compared to other places in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoxyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#70 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#165 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#42 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#52 of 632 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Cavalcanti
Relais Cavalcanti
#80 of 632 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Uffizi
Soggiorno Antica Torre
Soggiorno Antica Torre
#164 of 632 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Castelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Castelli

Property: Residenza Castelli
Address: Piazza Santo Stefano 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Castelli 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Castelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing