We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to see David and enjoy the local treats”

Florence for Foodies
Ranked #5 of 137 Food & Drink in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Nat & Sam, two passionate and fully licensed guides on Foodilicious tours packed with Florentine food, traditions, facts & fun memories. We´ll show you Florence’s hidden gems and the best that Florence has to offer.We also offer truffle tours and afternoon wine crash course with Italy's best sommelier 2014.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great way to see David and enjoy the local treats”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I took the Nude and Food tour on the final day of my trip to Florence in October. Nat led the tour, which began with a viewing of the Michaelangelo David statue in the Galleria. We also got to view the alternative David but the less said about that the better..... the real David was stunning and Nat really helped make the most of the tour. After this, we met up with some additional members of the group who joined us for the Food part of the tour. We then headed for a coffee, before embarking on our taster sessions in the San Lorenzo food hall. After tasting bolito, various olive oils and balsamic vinegars, cheeses and salamis, we headed to a local wine merchant for some excellent prosecco and chianti classico riserva. After this we rounded off the trip with a trip to a rather good gelato vendor.
All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the variety of this tour, and the company. Its hard to imagine how one might achieve as much independently, and the experience certainly wouldnt be as memorable.
My only regret is that I didnt have more time afterwards to spend more time n the city, to fully explore the discoveries further, but theres always next time......

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    24
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A lot of fun !”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went on the "nude and food" tour, a visit to "The David" and then the "florence for foodies" tour.

The David is absolutely amazing and you must see it if you are in Florence - not the copy in the square but the real deal.

Met with Natalie to start the tour. She was very enthusiastic, fun and informative - I knew nothing about Michaelangelo or The David - I do now!.

We then went onto the food tour with a group. Was a lot of fun, very cleverly done and one of the highlights of our trip. We went back to the market the following day and purchased some goodies from the shop we had our oil and vinegar tastings in and we also re visted the wine shop where we had the wine tasting (in the cellar!) and obviously had to go back for Gelato!

I would recommend this tour wholeheartedly, if you want a fun morning/lunch in Florence with a lot of delicious food to try. !.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent and very well worth it!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We did the "Nude and Food" tour with Natalie. She was fantastic !!! Her English is perfect and she is passionate about everything !! Extremely knowledgeable about The David, ( I learned so much ) and she gave us such a varied and very delicious food tour ,including coffees, pastries, sandwiches, meats, cheeses, oils, vinegars , wines and gelatos. She also gives great restaurant recommendations, as well. I loved this tour, and Natalie really holds your attention and interest . I would do it again in a minute. Florence is a fabulous city!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ct03traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun tour!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We did this tour with Nat after finding it on TripAdvisor. We're really into food culture of all kinds, so that was the angle we were coming from.

Overall, it was even better than we had hoped for. We thought that at first although it seemed expensive (ie other reviews have said you can just see these places on your own) it was totally worth it. Technically yes you can access all these businesses on your own, but the discussion about the food, its history, and its role in Florentine life, is a totally different experience than just walking around by yourself. The sampling was the other reason the price seemed fair- we had coffee, a pastry, 2 sandwiches, generous samplings of cheeses, meats, olive oils and balsamic vinegars, wine/liquors, another sandwich, and 3 rounds of gelato. It was easily a lunch and several snacks. Another nice thing is that, although you go to shops for sampling, there is absolutely no pressure to buy. It makes it super easy if you are looking for food souvenirs, but neither the guide nor the shopkeepers had any expectations.

My only caveat would be that we had a small group (2 other couples who were really into food too), and we all really got along and had fun, but the tour can be as many as 12 people with 1 guide. We had a lot of interaction and personalized attention from Nat. With more people, and maybe with people who were less on the same wavelength, it might not be as fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Promethium P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun group dynamic and trip highlight”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We did the Foodie tour with Nat, a honeymooning couple from Singapore, and two college friends from the Twin Cities. The group clicked right away so it was a really relaxed and fun experience. Nat is an entertaining and friendly guide that kept our attention for the four hour tour. This was one of our favorite activities in Florence and a highlight of our trip.

I'd recommend this for someone looking to learn more about the Florentine/Tuscan culture in a different and interactive way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florence for Foodies also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Florence for Foodies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing