We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”

La Cucina del Garga
Ranked #156 of 2,763 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $47 - $71
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: "La Cucina del Garga" arrived on the Florence restaurant scene when Chef Alessandro Gargani returned from an 8 year run as Executive Chef in New York City's famous "Mezzogiorno Restaurant" in SOHO. It is there that he practiced his craft, honed his recipes and started his family. From an early age, his parents Sharon Oddson and Giuliano Gargani AKA "Il Garga" had instilled in him their passion for food and art. In 2010, he returned to his hometown to continue the family tradition born at The Trattoria in Via del Moro and then brought here to Via San Zanobi. The restaurant is an art gallery as well as showcase where talented local artists have the opportunity to show their work and customers can purchase paintings or sculptures to enrich their own private collections.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I ate here with my wife and children together with 4 friends from Florence on a recent Saturday evening. Despite us running very late on the night, we were served promptly and professionally throughout our evening, the waiter was friendly and chatty, speaking both Italian and English, and the food was consistently very good. The ambience is cosy but sophisticated, the decor is colourful and unique and the food has a touch of flair. Among the dishes we enjoyed were a tagliatelle with orange and lemon zest in brandy cream sauce, which was light and refreshing, and an excellent spaghettini with crab in tomato sauce. Add in a good wine list and a busy contented buzz from both tourists and locals, and it made for a very enjoyable evening. One or two prices are a bit steep (5 Euros for a can of pop!) but overall very impressive and I would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    234
    71
    32
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best place we ate in Florence.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed this place. A co-worker highly recommended it to her after he heard about our trip to Florence. Food was incredible! Definitely would make this a stop if you stay a night in Florence.

Interestingly, we also heard about this place from a tour guide in the area. It seems to be a quiet gem in the area. Very solid experience!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Touristy but the food is wonderful”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food was top notch and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. The service was generally good with the exception that they forgot to bring our expresso for a long time, but they were extremely apologetic about the delay once we brought it to their attention.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJQ_Pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“find this gem, its not hard”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

best place ive eaten in Florence. staff, food , ambience are the best ive encountered in any other Florentine restaurant . others are excellent, don't get me wrong but garga was a cut above .
and for groppa lovers, have one of each.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PackieJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path gem”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Read the reviews and it was our last night in Florence. Wanted to walk through an area we hadn't quite seen yet, and this fit the bill. The location is a bit outside the busy museum area and was a 15 minute walk from our restaurant north of the Croce Piazza. Found the restaurant easily. The restaurant is beautifully decorated with unique albeit eclectic art surrounding each room. Certainly gives you something to discuss while you're waiting for your meal!

Corrado (sp?) was our waiter (and is the restaurant manager) and he is obviously the "face" of the restaurant. Very outgoing, knows the history behind the awards each dish or wine has accumulated, tells you his background, asks you about yours, fluent in English, etc. His recommendations were spot on.

You are greeted at the table with complimentary glasses of Prosecco - delish! This is followed by complimentary warm brushetta and a basket of toasted bread. Probably more bread than any person could ever eat - don't fill up! There's too much good food to follow.

We had the artichoke/pine nut/hearts of palm salad, which was light and delicate but tasty and unique. We definitely will try to re-create that at home! This was followed a Lemon fettucini (like a Lemon Alfredo sauce - relish!) and hubby had the "strozzapretti" with a pistachio pesto - both delicious! All prices were very reasonable.

We finished off with the glutten-free chocolate cake and vanilla ice cream - a bit like a very rich brownie with ice cream. Very rich but delicious. Ordered some decaf coffee to go with it but they did forget that order - no worries, we didn't really need it. Had the same difficulty trying to get the check and close out dinner that we have in most Italian restaurants we've eaten at - they don't seem to want you to leave! ;-)

Highly recommend this restaurant for a wonderful evening and a artsy, gourmet special meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NolaGal_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina del Garga also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Cucina del Garga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing