We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Touch the ceiling frescos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore

Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore
Book In Advance
$49*
and up
Florence Opera del Duomo Museum Small-Group Tour
Ranked #3 of 396 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by Arnolfo di Cambio at the end of the 13th century, the Cathedral's trademark dome is now the symbol of Florence.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Touch the ceiling frescos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

More than 450 steps, but well worth the lung-capacity to see the cathederal from such a height and tovirtually touch the ceiling frescos.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,279
    3,286
    752
    141
    79
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A quick visit, couldn't stand under the dome as it was roped off but it's a pretty amazing building when you first see it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BazzLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Duomo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Marvellous architecture although busy when we went and only April! Many other lovely churches as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevinWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get to the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

There was a little bit of a line the day we went to the Duomo but we waited the 45 minutes or so and made it to the entrance. We bought our tickets (can't remember the price but they only accept cash only, no credit cards) and we were on our way. The stairways were steep at times and some were a little tight because people exiting the top would be coming back down but it was worth the effort. The view is amazing even when the weather wasn't great. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped in early evening during Holy week. Flowers and candles were lit. From the outside one has no clue as to how impressive it is inside. Soaring ceiling, I wished we could have gone back in the next day but it was closed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing