We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Admission charge”

Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.61*
and up
The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces
Ranked #3 of 443 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by Arnolfo di Cambio at the end of the 13th century, the Cathedral's trademark dome is now the symbol of Florence.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,362 reviews
701 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,634 helpful votes
“Admission charge”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Entrance to the Duomo is no longer free. I was wondering why there was not the usual long line waiting to enter the Duomo. Then, I saw they are now charging a nominal admission fee. I think this is fine because these churches require an incredible amount of upkeep and each day they were descended upon by hundreds of tour groups which never paid anything to enter the duomo. That has now changed and it appears the groups are not willing to pay the cost of admission. It is certainly worth the entry fee.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,331
    3,999
    902
    172
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southend
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Cathedral”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Duomo in Florence is an absolutely fantastic building a very impressive sight. I think it is the 4th largest Cathedral in Europe. Inside the Cathedral isnot as impressive as the exterior...but still beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizzie14Southend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Duomo is so stunning on the outside,the design is so breath taking.I sat outside for a very long time just admiring the achecture, the colour and the marble.Then you have the inside some parts are quite plain and there's this wonderfull ceiling full of colour and design.You can go to the top of the Duomo on the outside lots od steps. Great place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank roseirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Beautiful sight to behold, majestic marbled church which took our breath away. The church is massive and huge. Whilst inside, it's so different - it's simple yet calming.

Definitely a site not to be missed! We would want to go there again, and just stare and appreciate it's splendor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SnowFlakes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful - like a fairy tale!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Oh WOW! What a beautiful beautiful building! It is stunning - and even more beautiful at night in my opinion!
We climbed the tower - over 400 steps but worth the effort - stunning view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank veryexcited45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing