We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #86 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel close to the termini and Saint Lorenzo church. Hotel offer free city walking tours on Wednesdays and Saturdays and they host a mimosa gathering. Everything is withing walking distance to the Dome and David. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom, not your typical small european bathroom. Staff was friendly and helpful with questions and booking for city tours or winery.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaJ1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 756 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Relais Hotel Centrale for two nights and found it very pleasant, Our room was large by city standards, with a fine view of the dome of San Lorenzo. The bed was comfortable, especially notable because we had come from a two-night stay in Venice at a slightly worn-down hotel with a rock-hard bed. Back to the Centrale: the bathroom was nicely arranged and very clean.The room itself was bright and cheerful, with ample seating and room for two large and two small suitcases. Excellent light, so it was possible to read in room at night, which in our experience is unusual and thus a treat. The women at the desk were consistently welcoming when we arrived and helpful in providing maps and directions. The flight of stairs between the elevator floor/breakfast room and the actual chambers is a minor matter unless you are dealing with suitcases. The breakfast room was pleasant and breakfast okay. I did not love the location in terms of ambience; the street and immediate surrounds felt very quiet and a little sketchy coming back in dark after dinner But in terms of convenience to all the places we wanted to get to, it was great; very walkable and during the day not in the least questionable. I think it is a good choice, and pretty decent value.

Room Tip: Probably a deluxe room is a good choice, finances permitting. Size and view were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grayhill102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great location to use as abase for our visit to Florence. All the sights and great restaurants are very convenient.

The room was inconvenient to get to via elevator and one flight of stairs.

Bed was very soft.

Very barren walls overlooking the heating system.

WiFi was abysmal.

Staff was professional but impersonal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great hotel, the location is the best, 3 minutes walk and you are in the Duomo... less than 10 minutes to the station... I have walked from this hotel to every place, never needed a bus.

I stayed there 6 days, the room was beautiful, old style decoration but really nice, marble bathroom with great shower and was all big enough to put suitcases and so.
Breakfast was quite nice too, and you can order several things like scramble eggs or omelette to be done in that moment.

The girls in reception were really nice, always willing to help and give advices, same as the women in the breakfast room.

If I need to find a not so good point will mention the sound, as my room was on the 1st floor to the street and was having a small door to the other room, the street noise was ok but the noises coming from the next room were a bit too much, I could hear like it was in my own room.

Even this I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inmavelasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Super little hotel right in the centre of Florence with only a short walk to restaurants and for sight seeing. Staff exceptionally helpful, rooms fine. Everything you wanted at breakfast with fresh cooked eggs, etc on request. We went on the free two hour walk around Florence with Paola, who was such an interesting lady, explaining things so well in her perfect English! Definitely recommend hotel for being so central.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coco255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Centrale for 1 night, after booking a "Deluxe Room". Arrived and had to lug suitcases up several staircases as the elevator is only big enough for 1 person + 1 suitcase. Finally reached the room (don't ask for anything above 2nd floor) only to see it was not in any way a 'deluxe' we had seen online. After speaking to the receptionist (arlene), she managed to upgrade us to the room you see in the picture (stone archways) which was nice, with great jacuzzi and bath.

All in all worth 100 euros, but only becuase of the upgrade

Room Tip: Avoid anything on the upper floors - there is only stair access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResponsabileHotel, Direttore generale at Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Sean,
Thank you for your comment and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence.
It seems that your review is a little bit contradictory and confuse.
We accomodate you in a Deluxe room as the reservation that you done; our Deluxe room, as reported in the website that you used to make your reservation, is a room with view of Medici's Chapel by MICHELANGELO, one of the most important monument of our city.
However we accomodate you, as you requested, in our Junior Suite with no supplement,
We did our best to satisfy your expectations, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed 2 nights, 24-25 Dec 2013 in Room 2 @ EUR57.80/night single incl BF (Bkg.com) - city tax EUR3/night extra.

Location, location, location. Less than 10 min walk to central train station, Firenze Santa Maria Novelle and even shorter walk on to the Duomo. Easy flat walk if you have bag on wheels. No problem.

Nice clean room with view of the dome of San Lorenzo and the Firenze rooftops. Approx 24 rooms in a fab old palazzo - I loved the ambience of the very well kept building (share level 2 with legal studio). Solid 2/3 star property. English channels on TV - important on rainy nights/single traveller ;-)

Reception manned 24 hours with guest computer, printer, books, magazines & a bar. Cool.

Great breakfast (for Italy) with eggs, ham, cereal, cold cuts, cakes, fruit.

I was thrilled with this hotel at this price - normally I stay at B&B's but managed a great rate in quiet period. I am sure it is much much more in summer!

Farewell gift of small box of cantucci biscuits was a very nice touch.

Recommended at this price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YasmineinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#76 of 409 in Florence
1,660 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,835 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#43 of 409 in Florence
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 409 in Florence
1,222 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Via De' Conti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#57 Family Hotel in Florence
#58 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $109 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a beautiful Florentine holiday, enjoying comfortable accommodations in a renovated property right in the heart of the city, close to the major landmarks. It's easy at Relais Hotel Centrale! The hotel is a short distance from the Duomo and the principal monuments of the City ,from the central train station S. Maria Novella, the Fortezza Da Basso, home of the most important trade shows in the area, and the Palazzo Dei Congressi. Enjoy a quiet, comfortable retreat in the hotels rooms, complemented by reproduced frescoes and paintings by famous artists. Many also offer views of the nearby monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Dimora Storica Florence
Centrale Dimora Storica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing