We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff”
Review of Hotel Romagna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Romagna
Ranked #229 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel romagna was perfect in terms of location, just down the street from the duomo and close to the station.. had a free breakfast, and staff were beyond helpful in recommending places for us to visit, and day trips, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funbar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    152
    96
    33
    15
See reviews for
71
162
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Romagna hotel 9th-13th July 13. The hotel was clean with nice staff, the rooms were on the small side and service was adequate. We booked a triple room which for three people was small but nevertheless clean with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were very small but had the usual shower, toilet, sink and complementary wash stuff. Towels are provided. The rooms ate furnished with beds, bedside table, TV, air conditioning and a wardrobe. Breakfast at the hotel was 8-10:30am which was Continental (usual croissants, ham, bread, cheese, cake, cereal, yogurts) they also had filter coffee and tea and coffee from the machine if you want a cappuccino for example. The hotel was open 24/7. All in all a fairly good hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186460HuwD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect, very close to SMN train station, very close to city center. Rooms are too small, but perfectly clean. There is no elevator, but hotel staff carry your luggage. We stayed at the top (5th) floor which has better view and enjoyed it. There are rooms with carpet floor or wooden parquet floor, you can request the one you wanted. Hotel staff happily inform you about where to visit and where to eat and mark them on the city map they give you for free. Breakfast is for free and satisfying as they also offer cheese, butter, honey, jam etc. besides classic continental type foods. Wi-fi is free and coverage was perfect in our room.

Helpful?
Thank Evren U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Naivasha, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one week from the end of May to the beginning of June 2013, and I enjoyed very much from the staffs, room, the breakfast and I liked the hotel because it's close to the everything in the city.
Especially from two Guys who work at the reception(Desart & Alex), they helped me alot in everything and I say well done!
I surely next time I visit Florence(Firenze) I will stay at Hotel Romagna.
Thank you all for everything and see you soonest
Guy Getz, Naivasha Kenya

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1977317067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the old city center, near the dome. Its a three minute walk from the train station (where the shuttle from the airport drops you off). The service was great and the roms were very clean and neat. The staff had a lot of good advices about places to visit and restaurants.
Its really a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiberiu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good location. Florence is a small town so close to the train station and duomo. Friendly staff. No elevator to rooms. After walking around the city trip, another walk up to the rooms is quite tiring. Breakfast was okay. Rooms are small although it is tidy and comfortable to sleep. Small bathroom. Good view from the window. You can see historical architecture (and neighbors who lives across the street. ) IF I had more money, I would stay somewhere else although its great value of money.

Room Tip: Staying in 1-3rd floor can save your energy. Good view from upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagerlivesinJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is by far one of the best locations in Florence. Steps to the SM Novella train station and the Duomo.
That being said, this place is a budget hotel. Budget means cheap and semi clean but totally safe.
There is no AC in the rooms and the rooms facing the back have no windows, only shutters.
Mosquitos are hot and heavy and the walls are littered with their carcasses. We bought repellent at the store and it worked fine. Plus the owner loaned us a fan for the heat problem.

The beds are hard, the linens are rough. The bathroom is a "wet bathroom" meaning the shower shares the space with the toilet and sink with no enclosure. Everything gets wet.

The breakfast is standard bread, jam, yogurt and juice.
There is no lift and if you are on a higher floor it is tough going.
The staff was very friendly and always helpful, even with the language barrier.
There is bottled water for sale in the lobby which is staffed 24 hours a day. You have to leave your room key with them when you leave.

All that being said, the place suited our needs. It was cheap and had a fantastic location.
While I am not sure if I would stay there again, if you are a budget traveler you should stay here with no worries at all.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back, less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 412 in Florence
93 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#160 of 412 in Florence
422 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#221 of 412 in Florence
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#138 of 412 in Florence
454 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#103 of 412 in Florence
742 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#210 of 412 in Florence
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romagna

Property: Hotel Romagna
Address: Via Panzani 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Romagna 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Romagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing