We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unusual hotel in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torre di Bellosguardo
Ranked #17 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We took our granddaughter on a trip to five cities in Italy for her 13th birthday and this was her favorite hotel - we loved it too. Even with booking two connecting rooms, it was our least expensive hotel of the trip. This small hotel is located on a hill above the quieter side of the Arno and the view is spectacular. The grounds are beautiful with extensive gardens and a pool. We really enjoyed getting out of the bustle of the city to a quiet place at the end of the day, but one that was only 10 minutes from the sites. It is a redone Renaissance villa with rooms tucked in odd places throughout. it really stimulated our granddaughter's imagination and she loved running around the grounds with other children she met. There is a lovely place for breakfast and a light lunch, but no dinner is served. It is not, however, your typical hotel. Sometimes there was no one at the front desk, room decor is quite individual, and service could be a bit spotty, but it you're looking for a beautiful, quiet and unique place with easy access to Florence, this may be it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 795 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

we stayed in the hotel about 8 years ago, and decided to return in '07. well, we have matured and maintained, but the hotel has not. The bed was as hard as a rock (i wonder how old the mattresses are?!). The electicity and the bathing accomodations are old and worn. once you are up on the hill, there is no food and drink, only when you beg. the grounds are amazing - i would have rather slept outside. the terrace, where breakfast is served, is full of pigeons and their droppings. the terrace, off of the entrance is covered with moss and droppings. it would be a great place to live, if it was ever maintained. DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arpwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Leaving Torre di Bellosguardo I felt regret at not being able to prolong my stay there. One night is definitely not enough for this wonderful place.
We arrived late in the evening when twilight fell on Florence and surrounding hills and it took me a bit longer than expected to locate the place while my GPS could not help me much, but this kind of detour surely worth it.
What we’ve noticed first was fantastic location – hotel occupies the very top of the hill right over the city and the view is magnificent by definition. Our step into the lobby was like a time warp in the sense that we found ourselves in genuine atmosphere of medieval estate. Everything (interior, furniture, smell and spirit) was reminisced of great old days. We couldn’t help thinking we entered the museum but the one with no restrictions and DO NOT TOUCH signs all over the place. In Torre di Bellosquardo you’re indeed free to explore (and there is enough to explore in there) the place on your own and this only fact makes this place absolutely unique.
Being old and truly historic the hotel has all the facilities one could expect from modern accommodation. Roomy bathrooms, TVs, Internet, indoor and outdoor pools, 24/365 bar and room service would make your stay comfortable and joyful.
Right before the check-out we visited cute garden surrounding the villa that is full of olive trees and blossoming flowers and saturated by countryside smells, birds’ songs and rumbling bumblebees.
I would recommend this place to everyone who appreciates tranquility and unspoiled Renaissance atmosphere, to those who is in search of inspiration and inner balance.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t_tararin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel is in a spectacular building with amazing views of Florence. In the right hands it could be a fabulous hotel, particularly if you're looking to escape the heat of Florence, but still want to be close to the city centre.
But... and its a big but...
The website massively oversells this place. It looks fabulous.
And the garden is.
But the hotel itself really isn't. Its very shabby (not the chic, pristine hotel that's presented in the website). Our room (a suite with, admittedly, a great view over Florence), just felt grubby. The sofa had a huge stain, the bathroom wallpaper was starting to come away from the wall and the wardrobe needed a good clean. We're all for antique furniture etc, but this lot felt a bit too much like it had been picked up at a flea market and not given a good clean before it was put in the rooms.
The main parts of the hotel are very sparse - hardly any furniture and just lots of empty spaces.
The pool is nice, with amazing views, but there's nothing to sit on. You have to sit on the bath towels from your room.
There's no restaurant (or even room service, other than breakfast) which is just thoughtless in a hotel that has no restaurants close by.
Basically, I think the people who own it have either bitten off more than they can chew, don't realise that their hotel massively lacks the attention to detail you'd expect for the price or are trying their luck.
We ended up moving to The Lungarno, where we got a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the Arno, for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Turrettwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We recently stayed at Torre Di Bellosguardo with our 2 children aged 13 & 10. We were mesmerized by the magnificent location and view across Florence (could not believe any taxi would find it but they all seem to know exactly where it is!). The villa must have been absolutely spectacular in its heyday but we felt it is now lacking in maintenance and service. We requested a suite with airconditioning (apparently only 2). The room had a 'lounge' with sofa bed (not comfortable) and a separate small bedroom with bathroom. The shower faucet was broken and was very difficult to get the water temperature correct. There were many chipped and broken bathroom tiles. The furniture is very rustic and basic. We had an infestation of mosquitoes in our room and left covered in bites. Mosquito coils were provided but did not seem to help and our request for mosquito spray went unanswered. Outside our room there was a storeroom which often had its door left open. It was filthy, untidy and filled with old mattresses and supplies for the rooms. Although the villa itself is grand and magnificent, it has a slightly haunted feel about it as the public areas are very sparse and not warmly decorated or lit. The garden and pool area was a little overgrown with long grass which gave an unkempt impression. It was however mowed the day we left. The staff were not overly friendly or accommodating. Our experience with breakfast was a disaster. We attempted to have breakfast there on the day we were leaving as despite the high price it was the most convenient thing to do as we had a train to catch. We sat on the balcony with a gorgeous view and there was only one other couple. There was one waitress who took a while to come and take our order. The balcony started to fill up and after waiting half an hour realised that everyone else who arrived after us was getting their food except us. We told her we were in a hurry but this did not make a difference. We eventually got up and left without breakfast. I feel this hotel could offer so much more due to its beauty and fantastic location so close to the centre of Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We felt like kings and queens in this romantic palace with great views of the surrounding countryside - we had a hunch that the road leading up to the place was in fact used as a lover's lane by the locals. The room was spacious, simple and tasteful, just like we like our Italian room to be, and the breakfast was without fault. They have a limited dining menu you can enjoy by the pool. The building itself is a gorgeous medieval castle decorated very very tastefully. The town is just close by and if you are up for it you can actually walk to the city centre from there... loved the palce.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CPHcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We felt like royalty. The architecture is magnificent. Really magnificent. The bedrooms are spacious with high vaulted ceilings and well furnished with antiques. It is ingenious how modern bathrooms are set in this space while preserving the medieval feel. The view of Firenze from the large outdoor pool couldn't be better. It is no wonder the German high command chose this villa as their headquarters during WWII, and the British high command did likewise when they took over in 1945. There are fruit and vegetable gardens, flower gardens (should we mention 200 different types of rose bushes around the pool?), even some farms animals; e.g., donkeys and goats. We were able to have the experience of a rural Tuscan countryside villa. The glass enclosed indoor pool has a view of a lily pond. Yes, it is necessary to take a taxi to and from the city, but we never had to wait more than 5 or 10 minutes when the staff called. The staff is not stiff and formal, as you might expect from a hotel this elegant, but were very attentive and interested in our having a pleasant stay. There is no restaurant, but note that corner Osteria at the base of the hill leading up the winding road to hotel for fabulous food. Other great restaurants are only a brief taxi ride away. We stayed 4 nights and would have stayed longer had we known we would be spending so much time just enjoying the grounds, the views, and the architecture. Wow.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,048 reviews
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Saulina
#2 of 3 in Lastra a Signa
361 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,960 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Bellosguardo

Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $285 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Torre di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing