We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Florence Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #19 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Coto de Caza, California
1 review
“Perfect Florence Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Torre Di Bellosguardo is the perfect hotel for a quiet stay outside of the city. The view from our room was a panoramic view of the city, with the Duomo at the center. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The staff is wonderful, and always on call.
The hotel is a 7-12 euro taxi ride from the major tourist attractions. You can also walk it, but my husband has a bad ankle from an accident, so we chose taxis.
Florence was at the end of a three city trip, so it was nice to be outside the city. The grounds are beautiful! The afternoon we arrived, we spent our time just walking the gardens. After doing the tourist things the next couple of days, we ended the evenings in the hotel bar. There are only sixteen rooms in the whole property, so we actually hardly ever saw another guest.
While we were there, some repairs were being done. Even the local repairman was taking pictures of the view from the hotel.
We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't say anything about the food. They serve a light lunch around the pool, and bring dinner up from a local restaurant each night. We did eat at one of the restaurants they recommend, at it was wonderful.
This place is the perfect combination of old world charm with first class service. If we ever go back to Florence, we would not consider staying anywhere else. I asked my husband what the best part of the trip was, and he said the hotel Torre Di Bellosguardo.

Room Tip: Room 9 has the best view of both Florence and the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are more than delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us and basked in the peace, silence and beauty of Bellosguardo. We so hope you will return and will welcome you with open arms. Thank you so much for all your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    99
    21
    17
    10
See reviews for
194
366
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Cannot recommend this hotel/renaissance villa enough.It was the occasion of my wife's 40th birthday and we traveled out with our 7 year old twins. (We last stayed here in 1998 for our honeymoon). Communications were excellent with the hotel. They arranged for flowers (picked from their own grounds) to be put in the room for our arrival. We stayed in room 14 (adjoining rooms with a very large sofa bed for the children) - stunning views over Florence (one of the best views in the world), very clean and with some great bathroom products. I can concur with other reviewers who say they felt like royalty when staying here. In particular Valeria and Luca were most welcoming - especially to our 2 children. The gardens are very special and secluded. The pool has a stunning panorama view over the city below.

The highlight of our stay has to be the cooking lessons (all arranged by email before our stay) we took with Ana - who took us into her exceptionally beautiful kitchen and home in the hotel grounds for the afternoon. The children loved participating with us in cutting up and preparing the Italian homemade pasta, pizza, tomato bruschetta, wood pigeons, ragu sauce and scrumptious apple pie. Ana was so calm, accommodating and knowledgeable and we learnt a great deal that we will look forward to cooking the recipes back at home . Afterwards we all sat down with Ana (with a glass or two of prosecco) - and the children thought it "was the best meal they ever ate".

As other reviewers have stated the hotel is situated in the hills about 10-15 minutes walk from the center of town. However the walk is special in itself going past little lanes and walls with geckos darting about in the sun. When we were on our honeymoon back in May 1998 we recalled seeing fireflies as well. It comes as a nice welcome contrast from the hustle and bustle of the city of Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ln9tjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

You cannot imagine how much your review pleased us and made us feel our work worthwhile. It is always very rewarding to have returning guests because there is no better proof that they had a good time here and that they truly enjoyed the hotel and our different style.
The cooking class with your family was great fun and I found your two twins adorable, so well behaved and so interested on all the cooking, specially the pizza. It was really touching to hear from their little voices how much they enjoyed the food and that it was their best meal.
Thank you so much once again for your encouraging words of appreciation and remember that we always will be here with open arms to welcome you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My buddy and I spent four nights in this lovely meticulously restored Florence Villa that sits on a hill overlooking the City with stunning views in a magical relaxing atmosphere. This property is only 10 minutes from the heart of Florence but very much away from the tourists. The food was
delicious and the service was personal and accommodating. The owner, Amerigo is a warm and wonderful man who will help make your stay a memorable one. The Hotel is 15th Century charm
with 21st century amenities.

Room Tip: Do not choose the smallest room with skylight only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank befeine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
I so enjoyed talking to you. Thank you, thank you for all your kind words. I hope you will return one day so we can pick up from where we left off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

From the moment I booked our rooms to our visit just last week, our experience has been wonderful. The service is by far exceptional. I booked our stay almost a year early and would email with all sorts of questions that were always answered quickly! Having extensively researched the hotel, I was so happy to see this property was so much more than our expectations! We found that the hotel property very relaxing and just could not get enough of the breathtaking views of Florence. Our family felt like royalty staying at such an amazing property.

The staff made it even more exceptional! We loved Luca (has the best recommendations for dinner!) and Valeria was just lovely. We ate at the bar two nights and found it an enjoyable experience. Valeria made our evening very special – including setting up the most welcoming of tables including flower petals to personalize our table. Sabrina and Roberto were also very kind and helpful.

The hotel itself was just such a treat for us! The gardens, pool, animals, bedrooms (we stayed in #5 – our kids in #4 which nicely connected bathrooms so we felt as if we had one large suite, my in-laws stayed in rooms #9 and brother-in-law and wife in room #8). Each room was special in its own way, very spacious, modern bathrooms (no standing shower) and beautiful views. While you felt that you stepped back in time, you were comfortable in a very clean hotel, air conditioning, and wifi.

Our best experience was the cooking class hosted by Ana. She generously opened up her home and kitchen to my large family. My 11 year old son really enjoying making home-made pasta and an apple tart, among the other many dishes we made that evening. He is an extremely picky eater and tried foods I never thought he would try! We are so thankful for such a wonderful experience and look forward to attempting to recreate her recipes at home.

This by far exceeded all our expectations. We are so thankful for the staff that provided us with such a wonderful home away from home and help our trip be even more special. Words cannot completely describe this enchanting experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Proprietario at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

What passionate words! Your appreciation and understanding of Torre di Bellosguardo fills us with joy. Thank you so much.
The cooking class with your family was such fun and I must say I was delighted with the interest and ability of your young son.
I hope to see you all back in the future and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

How do you rate an experience? My husband and I have been very fortunate to stay in many 5 star hotels in our travels these past few years and nothing can compare to the most wonderful of wonderful days/nights we spent in Florence at this very amazing villa. I most remember waking from our super wonderful bed to gaze at the same ceiling that others have gazed at for the past 800 years. Then, stepping out onto the same tile floors that have been walked on for over 800 years. And, finally, opening the shutters to look out onto a view that has to be most wonderful view of Florence. It was amazing. I felt as if it was 1100 AD. The entire experience... breakfast on the terrace, a glass of wine by the pool, the formal gardens, furniture from the middle ages, beautiful ceiling frescos, the lemon tree solarium... it was all so wonderful. These 4 nights will be a memory we shall always treasure. Oh... both my husband and I love to walk and we were concerned that we would be too far from the city center to walk. No worries. It was a beautiful walk through the property and then, a short 15 stroll through a safe part of town, past the Roman gate to the river Arno and the center of Florence. It is quite a good climb back up the hill through the property to return, but we managed without any problems. Don't miss a thoroughly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 513Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
What can I say after such a glorious review? To us it was an honour having you here and nothing pleases us more than the fact that you you felt at home, enjoyed Bellosguardo and loved your stay. Please return so we can welcome you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our family recently returned from Florence where we had the most amazing experience at Torre. We had rooms 14 and 16, which we beautifully decorated and had the most wonderful view of Florence. In fact, we climbed the 292 steps to the top of Duomo in the city all all agreed the view from our hotel was better! Each time we looked out the window or came home after a long day we enjoyed it anew.

The ambiance of the hotel is fantastic as well. It's beautiful and elegant, however you can walk around in very casual clothes, bathing suits (the pool is divine), no shoes. I asked the owner about this and he said it's intentionally relaxed so people feel at home. The hotel only has 16 rooms so you can see a few people at breakfast and chat if you like, but can easily have total privacy if you prefer. My kids' room was down a hallway and up a step -- they went back and forth to our room in pajamas and never encountered another guest.

The breakfast was nice as well. It has a variety of cereals, fruits, cured meats, cheese,breads/pastries and they will cook you eggs on request. It was not one of those over the top american style buffets, but substantial and nicely presented.

The staff at the hotel was supremely helpful. Luca at the front desk was incredibly helpful whenever we needed him and always said yes with a smile. Roberto and Sabrina were quite lovely as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
What a lovely and generous review you have written, dear Guest! Thank you so very much. We are more than delighted that you and your family felt at home here, relaxed and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent 2 days with my wife and my three teenagers . the place is amazing ... the view is unique and it is one of the best ratio price / quality around Firenze.
I highly recommend it. You feel at home , and peaceful.

the owner is very nice, he speaks 3 langages, We followed his recommendation to go out for diner , and we went to a very Italian typical restaurant ,good food , good price ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christophe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
We loved having you and your family here in Bellosguardo and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return soon. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,805 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing