We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Most Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #17 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

How do you rate an experience? My husband and I have been very fortunate to stay in many 5 star hotels in our travels these past few years and nothing can compare to the most wonderful of wonderful days/nights we spent in Florence at this very amazing villa. I most remember waking from our super wonderful bed to gaze at the same ceiling that others have gazed at for the past 800 years. Then, stepping out onto the same tile floors that have been walked on for over 800 years. And, finally, opening the shutters to look out onto a view that has to be most wonderful view of Florence. It was amazing. I felt as if it was 1100 AD. The entire experience... breakfast on the terrace, a glass of wine by the pool, the formal gardens, furniture from the middle ages, beautiful ceiling frescos, the lemon tree solarium... it was all so wonderful. These 4 nights will be a memory we shall always treasure. Oh... both my husband and I love to walk and we were concerned that we would be too far from the city center to walk. No worries. It was a beautiful walk through the property and then, a short 15 stroll through a safe part of town, past the Roman gate to the river Arno and the center of Florence. It is quite a good climb back up the hill through the property to return, but we managed without any problems. Don't miss a thoroughly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 513Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

What can I say after such a glorious review? To us it was an honour having you here and nothing pleases us more than the fact that you you felt at home, enjoyed Bellosguardo and loved your stay. Please return so we can welcome you with open arms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 785 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our family recently returned from Florence where we had the most amazing experience at Torre. We had rooms 14 and 16, which we beautifully decorated and had the most wonderful view of Florence. In fact, we climbed the 292 steps to the top of Duomo in the city all all agreed the view from our hotel was better! Each time we looked out the window or came home after a long day we enjoyed it anew.

The ambiance of the hotel is fantastic as well. It's beautiful and elegant, however you can walk around in very casual clothes, bathing suits (the pool is divine), no shoes. I asked the owner about this and he said it's intentionally relaxed so people feel at home. The hotel only has 16 rooms so you can see a few people at breakfast and chat if you like, but can easily have total privacy if you prefer. My kids' room was down a hallway and up a step -- they went back and forth to our room in pajamas and never encountered another guest.

The breakfast was nice as well. It has a variety of cereals, fruits, cured meats, cheese,breads/pastries and they will cook you eggs on request. It was not one of those over the top american style buffets, but substantial and nicely presented.

The staff at the hotel was supremely helpful. Luca at the front desk was incredibly helpful whenever we needed him and always said yes with a smile. Roberto and Sabrina were quite lovely as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stace1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

What a lovely and generous review you have written, dear Guest! Thank you so very much. We are more than delighted that you and your family felt at home here, relaxed and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent 2 days with my wife and my three teenagers . the place is amazing ... the view is unique and it is one of the best ratio price / quality around Firenze.
I highly recommend it. You feel at home , and peaceful.

the owner is very nice, he speaks 3 langages, We followed his recommendation to go out for diner , and we went to a very Italian typical restaurant ,good food , good price ...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
We loved having you and your family here in Bellosguardo and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return soon. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Breathtaking view over Florence. The gardens (both the formal areas and the vegetable gardens) were magnificent. Very comfortable room and well-appointed bathroom. Friendly staff who were obviously very proud of the place. Peaceful. Tranquil. Lots to see and explore in the hotel and the grounds. As others have said, it was a lot like staying in a stately home with few other guests; mostly, it felt as though we had the place to ourselves. We generally walked to and from the hotel, through the olive grove - a bit muddy after rain, but like a walk in the country, with a great feeling of being 'home' at the top of the hill. Our ground floor room still had a good view, with the added immediacy of the gardens right outside. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
We so enjoyed having you here in Bellosguardo and seeing you loiter around the grounds and enjoying the property. We hope you return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have rarely been really unsure how to rate a hotel experience - but this is one of those places. The views are definately magical and the rooms are magnificent - far more inspiring than any city centre hotel and not something you would normally experience for the money. The gardens and pool setting are gorgeous and the walk into the city was also pleasant. The staff were very helpful and friendly too - recommending a very traditional Italian restaurant a short walk away the first evening, which was delightful.

Despite all this, I am not sure I would go back and I'm not really certain quite why. It was a bit like staying in a stately home with very few other guests. We sayed for 4 nights and began to get a bit fed up with taxis in and out, although they are quite cheap and easy to come by. It was quiet, so you often found yourself alone on the breakfast terrace (where the breakfast was a little uninspiring) or in the hotel bar. Late afternoon around the pool had a much nicer vibe. The bedroom was huge and had an aged feel as we expected, but this included the bathroom fittings which were rather dated and pokey. I also agree with other reviewers that updating the beds would make a huge difference to the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreySuncream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I understand your point of view. The problem I think is that it depends what you are looking for, what is important to you. We live in an age of constant noise and often unnecessary stimuli. Our secret (which is carefully spelled out in our website) is a sense of total peace and quiet. Even when all rooms are occupied one hardly ever notices other guests. We make a point of being a contrast to the infernal chaos of downtown Florence.
Thank you for pointing out improvements which we will carry out such as mattresses etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our review needs few words.
Torre di Bellosguardo is a most heavenly intimate hotel where to spend a week or maybe a month.
The villa with its heritage, the gentle owner whose grandmother purchased the property in 1913 gives us a welcome warmth which is so rare to find these days.
The views over Florence are too beautiful to describe and each space from the intimate bar through to the many vast rooms and salons and the garden room are breathtaking.
A wonderful experience !

Room Tip: Our rooms were carefully chosen and we would recommend them - rooms 5 & 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterwweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
You cannot imagine how much we enjoyed your company and our long conversations. It felt as though you were part of the family.
Thank you so very much for your words of appreciation.
We really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you want a truly magical experience in Italy you absolutely must stay at this hotel. This is a breathtaking, bucket list kind of an experience.

I cannot describe the sense of awe and wonderment we experienced coming into this hotel. The view, the gardens, the serenity, the amazing service and attention to detail all make this one of the most unique and fantastic hotels I have ever stayed in. Even the cab drivers would comment on the amazing view EVERY TIME we pulled into the property!

We spent 3 days here last week. Room #6 for me and my wife and room #4 for our kids. #6 -Huge separate living room area with library, beautiful oversized bedroom, nice bathroom, amazing view of Florence. #4 - large 2 double bed room with plenty of room for the kids to spread out. Both rooms were significantly larger than any other hotel room we have ever had in Italy including suites.

Arrived first day late morning and were early for check in but spent a couple of hours with our kids, 11 and 8, exploring and relaxing in the gardens. They have extensive, meticulously manicured gardens as well as fruit trees and functional gardens with all kinds of flowers and vegetables and it was delightful just wandering.

There are three donkeys and a miniature pony that our kids loved to visit with during our stay. It was so quiet and relaxing after a four day stay in Rome. The pool was perfect and has an amazing feel and view of Florence as well. There is a water garden that runs the edge of the property at the hill with stairs that run down to an area where the donkeys roam. We took the trail past the donkeys down the hill into town one of the days and it was steep but charming and beautiful.

Staff were excellent and handled all requests with tremendous efficiency.

Our whole family took advantage of the cooking experience with the owner's wife. She was an excellent host, taught us all a ton about the region and cooking and together we made a very memorable and delicious dinner.

We could imagine the life led by people who were fortunate enough to live here over the last 700 years. You could truly get a feel for what it must have been like to be a member of the Italian aristocracy wandering the gardens, enjoying the views and the sumptuous rooms.

One caveat - If you are looking for an interior corporate feel or a modern, everything-is-in-perfect-condition hotel you will be disappointed. The floors creak, the moldings may show some age, etc but the staff keep the place spotless, and I believe the building is kept in amazing condition given it was built in the 13th century.

All in all, it was a great stay. I would heartily recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing and awe inspiring experience.

- Pete Kastner

Room Tip: Room # 6 is huge with a gigantic sitting room and amazing view of Florence and Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

How wonderful to host customers like you! It really makes us feel proud of our hard work to save this place and to slowly bring it back to its ancient glory.
I too enjoyed enormously welcoming you in our home for the cooking class. I know it might seem a little repetitive but as I said to many other cooking class pupils, I always have great fun and joy sharing my knowledge about Italian cooking.
Finally I want to congratulate you for the fantastic children you have, so well behaved and so interested in learning how to cook.
I realize you live so far away, but I really hope to see you back in Bellosguardo in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#30 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
555 reviews
Villa Cora
#4 of 409 in Florence
1,001 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $263 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing