We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live in a palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #16 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Live in a palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Extraordinary location. Great view overlooking Florence from the hills on the other side of the Arno. Attentive staff. Nice breakfast. Beautiful gardens and vineyards. Assorted farm animals including 3 donkeys and a pony. Vineyard and olive trees. Many interesting nooks and crannies. The only negative is the biting small flies in parts of the garden. They bite like Mosquitos but the itch subsides more quickly. Maybe just a seasonal thing. It's walkable to and from the city if you are reasonably fit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikonGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are fully aware of the mosquito/insects problem; on the front lawn and at the outdoor swimming pool we have a very efficient spray system which operates at night and drives them away. Unfortunately it would be too expensive to instal such a system in the entire garden which is very big.
We hope you will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    100
    21
    17
    10
See reviews for
198
378
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Earth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Torre Di Bellosguardo twice, either end of our holiday in Umbria, having flown in to Pisa airport. It is safe to say that this has to be the most peaceful and beautiful hotel we have ever stayed at. There is a tranquility that is rare in hotels and the grounds and interior of the hotel are like a very very special private home, immaculate and beautifully decorated with ancient natural pigment paintings on the celings and walls. The staff are really welcoming too. Fragonard bathroom toiletries are a treat, and wonderful cotton sheets ensure a good nights sleep. There is air conditioning in the rooms too. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking a panoramic view is a perfect start to a day. The hotel is up the hill out of Florence, this is rewarding for its view and tranquility, there is a lovely walk down into the city. The view from the bedroom windows is magnificent, seeing the Duomo and the whole city at sunset and sunrise from your bedroom is breathtaking. Very lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CashmereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear dear Guest,
How wonderful that you so enjoyed your stay with us and discovered all the positive aspects, the peace and the beauty. Thank you profusely for all your generous comments. It will be a joy to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in the Torre di Bellosguardo for 2 nights early in September and we feel like revisiting the place, cause staying there feels little like a hotel - it is like staying at someone's centuries-old, a bit empty but magnificent home. The spirit of the place is amazing - with all the ancient frescoes, ornate genuine fireplaces and furniture you will have an experience of staying in a real palazzo. You will enjoy the spacious rooms looking out on a magnificent, silent garden and pastoral hills. Take a walk around, and you will share breath-taking intimacy with nature and the place itself coupled with the best panorama of Florence you can find, and you will hardly meet someone - the hotel only has 16 rooms, so guests have plenty of privacy all around the place. The rooms do not look standard - they have medieval arch-shaped ceilings, basic and really old furniture, but are clean and comfortable, with very nice, clean, contemporary bathrooms (only missing towel hangers)). The only problem might be the "old house" smell pertaining the place, but for us it was part of the experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the taxi will take you dowtown for 10-15 eur in 10 mins. Wifi is openly available only in the lobby, but we stayed in a room not far from the reception and we had it. Also they do not have an in-house restaurant, but deliver dinner on your order from a trattoria nearby. You can have a drink at a cozy old-school hotel bar. Breakfast is ok, served on a large terrace with an amazing view. Do not miss the garden and the pool, explore the interiors of the hotel. Our verdict - pricey, but an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natallia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a privilege for us to have you here in Bellosguardo and we truly appreciate your detailed positive review. We so hope you return one day. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

+ a perfect hilltop view of Florence
+ a different experience in an old Western style house / garden
+ a very quiet place
+ good room facility -- very spacious

- a little bit far from the city
- quite pricey

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciated your visit very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have stayed in Torre Di Bellosquardo in August of 2013 for a couple of days. To start with, this is an amazing property, very rare inTuscany (and i have travelled all around it) - huge windows, a lot of light, amazing winter garden. It is also situated very close to Florence, almost a nice hike / walking distance thru the olive garden down to the centre of Florence.

Also very nice pool.

I highly recommend this place

Room Tip: corner suit on the second floor have great view over Florence
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you kind, appreciative words. We look forward to your return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I can't imagine a better place to have stayed with my family while visiting Florence than the apartment, "La Casa Rosa," at Bellosguardo. We had the feeling of being in the beautiful countryside of Tuscany, along with the easy access and excitement of the city. It was charming, comfortable, spacious, and relaxing all at once. What could be better than staying in an authentic Renaissance estate, with frescoes on the walls, that is now a luxury hotel? The grounds and views are stunning, and I loved the walk into town, passing donkeys, garden benches, and vineyards. At the bottom of the hill was fantastic gelato, and a pleasant walk to all the famous sights, or taxis and buses if you are tired or in a hurry. We walked everywhere, and then came home to relax in the pool or in the gardens, before going out again- or not. It was heaven, the perfect place to vacation, and we felt so at home. Owners and staff were super helpful, accommodating, and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
How wonderful that you so enjoyed your stay here and did so many lovely things. We hope you will return soon. Thank you for writing such a beautiful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Do you think you can tell?..
The most beautiful Florence viewpoint and quiet zone, we did not want to leave and definitely will come back, Mr.Franchetti!
View, hospitality, atmosphere, very private, calm..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baranova_Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We too wish you were here now! Come back quick and we will welcome you with open arms. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing