We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm in itself.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #16 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charm in itself.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay at Torre Di Bellosguardo was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. Truly charming hotel with amazing views over the city. The staff in the hotel were all a delight and incredibly helpful with recommendations.

A true recommendation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evdwyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. So happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    100
    21
    17
    10
See reviews for
198
378
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel offers an unique view on the city, but also the worst food and beverage experience I had in my life. The level is similar to a youth hostel, even worst compared to some were my kids go.
Breakfast is disgusting and poor. I've found a panini with a nice bite in the bread basket. On top of that the coffea is similar to water in the sink after rinsing dishes. 20€ each!!!
The day before we asked for an aperitive, I had a Campari orange which was 99% orange industrial juice and a drop of Campari. The portion of chips for four person was half of what I generally have for myself alone.
Suggestion: worth a visit because of the view, much better after the visit going downtown where with the same money, you can get much more and better service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit living in Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The location of the hotel is unutterably beautiful. Wonderful views. The building is also stunning - 12th century, frescos on the ceiling etc etc.

This place has enormous potential but I would suggest it is not at the level one expects with a 4 star.

My single room had a skylight but no window with any kind of view. It was small and whilst it had a lovely antique wardrobe the rest of the furniture was a little tired. The lampshade had stains all over it, for example. The loo broke. The TV said "scrambled" and the skylight's blind did not shut. After several visits to try and rectify these things the hotel - graciously - upgraded me to a characterful, large bedroom on the ground floor. I would suggest they don't offer the single room and just use it for storage.

The layout of the hotel feels as if it needs a more consideration. There are some wonderful rooms which are just left as thoroughfares etc. The room with large windows (a semi conservatory/orangery) needed a bit of cleaning with flies on the canopy of the day bed and cobwebs on the windows. It is also home to a rather annoying squawking bird!

There were other idiosyncrasies e.g. no food menu (and very limited choice), no costs associated with any food or drinks (and they are not cheap) and no request of a signature to verify any 'purchases'. There is no wifi in the rooms although they do offer one rather slow computer in reception. The pool and its views are beautiful but there were no sun loungers, which is a missed opportunity.

I had the unfortunate experience of being mugged very near the hotel so I would urge everyone not to carry any valuables. The hotel were kind in response to this upset although I was disappointed/surprised to be charged an additional 75 Euros for the emergency calls I had to make to cancel my cards.

A unique place and one, with a little more attention, that could be exceptional. It's not quite there yet but has enormous potential.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelethers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
In reply to your review I would like to state some facts:
1. Right from the beginning you proved to be a very difficult guest. Both my wife and especially the lady at the reception tried to handle all your requests, but in vain. In the end we upgraded you to a double room (since you objected to our only single room which the majority of guests who have occupied it liked) costing Euro 130 more but charging you the original price for a single room. It seems that even that did not satisfy you.
We live in the country so of course there are flies. Each day the maids remove the cobwebs, but spiders succeed in creating new ones within minutes. What you call "an annoying squawking bird" is Coccobello, a lovely grey and pink parrot, a huge success with our guests who play with and photograph him for hours.
2. Unfortunately you were robbed (not on our property) on your walk to town. The porter spent a lot of time helping you upon your return to the hotel. He called the police who arrived shortly afterwards. It was after work hours for me, but I came from my home to the hotel four times to help you and to translate your description of events to the police. They were most understanding, but when you started talking at length to another guest they asked me to tell you to finish your report since they had to leave to deal with other matters. I did everything I could to be of assistance but never received a word of thanks from you.
3. You assured us that once you obtained a new credit card you would contact us to settle your unpaid bill. You did not and I had to email you to ask for your new credit card details. You replied that you were unwilling to pay for your phone charges claiming that "I was a very brief time on the phone" and that you had made "four brief calls, made in a matter of minutes". I informed you that in fact you had made seven international and mobile calls for a total of 35 minutes 53 seconds. You replied still objecting and threatening to write a bad report to TripAdvisor. In the end once you realized that we had all the printed documentation of your calls you did pay , although your attitude was that, being an emergency, we should have paid for your calls....
In all fairness the only conclusion can be that we are not the right hotel for you. Each year we carry out major improvements in order to save this unique historical building and luckily by far the majority of our clients understand the character of this lovely place and appreciate its silence and beauty. We belong to no chain and strive to be different in order to give clients an authentic Florentine experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay one week at this beautiful castle lying on one of he hills of Florence and enjoying the breathinking view of the historical city Florence. At this hotel we experienced the flair of the city`s historical importance in world history with it`s well preserved architecture and interior. The staff was always more than helpful in answering our many questions. Suggestions to improvements would be breakfast which was not very good , keeping in mind that this hotel enjoys four stars. There was little food in display and everything took too much time. Getting your scrambled eggs took 30 min because they only had one staff member at work! Because of what they charged for breakfast , we decided to eat our morning meal outside of the hotel which is no problem and is much much better and much much cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this magnificent Medicis villa, situated on a hill overlooking the town of Florence. The situation is wonderful, the view on the town is amazing, living in this villa is really touching. You are completely out of the agitation of the town, it's really a pleasure!
The rooms are not really sunny because of the little windows of the 15e century compared with the big surface of the room, but in summer its not a defect: we appreciate the sun stays outside of the rooms! (all the rooms have the air conditioned). The housekeepers are very efficient, the rooms are very clean.
The staff is very friendly, a special mention for the really good "caprese salads" made by the pool man.
Now the defects: there is a beautiful pool but no deckchair to relax around! Only some wicker armchairs quite uncomfortable and some very thin mattresses with towel you have to ask the pool man, for a hotel of this standing it's very surprising! Maybe it's to preserve the landscape?
The second defect is the breakfast: it is unworthy of this hotel, really basic with artificial fruit juices served on very small tables, and completely out of price (20€/pers)!!! It's a pity because it's served on a really nice terrace by a friendly staff, it could be a really pleasant time to start the day. So every morning we walked down to the town by feet (about 1/2h, very easy) to take an italian breakfast on a quiet square.
Despite these two points (sorry for that, but we hope these critics will help the persons in charge to improve this beautiful place), this hotel is very interesting by his situation, architecture and story. It's very quiet, we slept very well and we will remember a long long time this place!

Room Tip: We had the room number 6 on the corner of the first floor, we think its one of the best for the magn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We will take your comments to heart and do everything possible to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

What can I say from the service to the locale, you can't beat Torre di Bellosguardo.
Just a ten minute cab ride from the city, this hotel encompasses natural beauty, exquisite service, and luxury for a reasonable price.
Pros:
- service
I can't stress enough how amazing the service was!
- location
You can't deny how fabulous the view of the Florence is from the grounds
- scenery
Lush gardens, ponds, and a hobby farm scatter the property.
- No Noise
You won't have a problem getting any rest here. The property is very quiet.
- You don't have to pay a ridiculous fee to access the internet.
Cons:
- The bathtubs are a little small, but this can be overlooked because it is such a great property.
- The internet connection is ancient and you can only use the hotel's wifi in the lobby. However,
a lot of hotels in Italy are like this.

Room Tip: I would suggest checking out Meg Nolan's book , "Italian Hideaways". It has some great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tclybur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for all your kind words. It is always a reward to know that a client enjoyed their stay here and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Torre di Bellosguardo is fabulous historic property--once owned by the Medicis-- surrounded by beautifully landscaped grounds. The view of the city below would be enough to satisfy most visitors, but when you couple that with a lovely pool from which you can contemplate that view, helpful staff, uniquely decorated rooms and a plethora of public spaces where you can relax and forget about the horde of tourists below, well, it becomes quite perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your vacation here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing