We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torre di Bellosguardo our first choice in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #17 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is our favourite hotel in Florence. A 15 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. It is a 13th century tower built up over the centuries. Genuine 15th century fescoes in many rooms and artworks and antiques in every room. A beautiful garden and pool looking out over the city, clear views of the Duomo and the Arno. Every room is different and each has a special ambiance. Gracious and spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 840VictoriaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 785 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

Recently we spent 8 days at the Torre di Bellosguardo hotel outside Florence.The hotel is a beautiful renaissance villa with wonderful views of Florence. After viewing the internet site we reserved a "junior suite" at the cost of 340 euros per night.We were however given two small hot rooms in the attic with old mismatched furniture. After a complaint we were offered another suite but at an extra cost of 15 euros per night. The services are limited. The breakfast was very limited in choice and the cost 20 euros per person.Ther is no restaurant and the food must be ordered before 6:30PM to be served in a small room at 8 PM. Taxi is essential for reaching the center of Florence.The cost of one day stay was approximately 410 - 430 euros not including lunch and dinner.I would hesitate to recommend this hotel based on our experience.

Room Tip: Do not rely on the internet pictures. Our attic suite was hot with A/C difficult to figure out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am extremely sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our greatest aim is to satisfy a client.
Nevertheless I would like to point out several facts :

1. We have no "junior suites". At first you occupied one of our most beautful suites, one which just recently was taken by an extremely famous couple for ten days which they adored.

2. The suite is very large with a lovely bathroom (with shower and bathtub).. The furniture is not mismatched, it is antique, precious objects from different centuries.

3. We have no attics.

4. The suite is equipped with airconditioning. If you were not able to turn it on, all you had to do was ask the front desk.

5. Then upon your request, we upgraded you to our largest suite (on two floors) without asking the extra Euro 50 which this suite costs. NONE of our rooms costs Euro 15 more as you assert.

6. You write that the services are limited. There are 15 persons on staff for 16 rooms. Is that underserviced?

7. The dishes, which we fetch from one of the two excellent trattorias at the bottom of our hill, are served in our cozy bar which measures 36 square meters. Small room?

8. I cannot understand how you reach a daily figure of Euro 410-430. The suite costs Euro 340 per day. The breakfast Euro 20 per person.

9. Of course there is always room for improvements and we do not exclude them, but at breakfast we serve: selection of breads (on request bread without glutine) and pastries, selection of fruit juices, selection of tea, coffee, milk (on request soya milk), hot chocolate, fresh and dried fruit, fruit salad and sirop fruit, yogurt, selection of cereals, bacon, eggs cooked in any way you wish, selection of cheeses and cold meats, cherry tomatoes and mozzarella, cookies, butter, jams, honey, nutella...

All this is absolutely not intended as being polemical. Each guest is entitled to his/her opinion. I just wish to get the facts straight.

In case you wish to return we will do our utmost to please you and make you feel at home here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Truly a wonderful find - all of the attractions of staying in a private villa, and none of the distractions of other guests to have to socialize with! We loved the way the renovations had not changed the classical serenity of the place. The gardens are beautiful without being over-fancy, and the bedrooms are truly from a bygone (wonderful) era - with bathrooms that are thankfully right up to date! A great combination. And the silence! No siounds of traffic, just the bells pealing up from Firenze down below. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you felt so well here and were able to enjoy the silence of our hill. It will be a joy to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This place was beautiful, had beautiful views over Florence, lovely gardens and the service was good during the day.

The downsides were as follows:
- The bathroom (looking suspiciously like the tardis) was too small with no separate shower. However, there was much enjoyment had from bathing with the window open
- There was a parrot (suspect a Galah) tied to a perch near the reciption area. This seemed incredibly and needlessly cruel to our sensibilities
- The bed was too small
- The tv service didn't cater for English speakers
- The Fridge was empty and semi abandoned in the corner of the room

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel. Instead, we walked down to a local cafe (Pasticceria Gualtieri) and enjoyed some exquisite sandwiches, cake and coffee - at a fraction of the price of the hotel breakfast.

To sum up, beautiful but perhaps a little austere. We would return though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinatorSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Did NOT enjoy stay. Poorly maintained. COULD be beautiful. Rundown, rather than just old.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsuneumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at torre di bellosguardo early this september and our stay was a memorable one. the villa hotel is amazing and has spectacular views over florence. OUr room was beautiful old clean and also has also marvelous views over florence and the gardens.

the staff were very polite professional and always ready to help. we stayed in four other hotels beginning from rome and the staff at torre di bellosguardo were the most delightful staff by far.

we strongly recommend it to all the readers. It was little pricy but surely worth every penny.

ps i recommend that you travel to italy in mid sept as there is no air conditioning and sometimes it can get really humid and hot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zowi7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such a kind review. It gives us all such satisfaction to know you were happy here. Next year the entire hotel will be air-conditioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

There is no doubt that the views over the city are unbelievable. Staying in a 14th century castle is also a different experience and the swimming pool is nice for relaxation. However, unfortunately the missing piece here is the hotel. I knew they didn't have air conditioning, but our first room was at least 100 degrees at night! We got moved to another room which was about 30 degrees cooler but smaller. The telephone in the room didn't work and I had to take a call from the lobby. There were cobwebs on the ceiling. But I think our biggest issue was that the staff didn't really seem to care too much. Overall, this place has so much potential, but just doesn't deliver which is disappointing at over 300 euro/night. I spent quite a while considering this review as I always do and simply believe that views alone are not sufficient for a top rating. I would not recommend this hotel if it is your first trip to Florence. It is a 20-30 minute walk to town or a 10-15 euro taxi ride. Therefore, if it is your second trip and you are interested in a villa experience without being too far away from Florence, you could maybe consider it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#30 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
555 reviews
Villa Cora
#4 of 409 in Florence
1,003 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $266 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing