We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #18 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
moscow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a room with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

Recently stayed at Bellosguardo for five nights and fell in love with the place. Spectacular views, beautiful gardens, spacious rooms decorated with antique furniture and very helpful staff. You feel you are staying in a private villa. Very romantic and a welcome change from your usual hotel. has no restaurant but there's a wonderful trattoria five minutes away. I'll be going back.

  • Liked — views and location
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank m-maylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    101
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
201
380
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevilla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

Last month I stayed in this wonderfull place. The hotel and the gardens were beyond my expectations. Rarely have I experienced such a special and genuine atmosphere. The staff went out of their way to be helpfull. The place is full of surprises: an extraordinary vegetable garden and a great love of animals (donkeys, ducks, rabbits, hens, cats, a Shetland pony... and my favourite a grey and pink parrot). The rooms contained original antique furniture. I was in the country and yet so close to the city. Higly recomendable.

  • Liked — The position and the garden
  • Disliked — The lack of a restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VioletaSevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londinium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

Ok... its has the most amazing views of Florence, an excellent pool and the potential to be one of the great hotles in the world. But dont fall into the trap i did of booking because of this and ignoring the other reviews. The service was at best average, with the staff hardly around to help. we were there for three nights. on our second day a US TV crew truned up and took over most of the hotel shooting a TV advert. there were no apologies from the hotel for our incovenience, although after i complained they offered us a free lunch. My new wife and I both got massive mosquito bites (although interesting to read other review about bed bugs!). On our third day we returned at 5pm to find we had been kicked out of our room because they thought we had booked for two nights only. not only did we feel that we had been robbed - as they invaded our privacy and moved all our stuff - but there was almost no apology when i showed them the paper work and their confirmation of our 3 night booking. Eventualy i pressed them for a solution and some compensation and they found what was probably the worst room in the hotel FOC. I wouldnt recomeedn going there to anyone until it has been taken over by someone willing to invest in the fixtures and fittings and also the staff resource (i dont blame the individuals involved themslevs because they were hugley overworked/understaffed). despite what is says on the website it is a hike into Florence not by any stretch of the imagination a walk.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBOMBLondinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend at the hotel with several friends. The rooms are old and dirty. The carpet in ours was flithy and the curtains mouldy. The service is non-exsistent. The property is beautiful on the outside, but very disappointing on the inside and the rates are totally overpriced. You can do much better round the corner!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Burmadutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

This hotel boasts a scenic view and that is all to recommend it. Our room didn't lock, was dim, had extremely old furnishings, and a very small bathroom. There is no food or beverage service. You must order several hours in advance. There is nothing within walking distance so you must call a cab or, if you have a car, drive down a winding, perilous driveway to get to the city. We complained to management about our door and the manager claimed to lock it. but it was open when we returned from dinner. During a sleepness nite, I could hear people behind our door and bats overhead. We checked out in the a.m. but the management kept our deposit. We located a wonderful hotel that day that was half the cost and convenient to everything. We have traveled extensively and this was the worst hotel experience for us.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank aries410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portimao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

Following advice of friends i contacted and booked directly this hotel for me, my husband and children. We spent three heavenly days there, a wonderful very original hotel. The staff were exceptionally helpful and did everything to make us feel at home. A hotel definitely to be recommended especially if one is looking for peace, beauty and fleeing all the noise and caos of the city of Florence, which in any case is only a five minute taxi ride away.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank irenePortimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

The view : nothing to say, it's just fantastic.

The calm : yes, no doubt it really quiet.

The service : near zero. No joke. Appart from the reception, you hardly see anyone (some might say it's perfect...).
- At the pool, a very nice guy (truely), but apparently never worked in this business before.
- At breakfast, once you've been served, hope nothing's missing, 'cause they're gone away !

The hotel : it's kind of oldy... but not the good part of it :
- gardens : are nice, but starts to be abandoned in some places
- reception room : nice place, but would definitly need some more furniture
- breakfast room : nothing appart from chairs and tables. Wanted to have it outside (on a nice sunny day) ? Then tables are so low your knees won't fit under...
- rooms : we had the "little suite". Really nice. Bed was great. Furniture is ok and authentic. Bathroom is perfect.
- would you say it's normal that a EUR 20 breakfast is 1 croissant + 1 piece of bread + 1 tea (lipton...) + 1 orange juice ? Surely not. This kind of place could afford a beeter tea, a little more ingredients... even if price is to be much higher !

Definitly a place that must have been wonderfull and that is slowly but surely falling appart.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing