We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Real find. Terrific value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Ranked #71 of 624 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real find. Terrific value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Referred to this hotel by friends. It really made a difference during our stay in Florence. All is unique there: the atmosphere, the staff, many small attentions provided. We very much liked this place because it is like being in a large Florentine home of the past where we could continue the experience of all the beautiful historic sites of the city. The room was very comfortable indeed, equipped with all the amenities of an expensive hotel , including fresh flowers and a basket of fruit with a welcome card, good speed wi-fi,. We enjoyed good hot water, good air conditioning and the room was absolutely quiet. We felt well taken care of. The staff was always happy to answer all our questions and did provide an invaluable help in arranging our visits to the various sites, including placing all the reservations we needed. I remember Riccardo for the good restaurant suggestions, joyful Rolando’s assistance in sorting out our tours and getting our trains and busses sorted out and delightful Maurizio and Ertol for their courtesy and attentions throughout. Antique furniture everywhere, even tea-pots and coffee jugs at breakfast were antique silverware. I couldn’t imagine, in Florence, sating anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us. We all are very thrilled that you enjoyed you stay and your compliments will be a great source of motivation for all of us!

It has been our pleasure to having hosted you in Florence and do look forward to your next visit in the future.

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    73
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
51
120
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved our time in Florence, what a city! Our accomodation at hotel morandi was very good, our room was quite big by european hotel standards( although our shower was definitely the smallest of the trip... But still worked fine!). Our travelling companions had some difficulties with their bank and the hotel team were really helpful. We also booked a tour of tuscany through them and it was easy and the trip was great. The breakfast was nice and the little dining room really cute. Most nights we had little chocolates on our bedside table, fresh flowers and fresh fruit which we have not got anywhere else. The staff are very professional and friendly... Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katenbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a very good choice. This small hotel provided excellent accommodation and very valuable assistance. Right from making our booking the hotel was exhaustive of our request of information and took care of our museum entrance reservations. The hotel is filled with original antiques and the atmosphere is that of an old gentile Italian home, which very much added to our visit to Florence. Our room was facing the street, but was quiet and we slept very well. We had all we could possibly need, including free wi-fi at a reasonable speed. Breakfast was good and served from antique silverware. If was intriguing being served coffee one morning from the art deco coffee pot, the other morning from the Georgian one and so on. The staff is delightful and efficient. My wife and myself both agreed that this hotel will certainly be our first choice in a future trip to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tylesler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had only one night in Florence at the historic Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta and it was a fine choice for us. The location is great - - really could not be better - - just a short walk to all of the major interest areas. The hotel is unique - historic, quiet and interesting to explore. The breakfast service was excellent; and the staff offered us a fabulous off-the-beaten-track suggestion for dinner. Our room was small - and adjacent to the lobby – so not exactly a choice location - but it did have windows overlooking the street. If we had been staying longer, I would have upgraded to a larger room - - but for one-night – considering the character and perks – it was good!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank flyaway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I would love to give this hotel a better review because the staff was wonderful and the location was fabulous! However, the smell in this building is so bad my sinuses were a mess -- and I never have allergy problems! We were given what looked like the worst room location they had despite paying the higher rate, with the bedroom door right off the lobby. Certainly no sign of a patio and no screens on window so we could not leave the window open because of mosquitoes. They issued us a mosquito coil to burn in our room at night because there were some inside the room already when we arrived but I didn't use it because you had to pour a toxic gel over a burning coil -- not exactly the welcome you want at a nice hotel! The bedding and pillows were old and dirty and the first thing I did was strip off the dingy bedspread. It is a very well located hotel and very quaint in and old world way, but fresh air and new fresh clean bedding would go a long way to improve this place. I would not stay here again for sure, but my husband, who loves to camp, thought it was a cool experience -- although he also felt it needed a bedding update for sure. Overall a cool monastery building, but they could easily do just a little more to make it a lot better.

Room Tip: Request to NOT have one of the two tiny rooms that open into the front lobby and have their window o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Moretravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Excellent hotel on all accounts. Large comfortable rooms, meticulously clean, lovely sitting areas and courtyard. Unbeatable location - 5 minutes from the Duomo but on a very quiet street. Staff was lovely and helpful. We would love to come back again!

Room Tip: Near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noa1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I am a bit late on this reveiw. We stayed at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta in Spetember 2011. We were lucky enough to have the "chapel room". The staff was very personable, breakfast was wonderful, the room was quiet and cool in spite of 90 degree F temps during the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Florence

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#59 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#157 of 624 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Santa Croce
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#17 of 624 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#58 of 624 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Property: Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Address: Via Laura 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 624 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of modern comfort harmoniously combined with the warmth of antique furnishings. A quiet, comfortable and distinguished atmosphere in the former convent of the Crocetta, the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta is today, following an ancient tradition of hospitality, a place where one can enjoy a pleasant and relaxed stay in Florence. Located in the historical centre of the city next to the Archaeological Museum and a few steps from the Academy of Fine arts, it is within easy walking distance to every point of artistic, cultural and economic interest. With Individually controlled central air conditioning, every room has its fully equipped private facilities as well as sat-television, radio, free wi-fi internet connection, refrigerator-bar, direct dialing telephone and a safe. On premises garage. Private walking tours arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morandi Alla Crocetta Florence
Morandi Alla Crocetta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing