We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique find, most charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Ranked #50 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Chose this hotel because of friends’ suggestions and reviews on various guides. No particular appeal from the outside, but, this really turned out to be a very special small hotel. Very much like being in a distinguished private home of the past. Wonderful staff and excellent service. Good location. My room was so quiet I could hardly believe I was in the centre of Florence. Breakfast served by charming and attentive staff. Original antique silverware. Antique furnishings all around. All contributed to make my stay there part of the unique experience of being in Florence. A very special thanks to, if I remember correctly, Roland, Riccardo and Mauricio who took such good care of us.. I will definitely recommend this hotel and will most certainly return there on a future visit to Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Charming converted monastary with frescos on the walls in some rooms.

Great staff: helpful, responsive. Easy walk to major sights in city center.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishes_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our three days here. We paid extra for a room with its own terrace and this was definitely money well spent. The room was light and airy with two sets of patio doors. The bed was comfortable and we slept well with no unwanted noise from outside or within.

The staff were kind and helpful. Do book directly with the hotel, as breakfast which is excellent will then be included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanorawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel was a little off the beaten track for us. When we arrived by taxi the front door was opened and we walked into a foyer similar to walking into an apartment complex. There were 20 plus stairs to climb to the Murandi door where you had to ring the bell to enter.
The people running the hotel are very nice and the hotel was very clean. It is a bit dark in the hotel. Our first night there was certainly our unlucky night. The university next door was celebrating the opening of school the following Monday and there were literally thousands of people in the streets all night long. Our traveling companions had a room on the front side of the street and the walls in their room were vibrating. The next day they requested their room be moved which hotel personnel did accommodate. However, they did not give them any compensation for a sleepless night.
Our travel agent booked this hotel and this was the only hotel where breakfast was not included. It would have cost 12 Euros per person for breakfast. (if we had booked directly breakfast would have been included) There were no close restaurants near by. We did not stay for one breakfast. This was my least favorite hotel on our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

A very reasonably priced small hotel located on a quiet side street within walking distance of the Duomo. The lovely continental breakfast in the pretty dining alcove is worth the surchage. Seek out Roberto who is a font of knowledge about the ins and outs of Florence sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmgera1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I spent four nights at this quiet, well-situated hotel and would book it again in an instant. The price/value was excellent and I felt comfortable, safe, and well taken care of. The staff spoke excellent English and offered local tips on things to see and do. I loved the access to the Doumo – when you're close to that you're close to everything – and fact that I could stop back "home" to for a quick rest before heading back out again. The room was pretty and absolutely clean. Bathrooms are always small in Europe, but this one was laid out well. I would highly recommend this hotel to any visitor and feel that the value was outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 27 is small but just fine for a solo traveler.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My sister and I stayed here based on a review in Froder's travel book. It was a darling hotel with an extremely accomodating staff. The rooms were very nice and cold! In August, Italy sun is extremely hot and it was very refreshing to sleep in a cool room. The breakfast served was excellent. To American standards, the location may seem to be on a scary side street, but it is very well lit and we never had any problems. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the superior double if you are going to stay a few days--twice the space and includes pri...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateblake4542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#57 of 411 in Florence
879 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,166 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#158 of 656 in Florence
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#19 of 656 in Florence
955 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#46 of 656 in Florence
395 reviews
Duomo
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#74 of 656 in Florence
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Address: Via Laura 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $77 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of modern comfort harmoniously combined with the warmth of antique furnishings. A quiet, comfortable and distinguished atmosphere in the former convent of the Crocetta, the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta is today, following an ancient tradition of hospitality, a place where one can enjoy a pleasant and relaxed stay in Florence. Located in the historical centre of the city next to the Archaeological Museum and a few steps from the Academy of Fine arts, it is within easy walking distance to every point of artistic, cultural and economic interest. With Individually controlled central air conditioning, every room has its fully equipped private facilities as well as sat-television, radio, free wi-fi internet connection, refrigerator-bar, direct dialing telephone and a safe. Lift. Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morandi Alla Crocetta Florence
Morandi Alla Crocetta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing