We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting Artwork by Fra Angelico!”
Review of Museo di San Marco

Museo di San Marco
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.57*
and up
Private Florence San Marco Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry
Ranked #20 of 631 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Opened to the public in 1869, this museum houses the largest collection of sacred art in Florence including a sweeping fresco by Giovanni Antonio Sogliani and a superb collection of works by Mariotto Albertinelli.
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very interesting Artwork by Fra Angelico!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We enjoyed this museum with fine faith based artwork by Fra Angelico. It is a beautiful tranquil setting. It is quick. No lines or waiting and only a block or two from the Acadamie. It adds another perspective to the renaissance period.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwm032003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    306
    56
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Websites were on Point!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I need to return just to revisit these sites. I took so many pictures I can relieve my trip over and over step by step. I can believe how well preserved the figures are. Normal wear and damage inflicted in earlier times, you still have a piece that will last ( and of course the marble) through time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulOne124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our 2nd visit, we came back because we loved the art, and the tranquility of the whole place. It is really beautiful

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BucksRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Doors”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The restored original Batistery doors are now on display. The doors on the Baptistry are just copies so this is where you go to see the real thing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichMLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
349 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Peaceful tour!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

There are many things to see in this Church and convent turned into a Museum, but the best part is to sit on a bench and enjoy the courtyard. You will find a huge collection of paintings with religious themes, just take your time to enjoy the details. This museum is a few minutes walk to the Accademia di Belle Arti Firenze where the statue of David is standing tall and proud on his own tribuna and under his own glass dome. Convenient for you to kill two birds with one stone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank embcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo di San Marco also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo di San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing