We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica San Miniato al Monte

Basilica San Miniato al Monte
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.94*
and up
San Miniato al Monte and Orsanmichele Art Tour
Ranked #11 of 425 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The walk there can be exhausting for it is worth. The views are magnificent, younget to see Florence from the hight and it is great. Every afternoon at six, you have the opportunity to hear monks sing in gregorian and it is very nice. If you don't want to walk get into the bus in front of the train station (i think is number 12, butbaskmat your hotel to be sure) but return walking, itvis not so hard and the bus takes a lot of time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,408
    830
    129
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect way to end a day in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Check the website for the time of the evening mass -- you will hear Gregorian chants, see the monks enter the Basilica and listen to the bells ring while seeing a spectacular view of Florence. You will feel like you have traveled back in time to the Middle Ages.

We did not have the time to attend the full mass, but we listened to the chants from the doorway and no one seemed to mind. We then wandered down to Florence, stopping at the Piazzale Michelangelo, climbing the San Niccolo tower, walking along the Arno River and crossing the Ponte Vecchio bridge. A perfect way to end a day in Florence.

We took bus #12 from the bus station (near Santa Maria Novella train station). It was a long ride up to the Basilica, and we began to wonder if we were on the wrong bus - the Basilica is one of the last stops at the top of the hill. We bought our bus tickets at a tobacco shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texan_Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentine, TX
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We took the number 12 bus up to the church. The church is pretty, they hold a mass where monks sing every day at 5:30. There is no charge to tour the church. The best thing about this church though is the view of Florence. You can see the whole city. I would suggest taking the bus to the church and then walking down the hill to get back into Florence. There are paths from the church back into town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S618VTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Head up to Basilica di San Miniato al Monte at sunset to avoid the crowds and vendors at Piazzale Michelangelo. Great views of the city and much more peaceful then the overcrowded Piazzale. Very romantic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful church with amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited the church to watch the sunset during both of our evenings in Florence. You simply cannot beat the view from the church, high on a hill overlooking one of the most beautiful cities in the world. On the second evening, walking from downtown, we crossed the Ponte Vecchio and bought a picnic dinner and wine in the grocery store near the bridge. We really enjoyed our dinner, sitting on the high walls outside the church, with our perfect view of the sunset over the city. I cannot imagine a more beautiful and romantic experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica San Miniato al Monte also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing