We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful wines in the gift shop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica San Miniato al Monte

Basilica San Miniato al Monte
Book In Advance
$65.48*
and up
San Miniato al Monte and Orsanmichele Art Tour
Ranked #9 of 419 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
340 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Wonderful wines in the gift shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Here's something to look forward to: they sell great wines from their vineyard in the gift shop! Be sure to get the hours the shop is open before you go because it is run by the religious order and they close for prayers and services. However, they sell wine that they make themselves, and it is virtually impossible to find elsewhere.
Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Art_lover_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,300
    800
    124
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just beautiful...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I found this church just beautiful - especially the attached cemetery. The scenery is just amazing from here, and I found the church serene and peaceful. There aren't many bells and whistles - just beauty. Don't miss this church! The walk up was picturesque and not too difficult.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank samjr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spiritually fulfilling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went to the church based on previous TA reviews, and we were not disappointed. The basilica is located just past Piazzale Michelangelo, when you get to the top of the stairs just go right. We arrived shortly after 5pm on a very cold December night; the view of the city below is STUNNING! Inside, there was not too much to look at, but we arrived shortly before mass, which made the trip worth it. The voices of the various priests singing the mass, bounced off the walls; the barely lit church, the candlelight, all made the whole experience emotionally moving. Definitely go to the mass, around 5pm!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jdiddy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Special sunset!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

A lot of people wrote about this place.
But nobody told about the fantastic sunset.
Go there, visit the inside, than go out and wait the sunset.
Take a lot of great photos.
Than I recommend you to walk back to downtown.
You will love it!

Helpful?
Thank Oscar_Naomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Read your map if you are walking there, its easy to get lost!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

But when you get there, fantastic. I wouldn't say its the best thing to do in Florence but if you have time, take the 30 minute hike up the hill for an amazing view over Florence and stroll through this church. Unfortunately the day we went the electricity was not working so we couldn't turn the lights on but we could still see enough.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BKKGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica San Miniato al Monte also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing