We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San MIniato”

Basilica San Miniato al Monte
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.19*
and up
San Miniato al Monte and Orsanmichele Art Tour
More Info
$89.73*
and up
Vespa Panoramic Tour of Florence
More Info
$41.87*
and up
Piazzale Michelangelo Panoramic Private Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 635 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Barre, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“San MIniato”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful setting! We were there just in time for evening vespers. Incredible acustics for the music/chanting. Awesome views of the city below and great walk back to the city for dinner!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BBCBarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,568
    875
    137
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful views from the top of the city”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It made me believe it was just like the skyline of London or NY of its time - a dominant view! sensational!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nairag_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This church i so amazing...I literally sat here for hours and absorbed the history of this ancient church. I even saw the old priests out in the garden. The frescos remind you of the history this whole area has seen. I have noticed how proud the Italian people are of their history, everyone seems to know a little story, a little anecdote about this church!
It really is just a magical place...completely different than the Duomo, but truly magical.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

the beautiful architecture is second to none, you cannot imagine how much work goes into one building until you see if with your own eyes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Serene n quaint! Do check it out!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We walked so fast w all our might n panted all e way up here fr e duomo area to catch the Gregorian chants! Haaa
It's quaint.. Like e green n white exterior.. Take a frontal shot photo together w e main gates!
Unique experience as I have never seen or heard Gregorian monks... They r reali old! And makes me wonder if in time to come, will there still be a next "generation" who want to be doing what they r doing now! So be sure catch them in action now!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica San Miniato al Monte also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing