We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It gives me the goosebumps”

Piazza della Signoria
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.76*
and up
Florence Walking Tour Including Aperitivo
Ranked #4 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Since its beginning during the Middle Ages, the Piazza della Signoria has been the political heart of the city.
san jose
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It gives me the goosebumps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This piazza is probably one of the best in all of Italy. I would rank this with Piazza del Campo in Siena and Piazza Novona in Rome. Every time we've gone there, we've just relished the beauty of this piazza. I remember leading my wife with her eyes closed to this piazza ( I had been there before), just to make her open her eyes to the beauty of this spectacle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank getafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,385
    3,018
    298
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Piazza with many statues in the Loggia. Worth seeing, free as well. The square has the famous fountain of Neptune and the copy of the David (at the same spot that the original David was placed by Michelangelo. It is fun to sit amongst all the statues and just chill!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GaGaMeHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Wonderful sculpture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We loved the wonderful sculptures which are part of the Uffizi Gallery and which overlook the square, and the architecture is spectacular. The inevitable crowds were a bit frustrating, especially for an 'oldy' who has recently had a hip replaced, and he cafes were ridiculously expensive. Overall, though, very worthwhile indeed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Public Sparkling Water?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Only in Italy is there a public fountain to fill up your water bottles with either still or sparkling water. While none of the Piazzas approach the the sweeping vistas that make up other EU cities, this is a great place to people watch and drink up the free water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jenns20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outside gallery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved seeing these huge statues where you can take pictures and enjoy the outdoors! We took lots of pictures and rested in the square after a long day of touring!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Benanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza della Signoria also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazza della Signoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing