We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #26 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2006

We stayed for a weekend break at the Savoy in Florence and found it to be perfectly located, just metres away from the Duomo and tower.

Staff were welcoming and efficient, and the food was good (though a little on the expensive side, compared with other restaurants in the vicinity).

The decor was very stylish and modern. Our room was of a decent size, comfortable, clean and well-equipped. We had a little balcony overlooking the piazza.

Overall, we liked the hotel. We would not stay anywhere else in Florence, if we were to return, and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jamesh764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2006

This hotel is gorgeous, immaculate and in a fabulous location. I loved the minimalist style- a real respite. The hotel has a wonderful ambience and it was comfortable and relaxing to stay here once our "issues" were resolved. First of all, we had an error in our reservation ( not the fault of the hotel) but the front desk graciously corrected it and upgraded us to the triple we needed without an additonal charge. Then, one of our two rooms was located next to a hidden service elevator and we couldn't sleep the first night but they willingly moved us the next day to a quiet room overlooking the Duomo. The breakfast was ridiculously expensive and was not included in our rate so we didn't eat there. The staff was friendly and helpful- made us feel comfortable- free internet in the business center- I would definitely recommend this hotel and would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NancyFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
120
Reviewed November 10, 2005

Sorry this review is a year old, but I've been meaning to write it. My husband & I stayed 3 weekend nights at the Savoy after 4 nights in a great luxury hotel in Rome, so our expectations were very high. At the Savoy, we could not have asked for a better location, staff & room.

TIP 1: I read a tip from a travel book & requested a room with a balcony and without hestitating they accomodated. They gave us a choice of having a room with a Duomo view or a Piazza view. We chose the Piazza view. If you are a light sleeper, choose the Duomo view because the Piazza is bustling almost every night until 2-3 am. If you want romantic, choose the Piazza side because you will hear wonderful street music every night.


TIP 2: Take advantage of the Concierge. The Concierge got us special passes to see The David & The Uffizi without having to wait in line. He ordered our train tickets to Venice. He was especially helpful when I got pickpocketed. He gave me all the local numbers to credit card companies and arranged for our transportation to the Police Station to file a police report. All this for a discretionary tip.

NON-HOTEL RELATED TIP: Don't get pickpocketed. After not having any incidents in Rome I was pretty lax with my belongings. So, beware when a lot of people are around. They are very good they got me when my husband was right at my side.

Anyways, out of the 4 hotels we stayed at in Italy, the Savoy was definitely my favorite.

I've posted photos with views from our balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
427
Reviewed October 26, 2005

Had high expectations of this place based on several things and was overall let down. Some staff surly while others downright rude. Service overall was spotty at best. Restaurant food was well below most Tuscan food we have had in other parts of Florence. Concierge restaurant recommendations were well below average and quite disappointing really. Think I would stay at the Excelsior again next time.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
15
Reviewed August 31, 2005

I have just returned from four amazing day's at the hotel Savoy Florence
I was a little apprehensive as it was the first time in Florence a forty something female on her first lone trip.
I need not have worried, the Savoy is without question a beautiful contemporary hotel. However what makes it stand out is the incredible staff.
All the Receptionist with warm greetings and advice, the Concierge Alexander, who organized my walking guide and booked all my museum visits.
Fabiana the guide, who gave me a very comprehensive history lesson.

The waiting staff bar none made me welcome and relaxed while dining alone. The food and wine list is excellent.
Annika the delightful housekeeper and all her team that catered to my every need.
I can’t recommend this hotel highly enough.

In contrast I decided to have dinner at the Villa San Michelle.
I had heard so much about the magnificent view; I wanted to get a feel of the place for a future visit.
When I arrived the stiff and unfriendly receptionist barely acknowledge me.
When I told him I had a dinner reservation; he did not show me into the dining room merely pointing the way, (no one else was in reception) so he had no excuse.
The waiting staffs were so formal it was a most unpleasant experience.
It was such a relief to return to the smiling faces at the Savoy.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2005

This was the first stop for my 40th birthday - and what an excellent choice. There was nothing you could fault about our stay. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. We even took photos of the corridors because they as stunning as the room. The staff were very helpful. Location perfect. Can't imagine going back to Florence and staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank suzigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

We stayed for several days including Easter. Very nice hotel and very very centrally located. Steps from the Duomo. Nice rooms although they were a bit small as are a lot of rooms in Italy. We had a room on the square (Palazo de Republica?) and it was neat but the Italians never go to bed so it was noisy! Our girls had a room across the hall and that is probably where we would stay next time. Great staff. Very clean hotel right in the heart of it all.

The hotel recommended a tour guide that was incredible. Private tour from Simone whos family has lived in Florence since the 1200's and he really knew his stuff. We took a architectural/art tour and it was very insightful. I would highly recommend it. Great history lesson.

The hotel staff also told us about the Easter Sunday activities in Florence - the "Exploding of the Cart" which happens on Easter before Mass. We just so happened to be there on the 900th anniversary of it. Spectacular. We may go back next Easter for it.

We felt like we had the best seats in the house in downtown florence. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jpatrick28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 409 in Florence
1,306 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
568 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,269 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $486 - $1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing