We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They should take more care about their guests wishes”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #26 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“They should take more care about their guests wishes”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Returned to Florence after couple of years. Despite the fact that Florence now has much more 5* hotels then 7 years ago, we decided to stay in Savoy, like the last time.
What a mistake it was.
Staff - arrogant and unpleasant.
Service - slow.
Rooms - should be at least refurbished, while time goes by and things tend to lookd used or in a bad shape if you do not take care about them
Location - did not change, ie. great.
But next time we move to Four Seasons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilondvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJJL, General Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us. We are disappointed to read from your comments that you did not enjoy your stay. To provide personal care for each and every of our guests is one of our key values and reason for many of our guests to come and stay with us. We pay meticulous attention to organising ourselves and ensure you will experience efficient and genuinely warm attention to your needs. Our interior design is updated and maintained on a continuous cycle. Paying attention to our guests’ wishes stands central in our focus of every day. I am sorry you felt that on this occasion we failed to make you experience these elements and I hope we may restore your trust in our service and welcome you back on a next occasion.
Yours sincerely,
Edward Leenders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    213
    58
    16
    8
See reviews for
218
488
46
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

2nd stay at this hotel, great view from room over the square, although can get noisey in the evening if you leave windows open. Very friendly and clean. Breakfast has a good choice on the buffet and there is a menu breakfast also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city.
L'Incontro Bar and Restaurant is among the most popular restaurants in Florence offering views over the Piazza Repubblica and, during summer, the chance to dine outdoors.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Found little to fault this hotel on. Fantastic location in the centre of Florence. Lovely lobby and great bar. Service first class also. If I really wanted to be fussy I might have liked a larger room and bathroom but the high ceilings and great views make it hard to quibble about this. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarKir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a further 5 days in Florence staying at The Savoy. We previously stayed here 6 years ago when we got engaged at the Hotel and were now back to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary.

The Savoy is pure luxury and serves by far the best crispy bacon you will ever find across the globe. We were pampered with our stay. Upon arrival to our room we were greeted with the most amazing view - laying on the bed and looking straight out to the Duomo. Not to mention the complimentary celebratory bottle of Prosecco that the hotel management provided for our anniversary.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly, welcoming and at the same time are not intrusive. As the hotel is so centrally located, it is great for access to all the sites. The room was gorgeous and housekeeping were efficient and helpful as always.

The concierge gent also provided some great recommendations of Osteria's close by that wasn't flooded with tourists and had delicous food and of course great wine.

The only item requiring improvement would be to have softer mattresses as the mattress is quite stern and that the breakfast buffet should include hot meals.

Room Tip: Opt for room 501 - the most amazing view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CondeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this hotel in florence as we thought it had a good location being smack center. when we arrived in florence though we realised that any location is a good location as this is a very cosy little town. I didnt quite like my room, the bed was on the small side and it was oddly shaped. it was the first room next the the elevator. however having said that the quality was quite good and the breakfast was very nice.

if you do stay here have the knowledgeable front desk staff book you restaurants for lunch dinner and whichever meal you want. they have been the best recommendation i have received from any hotel staff during my extensive travels. you can check some of my other florence reviews for some restaurants shortly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ineedsoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Best location, great hotel. We love great hotels like the fourseasons and the Ritz Carlton, his one is right up there. Request the second floor with a balcony facing the square. The rooms on the second floor have 10 foot plus ceings and one of two floors with baloconies. The staff is so friendly! Watch out for the bar, I paid 10 euro for a draft beer! I will absoultely be back, it is the place to stay in Florence!

Room Tip: request the second floor on the square with a balcony..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Misonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 412 in Florence
1,274 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 412 in Florence
1,236 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#17 of 412 in Florence
638 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing