We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #26 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. The location is fabulous, the rooms are lovely but what separates this hotel from other hotels are the staff and level of service.

We found everyone we dealt with at the hotel was professional and courteous but more importantly good humoured. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was a pleasure.

Location-wise, as others have said, the hotel is right in the centre of Florence, indeed the old Roman column said to mark the city centre is right outside the front door. The Palazzo Vecchio and the Duomo are both only two minutes walk away. The Mercato Centrale and the Ponte Vecchio, less than five.

The rooms are classic and understated, decorated in earthy neutral tones. Our room was beautifully turned down every night, a weather report left on our bed, fresh mineral water by the side. If there was anything else we wanted; a late night hot chocolate or a mid-afternoon tea it was at our door within five minutes. Just as importantly it was always delivered by someone with a smile and who knew what they were doing.

For us this is the only place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    211
    57
    16
    8
See reviews for
211
480
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
673 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It's always nice when you pay for first class treatment and receive it. From the warm and friendly greetings by the staff as you walk in the door to the smiling service in the bar this is a hotel that cares about you. The location is perfect in the Piazza della Republica to walk to anywhere worth seeing in Florence. The rooms are clean and inviting with all the amenities you might need. A great way to see a great city.

Room Tip: Listening to others in the bar I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Overview: if only it were possible to give 4.5 stars. The Savoy really was between 4 and 5 starss(very close to 5) for us but just didn’t quite meet 5 in our books. In any event, we highly recommend the hotel and would stay here again if we return to Florence.

Details:
We stayed at the Savoy for 3 nights in September in an Executive Double room on the 4th floor. We were not overlooking the square but we did have an amazing view of the Duomo and Campanile from our window. As with all Rocco Forte Hotels that we have tried, the hotel was very nice and the room was outfitted to a high standard with marble throughout the bath, a small walk in closet, etc. The biggest issue with the room was that it really was quite small (bed and bath). I was thankful we had not booked the smallest category. All in all, it was fine and we know that this is the norm in most big cities in Europe, but as compared with other RF properties (also in big cities) this was the smallest room we have had.

The location of the hotel is awesome, right on the Piazza della Republica. It is also within walking distance of pretty much everything you want to see. The Duomo is maybe a 5 minute walk away. We also had no issue walking to the Accademia, the Uffizi, the Ponte Vecchio and Pitti Palace, as well as Santa Croce. I had debated between being on the river (such as at one of the Lungarno properties) or more in the middle of town and am so glad I chose this location. To be honest, the river is not as pretty as I was expecting so am very happy we were so central.

The hotel itself was very nice. The bar/restaurant have both an inside and outside area that looks onto the piazza – a great place to have a drink and watch the crowds go by. The food was good, though I did find the breakfast buffet to be a bit hectic and at times disorganized and a bit picked over.

I give extremely high props to the Concierge team. They booked tickets at our requested times for both the Accademia and the Uffizi. They also have fast passes for the Duomo and the related sights that allow you to more or less bypass the lines. It made it so much easier to see the key sights. If you stay here, please do yourself a favor and take advantage of this great help. The rest of the staff was also extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

As with all RF properties, WiFi was not included, which I think is silly in this day and age, but so be it.

All in all, another great RF property. We would definitely stay again, perhaps in a larger room category next time.

Room Tip: Splurge for the larger rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahInSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed for two nights in September. The location was amazing and the staff was super friendly. Our room was tiny but it was very well-decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was decent sized. Price was around $500 USD which is to be expected in Europe. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a great hotel in the very heart of Florence. Beautiful and luxurious the real high point is the superb service. We had a villa holiday in August with the Savoy bookending our vacation. My partner had to get medical attention and the hotel were very happy to arrange this for even though we were not "in house " at the time. Similarly with reservations for the Uffizi and restaurants. Absolutley first class superb hotel.

Room Tip: It is fun and atmospheric to be in a room on the Piazza della Repubblica but the other side has stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for a family birthday. Very comfortable rooms that have the classic Olga Polizzi look. The Bar and Restaurant are fun places to be. Great breakfast looking out on the square. Make sure that you get a room on the higher floors. Overall atmostphere is good. Some of the staff on the front desk not overly helpful, at times they seem a bit over stretched. Having stayed at the Salviatini earlier in the year this is a different but better bet and much much better priced. Great attraction of being in the centre of all the action and attractions. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floristonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Not my first time at this restaurant so returned here for my Birthday while in Florence

Excellent service and great food cannot fault that in any way

The two niggles I have are

They brought a basket of bread like most restaurants do, don't eat much bread but had I think half a bread bun.

Was annoyed that when I received the bill they had charged for the bread, if this was chargeable they should have asked if I wanted it in the first place and I would have said no

The other things which other people will just think is good service is a pet hate of mine.

Leave my bloody bottle of wine and water alone, I will pour my own wine or water as and when I want it not when you think I need my glass topping up, I even tried to move the bottle out of their reach, but they didn't take the hint and just leaned over us to get it.

This is so 80,s, stop it

Other than that would recommend it highly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#27 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,185 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 422 in Florence
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
#143 of 422 in Florence
538 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 422 in Florence
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Property: Hotel Savoy
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing